We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We have just returned from our wedding which we held at The Swan Hotel. We could not have asked for a more perfect few days. From the minute we walked into the hotel on the Thursday till the last guest left on the Monday the service was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. Tea and coffee were available throughout the 3 day period, the staff friendly, approachable, helpful, courteous and at the same time professional. Special mention must go to Chris in the restaurant, Michelle front of house, Jason the General Manager, Richard deputy and Richard the night porter - we cannot praise them enough.

As usual the standard of food was absolutely superb, the beds comfortable (everyone slept well) we know the bathrooms need updating but this is in the pipeline but they are spotlessly clean.

On the day of the wedding itself nothing more could have been done - all the moving of furniture was done calmly, quietly without any disruption to guests. The ceremony room looked beautiful - all our wishes were accommodated - Jason and his team coped with everything we asked for in a wonderfully calm manner. As far as we are aware nothing went wrong.

The meal was amazing - the chef came out later in the evening to ask how it was. The waiting on staff were more than efficient - we had two people with dietry requirements and no fuss was made they were just given their meals along with everyone else and it was not noticed that they had anything different.

See Events supplied the evening entertainment which The Swan had recommended they too were excellent.

We cannot praise this hotel and its staff enough - all we can suggest is that if you have more than 75 people on your guest list cut it back so you can experience the magic that we did.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

Good Afternoon Mel & Simon,

Thank you for your kind review regarding your stay and of course your special day spent with us here at the Swan Hotel, we do appreciate your kind words and they have been shared with the whole of the team who in turn send their thanks as well.

It was our pleasure that you entrusted us with your special day, and as most people said the relaxed and informal atmosphere that you requested we delivered, one comment was “it was like having a house party". So we are pleased that we accomplished what you wanted.

We look forward to welcoming you and some of your guests back for New Year's Eve so the celebrations can continue.

Kindest Regards
Jason Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,200)
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Swan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,010 - 1,016 of 1,200 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2011

We recently spent a short break at this hotel and thorougly enjoyed our stay. It is situated on a main road but the noise did not effect us. Short walk via a bit of a hill into Grasmere. The hotel itself is very typical of a country hotel, quaint and traditionally furnished throughout. We stayed in room 17 which is near the front if the hotel, it is light and airy, large comfy bed and nice views. The room was clean and the furniture is in keeping with the rest of the hotel, however the bathroom is in much need of a refurbishment, very 70s. New carpets yes in the corridors. Breakfast was good, continental and full English. Evening meal in the bar was good along with service in general. Overall, if staying in Grasmere I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brenda7Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

Good Afternoon brenda7Yorkshire,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Swan Hotel, we here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are constructive or positive, we also share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis.

The staff would like to send their thanks for your kind words, regarding their professional service and the quality of the hotel.

We are waiting for the start date for the partial refurbishment works to begin, which will include the bathrooms.

We are pleased that you are looking forward to returning to the hotel.

Kindest regards
Jason Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

I was a little wary having read other reviews of this hotel but my visit was excellent. The carpets are new, the food and service is excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

Good Afternoon Keith B,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Swan Hotel, we here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are constructive or positive, we also share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis.

The staff would like to send their thanks for your kind words, regarding their professional service and the quality of the hotel.

We are pleased that you are looking forward to returning to the hotel.

Kindest regards
Jason Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Having visited this hotel periodically for the best part of 30 years I have to say I found the hotel on this occasion to be dissapointing. I used to visit this hotel on a regular basis when it was part of the much loved and missed Forte group when nothing was too much trouble and you were made to feel special. On this occasion I was with a group which on occasions we were treated like a commodity and differently to private guests. Dinner orders had to be given at breakfast while you waited and waited to be served. The portion sizes at dinner where small and not for anyone with a half decent appetite. (I know the response will be they are the same size as others but that is only because they are all small - listen to the complaints.) On the positive side the rooms are still of a good standard and the welcome from front of house was good, but I will not return till after the planned refurbishment and hope that by then the retauraunt will be returned to its former glory.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NorthWestTravelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

Good Afternoon Northwest Travelman,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Swan Hotel, we here at the hotel do appreciate all our reviews whether it is positive or constructive and we share them with the team on a regular basis.

I am sorry to hear that you feel that the hotel is not what it was like back in the Forte days, we have tried to keep some of the charm and character and keep the service at the highest level, I am disappointed that you felt your group was treated differently from all our other guests this was not our intention, and I can say that you are right everyone gets similar portions and if we do get constructive comments then of course we will act upon them, we here at the hotel pride ourselves on our reputation and having been awarded an AA rosette I do believe our food is what people want .

I look forward to your return when the refurbishment has taken place, so you can give your thoughts then.

Kindest Regards
Jason Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

What a wonderful place. As always it is usually the human dimension which makes or breaks a holiday - and at the Swan it is outstanding ! Everyone, from the moment you enter reception, progress to the bar and finish up in the restaurant is absolutely dedicated to making sure that your stay is a good one : all are friendly and extremely helpful. It would be invidious to pick out individuals in this all-round team, but they certainly ensured that our 3 night stay was first class. We found the service and food excellent and the ambience of the restaurant with its splendid views of the garden quite relaxing.
From my point of view a hotel room must have three key features - comfortable bed, excellent shower and two chairs for an afternoon read - and the Swan passes that test at A* ! I would certainly recommend it and will return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

Good Afternoon Jack B,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Swan Hotel, we here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are constructive or positive, we also share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis.

The staff would like to send their thanks for your kind words, regarding their professional service and the quality of the hotel.

We are pleased that you are looking forward to returning to the hotel.

Kindest regards
Jason Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

The front of house staff are very good. The hotel has lots of parking and is situated on the main road -easy to find (most rooms are at the back so noise should not be a problem).
The food was well presented but sometimes badly cooked (burnt chips, overspiced curry - which several people had complained about on previous occasions - fresh fruit at breakfast that was 'off''.
I have given a low score for the restaurant due the quality of the food, the service was good.
The rooms are in need of redecoration and the bathrooms look tatty - we understand that there are plans to start refurbishment in the next few months.
A tip - if you plan to walk into Grasmere in the evening take a torch, and wear light clothing.
also avoid the first floor at the back, as the fire door to the stair was always partly open so you wont get out in a fire. (this is surprising as we understand the Company has recently had a fire at the Windermere Hotel)

Room Tip: Wait until the place has been refurbished
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ian2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2011

Good Afternoon Ian2020,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Swan Hotel, we all appreciate our reviews whether they are constructive or positive, we also share them with the whole team on a regular basis.

The team wish to send their thanks for your comments regarding them.
We are indeed waiting final confirmation date for the start of the refurbishment works to begin; I have also passed on your comments regarding the spiciness of the curry to our Catering Director as the recipe is devised for our company and we are looking at the way the hand cut chips are cooked.
I am a little perplexed as to the comment about the first floor back door that you would not get out in a fire, as fire and security checks are done on regular basis.

I do hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Jason & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stay at The Swan several times a year and we have never been disappointed. We tried a different room this time and the views into Grasmere were beautiful.Many thanks to Marie (Head of Housekeeping) for suggesting we have a change :) Huge comfy bed, soft pillows. fluffy towels and hot water for a relaxing bath after a day out, The refurbshment has begun with new large screen LCD TV's in bedrooms and new carpets in the hallways. The breakfast was cooked to order and more than sudfficient to last until evening dinner. We ate in the hotel every night and the food was delicious. The welcome was warm aand after so long the staff are friends we love to see, thank you all, Jason and team, Marie, Chris, Anita, Richard, Michelle and Chef and team, sorry if I missed someone! you all soon. x PS a big woof from Holly x

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheepies123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2011

Good Afternoon Sheepies123,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, we do appreciate all our reviews whether they are positive or constructive, we also share them with the whole team on a regular basis.

As always it is a pleasure to welcome you Lynn with Lester and Holly for your stay and we are glad that you enjoyed the new room and the upgrades that have been made since your previous visit, I have had the bathroom door repaired so you will not get locked in next time, I promise.

Look forward to seeing you at the end of the year.

Kindest Regards
Jason & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,498 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,219 reviews
8.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
10.5 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
0.9 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan Hotel

Address: The Swan Hotel Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9RF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grasmere
#9 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: $150 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1650 as a coaching inn, and mentioned in a Wordsworth poem "The Waggoner", Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere is one of the oldest hotels in the Lake District. Nestled in the Cumbrian countryside, with views across the Fells, our cosy and inviting hotel is ideal for walkers and cyclists. With open sunny vistas in summer and blazing log fires in winter, it's the ideal base for exploring the wonders of the Lake District National Park. Afterwards, relax with a delicious meal in our restaurant or enjoy the convivial atmosphere of the Walkers' Bar before retiring to a traditionally - furnished, comfortable room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swan
Macdonald Swan Grasmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing