We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“YHA at its best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe
Certificate of Excellence
needham market
Level Contributor
122 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“YHA at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

This hostel is tip top from top to bottom,a warm welcome clean fresh rooms in a perfect locations.The food was first class with plenty of choice, i had a curry and i have paid a lot more for an inferior meal,breakfast had a first class choice from porridge to fruit plus a full english and much more.The staff are very friendly and well motivated to provide you with a pleasant stay.The drying room was very good. I was in a room for eight but had plenty of room.Grasmere is on the pricey side to stay being a tourist trap,so value for money you wont go far wrong here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crackermean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    75
    27
    5
    3
See reviews for
57
54
32
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

There are many places to stay in Grasmere, however in these frugal times getting the best value for your pound, euro or dollar is a must for all travellers. Grasmere YHA offered not only great value for money, but 5***** service. I'd always thought that youth hostels where for school kids and families and because of this I thought the food would be like school dinners, how wrong was I!!! There are menu choices to suit most palettes and if you fancy a reasonable priced beer or wine to go with your meal, then they cater for this, as well as a range of teas and coffee. Breakfast options are cereals and a full range of cooked items, or if you just fancy something light, then tea and toast!

The rooms are very clean and spacious, with enough showers and toilets so you don't have to leave your towel and flip-flops as a marker. We had concerns about having to get up with the larks, in order to have a hot shower, however this was not the case and found both male and female facilities to be of a very high standard.

The grounds of the hostel are in a premium location with stunning views of the surrounding hills and only a 3 minute stroll into the center of Grasmere. If any improvement could be made, we would suggest the option for disability parking spaces close to the main building. Although the walk from the car park to the hostel is tree lined providing cover 'if' rain happens to be in the air, we thought this may present a slight problem for people who need wheelchair access as it's about 150 meters from parking your car. The grounds are well maintained and the trees provide a wonderful canopy for reading a book on a sunny day whilst drinking tea on the lawned terrace, or if like me you fancy catching a few Zzzz's after a long day out on the hills before evening meal, then this place hits the spot!

When you arrive at your accommodation, how you are first greeted by the staff can make or break your stay, at Grasmere YHA it's the staff that make your stay most worthwhile. Yes the hills will always be there, the natural beauty of the lakes is an almost given and some places we have stayed at in the lakes take this for granted and as such service levels can and do vary. We found nothing too much to ask for, the passion and enthusiasm of the staff at Grasmere YHA should be canned and sold on to others. There is a real sense of wanting to make sure that as guests your needs and wants are catered for in order to make your stay comfortable and memorable. Being able to provide us as guests, information about walks and what's on in and around Grasmere helped to make our stay a most enjoyable one, so much so, that we'll be back.

Overall we rate Grasmere YHA as a premium location, quality food and accommodation at a pocket friendly price, and hope you enjoy your visit there too.

Room Tip: Request a room at the front of the hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank betteradayonthehills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
392 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 446 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2009

Also stayed here for one night as we were walking the C2C and it was the only spot in town. Had stayed here in 1990. Still beautifully set in pleasant grounds and just off the main thoroughfare of Grasmere. But the rest has changed. The rooms are much cleaner, the beds very comfortable and the food was excellent. Love the new crisp sheets and duvet. One of the best breakfasts we had on our trip and often repeated by other C2C'ers we met.

Laundry and drying room were second to none. Washed all our gear and dried it in a matter of hours.

Do agree that overall the quad room is a bit expensive for a youth hostel but in comparison to the hotels we enquired about this was the most affordable option.

Will now definitely consider staying in YHA's in England on future trips.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BuccaneerDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire, england
Level Contributor
325 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2009

Stayed here on the Coast to Coast walk as it was the only place available for one night in Grasmere. Lovely setting and grounds, very clean room. Tasty carvery on Saturday night, delicious 2 ham rolls in packed lunch (one each was enough), excelent breakfast with fry up, fruit, croissants etc. Our only complaint is that it is rather expensive for a 4 bunk bed room and shared showers and toilets.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fairtrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
244 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2008

One of the best hostels I've stayed in. Superb location. Clean facilities, good walks, nice staff, good self catering facilities.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank slippeddisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2005

We loved this place. It was perfect for families, with walking trails, orienteering course, plenty of space and board games. The shared bathroom and kitchen facilities were clean and the staff were very friendly. It is also very picturesque and had comfortable common room facilities. We accidently set the smoke alarms off from steam in the shower, and at least 3 staff members raced to find the source of the problem and ensure we were safe. Would highly recommend this place.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.6 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 22 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
1.6 mi away
YHA Langdale
YHA Langdale
#1 of 1 in Loughrigg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
6.4 mi away
YHA Coniston Holly How
YHA Coniston Holly How
#4 of 9 in Coniston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe

Property: YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe
Address: Butharlyp How Easedale Road, Grasmere LA22 9QG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the beautiful Lakeland village of Grasmere, this Victorian mansion features fabulous views of the surrounding fells and valleys. Guests can enjoy the restaurant and relaxing TV lounge. Dove Cottage, the home of William Wordsworth, is just 15 minutes’ walk away from YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe. The shores of Grasmere Lake are just 15 minutes away on foot and the surrounding fells contain numerous scenic walking trails. Grasmere village is just a 10-minute walk away. Home-cooked meals are available in YHA Grasmere’s restaurant, while guests can also cook within the self-catering kitchen and make use of the dining room. There is also a cafe on-site and a small shop for guests. The majority of rooms at YHA Grasmere’s contain bunk beds. Guests are able to relax in spacious, lovely grounds, whilst there is also a games room and Wi-Fi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing