We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Welcome, Enjoyable”
Review of Dale Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dale Lodge Hotel
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Welcome, Enjoyable”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Nice welcome on arrival, room was sufficient for our needs and was an added bonus that we could eat here too - dessert was delightful. Had a little walk out after dinner which was nice, nice surroundings and a pub nearby. My only downside to my stay here was that in the morning when we were getting sorted and tried to check out, the staff seemed flustered and rushed and we felt a little in the way.. but perhaps just a very busy morning for them. Other than this, couldnt complain at anything and it was a great stay overall.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    152
    70
    30
    22
See reviews for
63
326
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Arrived around 5pm on Saturday, checked in promptly by a polite lady who then walked us over to our room which was one of the mews rooms to the rear of the property. She explained how the heating worked and left us to unpack. The room was compact but very clean, robes and slippers were included, there was a big widescreen tv downstairs and a smaller one upstairs, lovely fluffy towels and nice bathroom products. On our return from walking up Fairfield on Sunday it was fantastic to be able to jump in the hot tub to which the 4 mews rooms have access - we had it to ourselves and it certainly helped to sooth our tired legs. We ate in the restaurant in the hotel on Saturday and although the food was excellent it took a tad too long to arrive. There were only 2 staff serving a full restaurant and covering the reception and we felt that being a Bank Holiday Saturday with a full restaurant ( and a full Tweedys Bar) it would have helped to have more staff in the kitchen/serving, No such delays occurred with the breakfast which was cooked to order and was very nice. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our weekend (helped by the gorgeous weather) and would not hesitate to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzi90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Spent a weekend visiting friends and was recommended this hotel because of the amazing food. The food was brilliant and also the customer service was top notch. The rooms were lovely and cosy and the lounges too. Really recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruthy236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2013

A very friendly country Hotel. With clean rooms and good facilities.
We stayed in what would be classed as a disabled access room on the ground floor so the room was very spacious.
We ate in the restaurant on one evening and the food and service were superb. Also there is a great bar at the back of the hotel, with a fantastic range of real ales, cider and perry. Try the Tweedies Bat, 3 x 1/3 pint glasses of beers of your choice for the price of a pint, all served in a wooden bat for ease of carrying.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and we will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leos91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat land
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We had visited this bar and restaurant many times before but had never stayed in the hotel ,therefore we were confident of a pleasant stay , we were not disappointed.
Food was the same high standard in Tweedies and breakfast in the hotel was superb , the staff were all extremely polite and friendly.
Our only negative comment is regarding the bed in room 11 , I am curious to know if this has been recently installed as I do not see any comments on this subject.
As a walker I prefer a firm bed and the one in question here was low. soft and one could feel the springing.
Otherwise an excellent stay in a superb hotel.

Room Tip: 10 and 11 are quiet with great views, ask to check the beds first though
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfapair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Lovely little gem of a hotel in Grassmere. Staff are always helpful and the restaurant and hotel tastefully furnished. Tweedies bar is a real pub attached to the hotel with a great atmosphere and real ales. The food in the restaurant and bar is superb. Have stayed before and will continue to visit when we are in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly4138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

what can i say on arrival i was met by vickie shown to my room and she was very helpful suggesting walks in grasmere for us after a good nights sleep we went for breakfast what a treat u could have any choice of eggs service was fas and efficient
we dined in the restaurant and the trio of fish was the best we had ever had(the trio of chocolate dessert was even better) my other half disagrees Allison was really helpful recommend a really nice wine and tut tut made us delicious liquer coffees on check out craig helped us pack our eventhough he was obviously busy but all with a smile
my only gripe about this hotel is we only booked for 2days not long enough the owners must be proud of there staff

Room Tip: room 8 beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lankys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lancrigg Hotel
The Lancrigg Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dale Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dale Lodge Hotel

Property: Dale Lodge Hotel
Address: Red Bank Road, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dale Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dale Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dale Hotel Grasmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing