We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$190
$184
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Travellers Rest Inn(Grasmere)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Oak Bank Hotel(Grasmere)
$168
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$168
$163
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thorney How(Grasmere)(Great Value!)
$97
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$130
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$171
$153
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lancrigg(Grasmere)
$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe(Grasmere)(Great Value!)
$32
$31
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,272)
Filter reviews
1,272 results
Traveler rating
485
449
222
73
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
485
449
222
73
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfeature roomold englandexecutive roomblack puddinglake districtwalkers barlovely hotelnight porterevening mealthe general managerfour poster bedcooked breakfastone night staybreakfast was excellentgreat weekendhelm craglovely room
Filter
Updating list...
1,151 - 1,156 of 1,272 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Having decided to take a short post Christmas break my wife and I opted for Grasmere, and reading previous reviews the Swan Hotel looked just the ticket. From the moment we arrived the staff looked after our every need, especially Tony the night porter, who had some great stories that kept us entertained in the early hours. Great food, a choice of Jennings hand-pulled beer and a roaring fire, who could ask for more. Thanks to all the staff for a great stay, we will most certainly return. Jon and Pam.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonahchallione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2011

Good Morning Jonahchallione,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Swan Hotel, we here appreciate all our reviews whether they are constructive or positive, we also share all our reviews and comment cards with the whole team on a regular basis.

All the staff are thankful for your kind comments and Tony says he has plenty more stories for when you return and I am sure a good pint of Jennings for you.

Once again thank you for your kind review as it is comments such as yours that help us strive towards our goals in quality and customer care.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Jason Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2011

We arrived on a Wednesday and left on a Saturday, so it was fairly quiet which is just what we wanted, a break from our hectic lifestyle. We were welcomed by a cozy fireplace and EXTREMELY friendly and helpful staff so a big thank you to everyone. The night porter (sorry can´t remember your name!) kept us entertained with his stories, Anita gave really good advice on walks and general travel etc, and we would like to give a special thank you to Jana who was exceptionally helpful to us as it was my boyfriends birthday and she went above and beyond to make our stay as memorable as possible.

Re the room, everything was very clean, we had a bit of a view over the hills which was nice, bed was dead comfy and the pillows were just soooooooo fluffy.. :), it was just lovely for us.

My boyfriends only "complaint" was the size of the cooked breakfast. With the area being a place for walks, activities etc, you would expect a more substantial breakfast to set you off for the day. It was just very small for what most people would expect. We did not have dinner at the hotel so can´t comment on that.

So we would definitely come back and would recommend and hope management will take our comments into account. :)

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guillidou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2011

Good Afternoon Guillidou,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Swan Hotel, we here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are positive or constructive, we also share them on a regular basis with the whole team.

Tony - Night Porter would like to pass on his thanks for your kind words, as would the rest of the team. Jana also passes on here thanks on to you as well.

I have spoken to our Head Chef regard the contents and the size of the breakfast, and he currently reviewing this at the moment.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post your review as it comments such as yours that help us strive towards our goals in quality and customer care.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Jason Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

We lost an old and trusted friend today. The Swan, Grasmere. We have been staying there since it was a Forte Heritage establishment, sometimes twice or more a year. Now it has just become a MacDonald corporate number and the personal care has gone. Prices are high for the standard received, a mid morning coffee for two at £5.95; cooked breakfast, if not part of the package, £15.50 and an extra £3.50 if you want a piece of haddock or a kipper. That’s £19 for a small piece of fish. These items used to be included, now they are an extra, as is the optional steak on the limited evening meal menu at £4.50. On the evening menu there were three main course choices plus a vegetarian option plus the steak as an extra, this menu changed on the second night and reverted back to the original on the third night. Despite the limited the food options it was well presented, good-sized portions and the restaurant service was faultless. At breakfast too there was plenty of choice and the cooked food was excellent.
Our first room (no 48) was more tired than me after a five hour drive. Cobwebs on the inside of the window, hook missing in the bathroom and a child’s sticker over the bathroom door indicating only a quick clean round the main areas, and torn wallpaper in the bedroom. The heating was not working so we were given additional heaters for the first night, as the hotel was full. We were offered and accepted an upgraded room for the remaining two nights. Room 24 was just a larger floor area than the previous room and represented little extra value for the extra cost. Even here there was black mould on the inside of one of the window frames, there were tiles off in the bathroom and a very noisy and dust clogged extractor fan. The bathroom radiator worked well but only one of the two bedroom radiators worked. Most corridor carpets had threadbare patches and of the five lounge area fires we had to ask for one to be put on during our last evening. The main log fire was never lit or cleaned out from its last use.
The hotel was run by a keen team of what appeared to be agency staff, however with a total lack of management presence from Saturday pm till at least Wednesday, they were stretched and relied on good fortune to see them through. There were other complaints and the reception staff (mainly Anita) dealt with them as best as she could without any back up. Jana organised the restaurant brilliantly and all the service was great. If you go there as a one off and don’t expect too much then it would pass, but as a loyal repeat customer it has run its course.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rogshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2011

Good Afternoon Rogshe,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Swan Hotel, we here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are constructive or positive, we also share them with the team on a regular basis.

With regards to your title " The Obituary" we find it slightly over the top.

I do find some of your comments just and these should not have happened, the log fire should have been blazing, there should not have been cobwebs in the room, hooks missing from the doors, theses should have been addressed straight away by the management team for this I apologise.

I myself was there on Saturday to deal with the Boiler in the extension part of the hotel which had failed over night, unfortunately the engineers could not fix it on the day and had to wait for parts to be delivered on the Monday, I know that we personally contacted everyone and gave additional heaters for Saturday night.

I am not going to disagree that the hotel requires an upgrade, we are awaiting final confirmation of the amount that will be spent on the hotel over the coming months to improve the corridors and majority of the main house and remedial works for the extension as this will be getting a full refurbishment when the planned new extension takes place.

Fortunately we do not need to use agency staff here at the Swan Hotel and I have a strong management team in place unfortunately I was away on business until Thursday returning to the hotel today(Friday), I did leave on my Duty Managers - Anita (Duty Manager), Jana (Assistant Catering Manager), Marie (Head Housekeeper) and Gareth (Head Chef).

I am disappointed to hear you feel it has run its course, I do hope I can welcome you back and if you wish to discuss this with me please feel free to contact me on gm.swangrasmere@macdonal-hotels.co.uk.

Kind Regards
Jason Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

We stayed for one night in jan, as always we really enjoyed our stay, staff great, We stay here often, if we had one niggle it would be that the menu needs more choice, we often want to stay for thee nights for dinner but you end up repeating the same choices. So please can we have more on the menu chef.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dashers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2011

Good Afternoon Dashers,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Swan Hotel, we appreciate all our reviews whether they are positive or constructive, we also share all our reviews with the team on a regular basis.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal, and thank you for your comments about the contents. The reason for the reduced menu is that at this particular time of year, which is low season we reduce the size of the menu so as not to waste food, I have discussed this with Head Chef and it will be reviewed for next low season.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post your review as it comments such as yours that help us strive towards our goals in quality and customer care.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Jason Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We had a wonderful weekend stay at The Macdonald Swan Hotel in Grasmere. The hotel was one of the best we have stayed in, the staff were excellent, the hotel room very good with an excellent view across to the village and hills beyond. The hotel was a short walk away from the village which has a very good range of amenities. We ate at the hotel on both evenings of our stay and the food was excellent, but the menu could benefit from being expanded a little. However, this is but a very minor criticism and I would recommend anyone to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank euxton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2011

Good Afternoon Euxton1,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Swan Hotel, we appreciate all our reviews whether they are positive or constructive, we also share all our reviews with the team on a regular basis.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your meals on both nights, and thank you for your comments about the contents. The reason for the reduced menu is that at this particular time of year, which is low season we reduce the size of the menu so as not to waste food, I have discussed this with Head Chef and it will be reviewed for next low season.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post your review as it comments such as yours that help us strive towards our goals in quality and customer care.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Jason Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews