We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:15 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (1,399)
Filter reviews
1,355 results
Traveler rating
978
278
66
14
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
978
278
66
14
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ginger bread gingerbread shop secret recipe worth the wait biscuits long queue period costume take home old school friends and family behind the counter lake district fudge cake well worth a visit little gem at home
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,355 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

A small old shop with loads of atmosphere - the main product being sold is the unique gingerbread created by Sarah Nelson to a secret recipe. Helpful friendly staff who will advise how to rejuvenate the gingerbread if not eaten within six days ! Plenty of other small items on sale.

Thank swhamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

There were queues to enter a very small shop. The gingerbread was out of this world ... I wish I had bought larger pack - delicious

Thank sharry2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What more is there to say. Lovely gingerbread from a lovely little shop in a lovely village. Also to liquorice and ginger gummies were delicious.

Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I visit this gorgeous little (tiny) shop every time we go to Grasmere. The staff are so friendly, knowledgeable about the history of the shop, area and gingerbread, and are just truly wonderful. The gingerbread is second to none. The best you’ll find

Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Absolutely love Grasmere Gingerbread...a real treat if you visit Grasmere you should definitely try it....like the best ginger biscuit ever

Thank Trek113245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Tiny shop but friendly and well stocked. You can buy single pieces of gingerbread as well. Delicious. We have loads home for friends. Yum.

Thank GabsL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visit every time we go to the lakes, gingerbread and other items are all excellent and staff are always extremely helpful

Thank BandM0903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Almost just a counter that takes payment rather than a shop as such but we both said the best ginger bread we've ever had. Not much more to say really.

Thank Edd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Having heard great things about this place, we had to visit here when visiting Grasmere.
What a lovely little place this shop is. The staff are friendly and helpful when asking questions about the products, and the products are tasty, authentic and not too pricey.
They have a variety of delicious products and I'd recommend a visit here to everyone. It's so nice for such a small business!

Thank HotChoc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

What a lovely little place, great to read all about the history and the ginger bread was gorgeous. Definitely worth a visit

Thank Smithster114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews