We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect as always”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stay at The Swan several times a year and our stay is always wonderful. This time friends came too. As we had recommended The Swan we wanted things to be perfect, they were and our friends said they will be back....often! There is nothing that is to much trouble for the wonderful team here, I was recovering after recent surgery and stayed in the room, staff popped in to make sure I had everything I needed when my husband and friends were out walking. Breakfasts as always were piping hot, the buffet full of fresh pastries, freshly prepared fruit, cereals, meats, cheeses etc.We were asked if we wanted more toast, tea and coffee.We had dinner in the hotel every evening, it was perfect. A huge thank you to Jason, Marie, Chris, JJ, Anthony, Anita, Michelle, Richard, Colin, Paco, Lorne, Neil, all the kitchen staff, and everyone who made our stay so perfect, see you all again soon x

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheepies123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    414
    194
    66
    35
See reviews for
147
793
23
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Formby,Merseyside
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

Nice Hotel..we had breakfast in bed which was quite nice and filling..beers around the bar always seemed to run out..but to be honest if you like a drink its got to be tweedies bar in the centre of the village..didn't eat in the hotel..went to the jumble room which was quite nice but portions not man sized..been watching to much master chef..second night walked up the road and had a meal in the travellers rest inn which was excellent(but bring a torch!!!)..overal nice experiance...oh yes we used the tesco clubcard vouchers..book early as there are only so many selected weekends..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merseyside_walkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle under lyme
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

used superbreak to book this weekend, great price great location room was excellant and the food was second to none. we will be going back again and again. Truly wonderful!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012 via mobile

I took my girlfriend to this hotel for her birthday and also proposed to her I phoned the hotel for them to order me flowers and the receptionist Michelle mitchinson made it all to easy for me as I'm not the best at organising things. On arrival was very impressed with the hotel and surroundings was really nice, we got our room and was very impressed nice and cosy and very clean. I went to my car to get her card and bracelet and sort out the flowers with the reception manager Richard Wesley he took everything off me and sorted everything out as he picked up on how nervous I was he was absolutely brilliant. We had a meal in the restaurant and the general manager put us on a perfect table so romantic, the staff were all over us all nite to make sure everything was perfect and believe me it couldnt of been anymore perfect, everything went to plan and the food was gorgeous and all the staff were brilliant with us, breakfast was lovely too I honestly couldnt find one fault with this hotel and will definitely be back there to stay again, thankyou to the swan hotel and all the staff for a perfect weekend Adam and Kate

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

Used Superbreak to book a weekend at a good price. Room beautiful, food excellent, staff friendly. Very relaxing. We will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seymourh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

Visited the Swan inn for my wife's birthday. Great staff , very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good. Great location on the edge of the vist. We stayed in room 46, which was at the back of the hotel and had great views. Will be back in the future.

Room Tip: Room's 45, 46 & 47 at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarahanddarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

We stayed at the Swan last year and had a lovely time. We went again last weekend and were once again treated well by the staff. The room was quite, clean and comfortable. The bed was big and cosy. The food is absolutely wonderful. We had the lamb shank on one of the evenings and there was hardly any fat on it at all, Beautiful. The pea mash was a bit dry however a tasty and filling meal. The second night I had the steak which was cooked to my liking and was succulent and tender. The breakfast had everything that you would want from prunes to bacon and eggs cooked just the way you like them. Sitting in the lounge in the evening by the log fire was exceptional. I had pots of teas and hubby had the lager, very restful and I think we shall make this one of our favourite places to visit. Thank you Swan,

Room Tip: Room 11 was a good size and the bed was comfy, although it will depend on what type of bed you like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swoodward63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,777 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
10.5 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan Hotel

Property: Macdonald Swan Hotel
Address: The Swan Hotel Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grasmere
#9 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1650 as a coaching inn, and mentioned in a Wordsworth poem "The Waggoner", Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere is one of the oldest hotels in the Lake District. Nestled in the Cumbrian countryside, with views across the Fells, our cosy and inviting hotel is ideal for walkers and cyclists. With open sunny vistas in summer and blazing log fires in winter, it's the ideal base for exploring the wonders of the Lake District National Park. Afterwards, relax with a delicious meal in our restaurant or enjoy the convivial atmosphere of the Walkers' Bar before retiring to a traditionally - furnished, comfortable room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swan
Macdonald Swan Grasmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing