We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mews room luxury”
Review of Dale Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dale Lodge Hotel
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
North East England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Mews room luxury”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My husband and I spent a delightful 2 nights in one of the news rooms in late August on the recommendation of a friend from work. It was the ideal base for some fabulous walks, the climb over to Langdale being particularly enjoyable - it was bliss to sink in to the hot tub on our return. We were lucky with the weather, but it is worth noting that guests at Dale Lodge have full use of all leisure facilities at Langdale Spa, should the Lakeland rain start to fall. We ate in Tweedie's Bar, which is attached to the hotel, both evenings. The food was delicious and plentiful, they are more than happy to modify dishes on request. It is incredibly popular in the summer, we were there on a Monday and Tuesday evening and people who had not booked were being turned away it was so full. Not our first visit to Grasmere, but our first to Dale Lodge, hopefully not our last.

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for a news room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janice36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    152
    70
    30
    22
See reviews for
63
328
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Great location in centre of village. Rooms brilliant with very comfortable bed,and sofa. Tweedies the on site pub was fabulous - super food - the chilie burger fantastic, the chips amazing! Just what you needed after a hard days hiking! Service was attentive and staff were friendly and helpful. Great variety of food and drink and had my first ever Japanese whiskey! Or is it whisky? We went with friends and haven't laughed so much for a long time - Dale Lodge helped create the perfect backdrop for a fun time!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanHumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

So, you go to the Lake District for walking, right? Well, if you stay at the Dale Lodge Hotel, don't plan on getting an early start on your walks. The hotel serves breakfast 8:30 to 9:30, but don't plan on getting a quick breakfast and hitting the footpaths by 9. The breakfast staff must have been trained by engineers. The modus operandi is to take the entire order for one table, including the tea and coffee order, ignore every one of the 11 other tables, disappear into the kitchen for several minutes (we suspect the waitress was cooking the breakfast order), reappear with the coffee and tea, disappear again, reappear some time later with the cooked breakfast, then go to the next table to take the order. One day we skipped breakfast, notified the staff that we would not be a breakfast the night before, but we were still charged full price for breakfast upon checkout. For the amount this hotel charges, there should be better breakfast service.

Room Tip: Choose the deluxe double room; the twin rooms are the size of a low-grade cruise cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel came up on search engines when looking for a good hotel to spend a few nights in while on a walking / relaxing break. Various sites had the prices fluctuating so I rang the hotel direct and booked a "Luxury" room (advertised at £130) for £110 B&B.

The Lodge is a nice big house in it's own grounds and looked promising on arival. Decent reception, friendly member of staff made check in simple and showed us to Room 8.

Keeping in mind this is a "luxury" room, it was very dissapointing. I have stayed in "Standard" rooms that had more going for them and I would have labeled this room as "Basic". No writing paper, Buscuits provided on the first night only (despite being assured we would have them the next morning when mentioned to the receptionist). Squashed flies on thewall, broken window and would not stay open without a piece of wood (supplied) and looked out over a noisy beer garden.

The cleaner must have ignored the squashed dragon flies that occupied the walls throughout our stay and we left them unmentioned to see if they would be cleared but to no avail. The same can be said for the insect graveyard around the window in the guest lounge.

On the face, the room hotel was clean but you don't have to look far for mould and uncleaned areas and I would bet the rooms and common areas have not been deep cleaned in years.

The hotel has the usual boasts of certificates with acreditations but as a member of the public who understands basic cleanliness and what a guest should expect, I would like to know how they got them.

Breakfast was a flat affair. A makeshift buffet of unchilled tinned fruit, a few cereals, an odd sliver of cold ham with a few chunks of cheese, warm milk all set on a counter, akin to a self service 1920's school canteen type of layout.

The cooked food was nice though. Salmon and Scrambled egg was my favourite and no complaints with that athough the breakfast on its own would set you back £15. Way to much for what you get.

We didn't try the menu at the hotel for one simple reason. Too expensive. I am all for paying good money for good food in nice surroundings but the cost was way above other eating establishments in the village.

The one saving grace for Dale Lodge is that it is in the middle of a natural beauty spot. If it were anywhere else it would show itself up for what it is, A basic overpriced hotel that I would not expect to pay more than £80 a room for, let alone the advertised £130

A shame as the house and grounds are lovely but the management and set up are not worth the cost and the room was very disapointing. I assume if this is the standard of a "Luxury" room, then the others are well below their advertised par.

Lots of other rated Hotels in the area, many with "vacancy" signs hanging so if you are thinking of staying at Dale Lodge, Just book for one night to give yourself an option of moving a few yards accross the village to a hotel that seems to live up to its standard. I wish I had.

Room Tip: Room 8 is advertised as a "Luxury" room. At best I would describe it as basic, not even st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have stayed at Dale Lodge several times and have always enjoyed it. This time we did enjoy it but the room(14) was small and definitely over priced. We paid £130 B&B and as regular B&B users we would usually pay about £80 for a room of better size than this. Had to move a chair to get around the bed and to open the wardrobe. Toiletries and coffee making facilities were however very good. Speed of service at Tweedies was better than previous visits and as always the food was excellent. When asked if we had enjoyed our stay by the man who I presume was the owner, we politely said that we were disappointed with the size and cost of the room. Sadly he chose to totally ignore our comments and decided to talk about the weather! If we were told in advance that the room would be small then we would have accepted it at a cheaper rate. We may think about going back in one of the better rooms but hopefully they will have someone more pleasant on reception.

Room Tip: Check which room you have been allocated before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris2096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had a wonderful relaxing break here for three days in August. Ideal location, wonderful hotel, very well-equipped and comfy rooms, lovely bathroom with Molton and Brown accessories. Ate in Tweedies bar twice - delicious food and excellent service. This is our second visit and we will definitely visit again. Would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cMac502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last minute recently with my partner. Yes I agree that this hotel seems over priced but we stayed in a fantastic room with good views. The staff could not help enough and we just love Tweedies bar for food and drink. We had breakfast in our room which was lovely. A minor point is that I thought the bathroom, whilst nice, was in need of a refurb to the standard of the bedroom. However, we have booked to go back and love this part of the country.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brottonbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,429 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,180 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
828 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lancrigg Hotel
The Lancrigg Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dale Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dale Lodge Hotel

Property: Dale Lodge Hotel
Address: Red Bank Road, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dale Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dale Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dale Hotel Grasmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing