We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe
Certificate of Excellence
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

just had a weekend in Grasmere and stayed at the yha. Room was comfortable and the bed was clean and comfey.
The breakfasts were excellent and the yha is in the perfect spot just a short walk down into the town.
For just £28 per nigh B&B it was a bargain.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    78
    28
    5
    3
See reviews for
59
55
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

I had been forced by bad weather and poor visibility into camping in the mountains above Grasmere. So I arrived at the YHA in a very bedraggled state on a Sunday morning. The Under Manager Ean got me tea and toast and helped me with my mound of wet clothing and equipment - he could not have been kinder.
The YHA is in a large attractive house and the accomodation was excellent. The evening meal that I chose from the menu was delicious. There was a large party of school girls there and I was very impressed at how the Kitchen Staff coped with energy and good humour wnen serving them.
I left the the next morning after a good breakfast a new man.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rodney T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VICTORIA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

During our stay of two nights, we were given a double room which had its own private toilet, an unexpected and most welcome bonus. The showers in the hall were numerous and very clean. When we asked for towels, we were given them without charge (unlike the previous hostel). The self-catering kitchen was well-equipped, well-organized and tidy. What we appreciated most, however, was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, in particular, Ian, the deputy manager. He offered us advice, suggestions and even photocopied information about sights and walks in the area for us. We were even allowed to use the self-catering kitchen for lunch after we checked out which we most appreciated. Service above and beyond expectations. Very impressed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaufish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

I have recently visited this hostel for the second time, with a large group of school children, and find YHA Grasmere to be a lovely place to stay. The staff are welcoming and knowledgable about the local area and the rooms are clean and comfortable. I only ate food from the school group menu, so can't comment on the other food available for independent guests, but it looked tremendous! The location is great: just a stone's throw from Grasmere and some lovely walks.

Thanks to everyone for a great stay. I fully intend to come back sometime without 48 11-year-olds in tow!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F1aj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

I have been to a few hostels in the past but I was impressed by YHA. I had a really good time and a comfortable stay even though it was a 8person dorm. It was in a very convenient location. Needless to say it is somewhere I would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chernster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

An attractive and safe place to stay. Clean and well run. The smartest YH that I stayed in on the Coast to Coast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helegant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

I stayed at this hostel with 3 friends on a walking weekend. First things first. The hostel is in an amazing location, bang in the centre on the Lake District in the famous Grasmere. The rooms were clean, the showers were clean and was what I expected from a hostel.

We did have some big problems checking in though. The gentleman on reception was pleasant to begin with however upon producing the booking confirmation which we printed from the confirmation email we were told that it was incorrect? The gentleman then would not let us in until we had paid the remaining amount according to HIS calculations. Remember, this was confirmed on an email when booking. Due to the fact we were a long way from home we had no choice but to pay, I suspect he knew this.

Another problem with the same gentleman but this was checking out. We paid for 4 breakfasts on the Sunday morning and a lady staff member took payment and placed it in the till but when ceckling out the gentleman asked for this payment again! We argued with him for a good while until we were effectivelytold to leave the hostel and never come back!

I don't know what YHA are doing employing people like him but I hope they take notice of the complaint and take action.

My advice to anyone staying here is to enjoy the facilities and location and the food but be wary of this staff member. He has a Liverpudlian accent.

Please remember to get a receipt if handing money over the counter there.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Splintaay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.7 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
1.6 mi away
YHA Langdale
YHA Langdale
#1 of 1 in Loughrigg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
YHA Borrowdale
YHA Borrowdale
#1 of 4 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
6.4 mi away
YHA Coniston Holly How
YHA Coniston Holly How
#4 of 9 in Coniston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
3.9 mi away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 23 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe

Property: YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe
Address: Butharlyp How Easedale Road, Grasmere LA22 9QG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the beautiful Lakeland village of Grasmere, this Victorian mansion features fabulous views of the surrounding fells and valleys. Guests can enjoy the restaurant and relaxing TV lounge. Dove Cottage, the home of William Wordsworth, is just 15 minutes’ walk away from YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe. The shores of Grasmere Lake are just 15 minutes away on foot and the surrounding fells contain numerous scenic walking trails. Grasmere village is just a 10-minute walk away. Home-cooked meals are available in YHA Grasmere’s restaurant, while guests can also cook within the self-catering kitchen and make use of the dining room. There is also a cafe on-site and a small shop for guests. The majority of rooms at YHA Grasmere’s contain bunk beds. Guests are able to relax in spacious, lovely grounds, whilst there is also a games room and Wi-Fi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing