We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, Lancashire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Butharlyp Howe Youth hostel is probably one of the best that we have stayed in. We opted for a 'private room, and found it to be of excellent value and standard. Many youth hostels are fine listed buildings in beautiful places but often run down in need of some TLC. Maybe money has been spent on this one as Thorney Howe, the YH up the road has been sold. This is also the first hostel that I have stayed in and not had to make my own bed! Beds were comfy and the room nice and warm. It felt a bit chilly when we arrived but staff soon rectified that with no problems at all. In fact the staff were friendly, helpful and informative at all times. The self catering kitchen is in the annexe, so it is necessary to go outside and down some steps to use it. unless of course your room is in the annexe. We only had one evening meal there, but can highly recommend the curries! There are two lounges. One with TV and internet access. Also an excellent drying room downstairs. It is just outside centre of Grasmere and has it's own car park car park. I should imagine this gets very full at the height of summer. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the annexe if you want to be near self catering kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    75
    27
    5
    3
See reviews for
57
54
32
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

The staff of the hostel are amazing and willing to help wherever needed. The only downside is that the pool table in the games room is 1 pound a turn witch is frustrating if you only carry notes but all in all a beautiful setting with easy access to mountains and shops overall a great stay lovely food and lovely staff

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cfaulkner98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull east yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We visited Grasmere YHA in February 2013. We were greeted with a very warm welcome to this wonderful hostel. Staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. They gave us plenty of information to enjoy this wonderful location. Meals were always on time and very good. Can't wait to go back. Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful stay.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank trevor m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Manager at YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, I've passed these on to the team and we're all really chuffed to hear you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you during your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Visited Grasmere youth hostel in January.
Fantastic location wth great walks right from the door.
We had a very nice room with plenty of shower and toilet facilities close by.
The hostel seemed well run but very regimented and not very frendly.
Staff did not appear to be very happy and when we had a problem they were no help at all.
This left us feeling generally a bit disappointed with our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKDAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Manager at YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for making time to write us a review. It's great to get feedback, sorry to hear your stay didn't go as well as expected. Please call us directly to arrange your next visit and we'll do our best to ensure you have an excellent stay with us.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Fantastic breakfasts! The early morning breakfasts were brilliant, a wide choice including full breakfasts, cereal, porridge, fresh fruit, yoghurts and croissants. Amazing value for money even though we had to pay an extra £4.95 each per morning of stay. However, the winter warmer meal should be avoided. On booking, this sounded ideal after long days up the fells but as we found out it was very disappointing. A choice of the same three meals each night left us hungry due to the tiny portions given. On the 2nd night we looked forward to a 'Cumberland sausage accompanied by potatoes and a selection of vegetables'. This was in fact a Cumberland sausage with 3 hard, dry potatoes (new) 4 slices of carrot and a small spoon of peas. When we asked for gravy we were told "we haven't been given gravy to give you'. This was while we watched other guests eat beautiful meals such as full plates of curry etc. the winter warmer looks like a bargain online. Once you have paid you are stuck with it. Do not book online!

We stayed in the annexe at the back of the main building. The beds were nice and clean and we felt the two drawers under the beds were ample storage for a two night stay. The mould on the walls was an issue however. We reported this but were told it couldn't be helped in the annexe. Surely this can't be good for anyone's health and should be helped in one way or another.

Both nights we were kept awake by a horrendous pumping noise (more like a loud banging) which came from the ceiling outside the rooms. The 2nd night, in despair, I went to investigate but it went the whole way through the top floor. The floor boards were shocking and due to us being situated by the toilet and showers, I was kept awake until the early hours both nights.

The self catering kitchen was clean and gave ample opportunity to meet fellow fell walkers. Yet for the size of the annex, this was much too small. A maximum of three rooms could use it at any one given time.

Car parking is a major issue as we found. Although its only a small downhill walk from the YH, there was only enough room for 12-14 cars. We were left with no where to park and were told this is often a problem and the only option is to park in the village and walk back to the YH. as we didn't wish to leave the car unattended in the village overnight we spent a vast amount of time waiting for a space to clear.

All in all, if u plan to stay here, don't expect to get anything resolved from the staff. They were very unhelpful. Try and specify when booking to stay in the main building. These issues may not be the same there (apart from food and parking).

Room Tip: Choose the main building. Don't your meals in with price as they are not value for money. Car pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharlene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Manager at YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for making the time to review our hostel. I'm sorry to hear that your stay didn't go as expected. All the team take pride to ensure that all our guests needs are met if not exceeded.

We work hard ensure that we do all we can to help our guests to have a comfortable stay by being available to listen and respond to feedback from our customers at all times.

We activley encourage our guests at check-in, to inform us if we've missed anything and let us know if there's anything they aren't happy with. We do this because we want everyone to enjoy a great YHA Experience.

The team here at YHA Grasmere really do care about all our customers - this is part of who we are, driven by what we do every single day. Please accept our apologies that we didn't get it right for you this time. We'd love to be able to make it right for you during your next stay, please call us direct when making your next booking.

Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Great place, value amazing, staff knowledgable and enthusiastic. I stayed here for one night, Great reception, facilities very good. 8 bed dorm, comfortable, warm top bunk, spacious, I'm 6 ft 2, my mate 6ft 5, ample leg room. Toilets and showers very good. Good location for village, free parking, enough space. Breakfast and evening meal superb value for money, i can not praise the staff enough - thanks Haley for mega breakfast. Adequate drying room and separate lounge areas. I would stay here again. Oh great location for Lang-dale, Fairfield and all that walking stuff - bring it on - well down YHA (again)

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank micwic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Manager at YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your review and kind words. Great to hear that you and your friend enjoyed your stay with us. It's a real treat to be able to walk straight out onto so many of the Lake District fells right from the hostel front door.

Thank you for your comments about our team here, I've passed them and they say a big thanks back to you.

Looking forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
635 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

A great YHA, clean, well set out with lovely social spaces and set in attractive grounds. The building is lovely and the staff were all friendly, helpful and communicative.....what more could you ask for from a hostel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howellsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Manager at YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you making the time to write us a review. Thank you for your kind words, it's great to here that you enjoyed your stay with us and made the most of the hostel grounds.

We look forward to welcoming you again during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.6 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 22 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
1.6 mi away
YHA Langdale
YHA Langdale
#1 of 1 in Loughrigg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
6.4 mi away
YHA Coniston Holly How
YHA Coniston Holly How
#4 of 9 in Coniston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe

Property: YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe
Address: Butharlyp How Easedale Road, Grasmere LA22 9QG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the beautiful Lakeland village of Grasmere, this Victorian mansion features fabulous views of the surrounding fells and valleys. Guests can enjoy the restaurant and relaxing TV lounge. Dove Cottage, the home of William Wordsworth, is just 15 minutes’ walk away from YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe. The shores of Grasmere Lake are just 15 minutes away on foot and the surrounding fells contain numerous scenic walking trails. Grasmere village is just a 10-minute walk away. Home-cooked meals are available in YHA Grasmere’s restaurant, while guests can also cook within the self-catering kitchen and make use of the dining room. There is also a cafe on-site and a small shop for guests. The majority of rooms at YHA Grasmere’s contain bunk beds. Guests are able to relax in spacious, lovely grounds, whilst there is also a games room and Wi-Fi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing