We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel with superb friendly and helpful staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We had a wonderful weekend stay at The Macdonald Swan Hotel in Grasmere. The hotel was one of the best we have stayed in, the staff were excellent, the hotel room very good with an excellent view across to the village and hills beyond. The hotel was a short walk away from the village which has a very good range of amenities. We ate at the hotel on both evenings of our stay and the food was excellent, but the menu could benefit from being expanded a little. However, this is but a very minor criticism and I would recommend anyone to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank euxton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2011

Good Afternoon Euxton1,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Swan Hotel, we appreciate all our reviews whether they are positive or constructive, we also share all our reviews with the team on a regular basis.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your meals on both nights, and thank you for your comments about the contents. The reason for the reduced menu is that at this particular time of year, which is low season we reduce the size of the menu so as not to waste food, I have discussed this with Head Chef and it will be reviewed for next low season.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post your review as it comments such as yours that help us strive towards our goals in quality and customer care.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Jason Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,116 - 1,122 of 1,232 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2010

Lovely oldy worldy hotel. Lovely staff, especially Richard on reception who recommended a fabulous restaurant nearby called Tweedies. Food to die for! Could have done with a TV in one of the reception rooms or some background music, though i was informed that the system was broken. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2010

Good Morning Sharon127,

Thank you for taking time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Swan Hotel, we appreciate all our reviews whether they be positive or constructive, we also share them on a regular basis with the whole team.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed some of the local amenities, hopefully next time we can temp you into trying our award winning restaurant. I am please to inform you that the background music problem has been resolved and a new system is in place.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and from myself and the team we hope you have a pleasant and safe Christmas and a wonderful New Year.

Kind Regards
Jason Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Thank you to everyone at The Swan for a fantastic week. We arrived in deep snow and were met by roaring log fires, a warm welcome from the staff and a warm welcoming room. We stay at the Swan regularly and as always the food was fantastic (thank you Gareth, Johnny and team) the award of a coveted AA Rosette is well deserved.
Lovely comfy bed with big fluffy pillows and warm duvets, the weather was -10 outside but inside everywhere was lovely and warm. Our Old English sheepdog Holly loved snuggling in fromt of the log fire and is missing everyone at The Swan, thanks to Anita, Marie, Chris, Gareth, Richard , Manuel, all the staff and of course Jason for a brilliant stay. We'll see you all again soon. Have a great Christmas :)

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheepies123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2010

Good Morning Sheepies123,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Swan Hotel.

A Big Thank You to you for such a lovely review, you know the whole team get excited when they know that you are arriving at the hotel, and as always it is our absolute pleaseure in welcoming you. your husband and of course Holly and also looking after you.

I am sorry was not there to say good bye, but you know that the whole team can not wait until you return and we all wish you a Happy & Safe Christmas and a Brilliant New Year!!!

We will see you soon,

Kindest Regards
Jason Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2010

Every B&B and hotel in the Lakes is in perfect location,and the Swan is no exception,however the food,service,and welcome here are a cut above. The room i stayed in is ready for little revamp,but it was more than adequate for my weary legs. I was highly impressed with just about everything,although the industrial shutters around the bar are a little ugly and out of character. In general well done.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunlunlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2010

Good Morning Sunlunlad,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, as with all reviews and comments we appreciate them all whether they are constructive or positive. We share all reviews and comments on a regular basis with the team.

We are glad hear that the you enjoyed your time with us and as with other comments and reviews recently I am please to inform that a small refurbishment programme will be starting in the early part of the new year.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post your review as it is comments such as yours that help us strive towards our goals in customer service and quality.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Jason Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

Stayed here some time ago, and Macdonald Hotels Customer Services have still not bothered to answer my polite letter repeatedly sent to them, just automated responses, hence why this (bad) review is posted here now.

Good points first - front of house staff were fairly efficient & polite, and the location is brilliant - even accessible by bus which is good if your avoiding driving. A nice little restaurant (Jumble Room) is just up the road, in the town. The breakfast was alright but not value for money.

Bad Points - the breakfast room is horrid and cramped, tables were tiny. The bedroom we booked for three nights was the most expensive they had, in the hope it was decent. Whilst it did have a four poster bed, the fittings were dated and not clean, the room was pretty dark and dingey. TV reception wasn't great either, TV was small. Corridors inside leading to rooms were dated and made Fawlty Towers' interior look classy.

Overall, certainly not worth the £350 we paid for two nights here, this hotel is focused on foreign tourists who either don't understand the exchange rate, or can't complain due to the language barrier. An embarrasment to the Lake District and to Macdonald Hotels - who do have some *other* good hotels. Whilst I appreciate this is an old building, Macdonald have no excuse for being tight fisted and not spending money on making the interior presentable. Next time I will consider again hiring a holiday cottage up the road in Skelwith Fold instead.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobWedekind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2010

Good Afternoon RobWedekind,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your stay at the Swan Hotel, we here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are positive or constructive.

Firstly let me apologies for our customer services department for not replying back to you this is very unusual.

I would like to thank you for your kind words regarding the staff.

I am pleased to inform you that a small refurbishment programme will commence in the New Year to include the main house of the hotel and all carpets in the corridors.

We do hope that when you visit the Lakes again in the future we able to visit the hotel and view the improvements and this may entice you to stay with us again.

Kind Regards
Jason Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

stayed here last weekend first time down at the lake district and i will definitely be back got a great deal from mcdonald hotels 1 night dinner bed and breakfast plus a £15 voucher to spend at the bar for £123. Room was nice and big with a bedroom and kind of living area off of it no complaints at all about the room it was fab. Log fires blazing in the hotel makes this place really very homely. Dinner was excellent was dissapointed there was no rabbit i had been looking forward to trying it all day but these things happen. As usual with hotels drinks are pretty expensive a rum and coke and a pint of lager was around £9 which put us off going into the bar after dinner that was my only problem all in all great stay here would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hughdivers30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2010

Good Afternoon HughDivers30,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Swan Hotel, we here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews and comments whether they are positive or constructive, we also share all our reviews with the team on a regular basis.

We are all pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, even though you did not get to enjoy the rabbit dish, may be next time.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Jason Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

We had visited this hotel some time ago and remembered the roaring log fires and good food. We were not disappointed. This is a great place to stay for walking in the lakes late in the year. After a good walk it is great to relax in front of the fire with a drink before a delicious meal. And they have a drying room if you get very wet.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LillieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2010

Good Afternoon LillieLondon,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your stay at the Swan Hotel, we here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are positive or constructive. At all times we share our reviews and comments with the team.

I am glad you enjoyed your visit again and the team look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Comments such as yours do help us in achieving our goals in quality and customer care.

Kind Regards
Jason Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.9 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#6 of 14 in Grasmere
1,628 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
16.8 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
8 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
3,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan Hotel

Address: The Swan Hotel Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grasmere
#9 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: $88 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1650 as a coaching inn, and mentioned in a Wordsworth poem "The Waggoner", Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere is one of the oldest hotels in the Lake District. Nestled in the Cumbrian countryside, with views across the Fells, our cosy and inviting hotel is ideal for walkers and cyclists. With open sunny vistas in summer and blazing log fires in winter, it's the ideal base for exploring the wonders of the Lake District National Park. Afterwards, relax with a delicious meal in our restaurant or enjoy the convivial atmosphere of the Walkers' Bar before retiring to a traditionally - furnished, comfortable room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swan
Macdonald Swan Grasmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing