We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“more like a mucky duck than a swan!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 10, 2012

reception staff were rude and ignorant . the restraunt manager was a joke couldn't organise himself let alone the restraunt. the superior room i booked had mould all over the bathroom, mouldy sealer,stained sink,hairs all over the floor ,rusty extractor & no shower gel ,but to be fair there was a note telling you that you could "buy" some from reception.!!!!.the room itself had cobwebs ,dust all over &the floor hadn't even been hovered.i left the comments card asking the manager to ring me but so far he has declined . coward.

Room Tip: i paid extra for a superior room & it was terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank wakefieldmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

986 - 992 of 1,246 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed one night as part of a hastily planned cycling trip. Hotel is well located with plenty of parking. We ate at the hotel and found the evening meal and breakfast to be very good. Top marks to the rib eye steak at night and the black pudding & toast at breakfast.
As other reviewers have flagged the rooms are very tired and in need of some TLC but we had spent little time in the room and had a good nights sleep. Would return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Had a very nice two night stay at this hotel. Room very nice and cosy, Huge bed and a big TV. Great view from the windows. Breakfast and dinner, food was amazing! Decor in the room in need of updating a bit but not bothered by that. Bus stops outside the front door takes you to Grasmere, Ambleside, Bowness etc. Staff great. 10/10.

Room Tip: The garden rooms might not have a better view than the others, we found.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night courtesy of a friend who was unable to make the trip. The downstairs of the hotel is lovely but the upstairs leaves a lot to be desired. The corridors smelled, a musty smell. The decor of the room (number 44) was very tired, as was the furniture.There was a dead fly swatted on the wall and the ceiling, and the net curtain at the window was dirty and had holes in it.The wallpaper was peeling off the wall.The electric socket was coming away from the wall. It was a twin room we were in and the beds were very comfy with memory foam mattresses and pillows.There was a large flat screen tv, tea & coffee making facilities as well. The bathroom was clean and was adequate, although a little dated but it did have cosmetics in. There was a hairdyer, but that was in the bedroom.The breakfast was good I have to say, with a choice from the buffet and the option to have a full English too. The staff in the hotel are very friendly and helpful.The scenery around the hotel was stunning, and only a short walk to Grasmere village which is worth a visit.. I can honestly say this hotel did not warrant the price of £117.00 a night.For those of you who don't like dogs, it is a pet friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Don't choose room number 44!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rush58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Having driven past the hotel we have not stayed there till a couple of days ago the hotel is old but very clean the staff were all freindly and the breakfast was very good.

Handy for Grassmere Village Windermere and Keswick.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mickley22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Just stayed for one night at The Swan for a birthday celebration.Booked online and got a good deal. Had booked a classic room but we were upgraded to an executive room at no extra cost which was a very lovely room overlooking the garden.The food was very good and cooked to perfection.Staff friendly,nice bar and lounges to sit in,a very nice stay in a beautiful setting with Grasmere only a short walk away. Thank you for a lovely few days.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rileyy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

we booked this through tesco clubcard and got a great deal. hotel was in a great location. food was good and real ale was also good. breakfast was really good with a great choice. very dog friendly hotel, our dog was allowed everywhere except the restaurant. plenty of seats to sit and relax. special mention to the staff who were very friendly,exceptionally helpful and made it feel almost like a family run hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drew206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.9 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#6 of 14 in Grasmere
1,673 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#4 of 14 in Grasmere
740 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lancrigg
The Lancrigg
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan Hotel

Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grasmere
#9 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: $101 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1650 as a coaching inn, and mentioned in a Wordsworth poem "The Waggoner", Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere is one of the oldest hotels in the Lake District. Nestled in the Cumbrian countryside, with views across the Fells, our cosy and inviting hotel is ideal for walkers and cyclists. With open sunny vistas in summer and blazing log fires in winter, it's the ideal base for exploring the wonders of the Lake District National Park. Afterwards, relax with a delicious meal in our restaurant or enjoy the convivial atmosphere of the Walkers' Bar before retiring to a traditionally - furnished, comfortable room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swan
Macdonald Swan Grasmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing