We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality food at bargain prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lucia's

Lucia's
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Cash Only, Street Parking, Takeout
Description: We are a family run bakery/takeaway serving quality, locally roasted coffee, tea and hot chocolate as well as refreshing cold drinks. We make ourselves fresh daily: Cumberland sausage rolls with local butchers meat, vegetarian pasties such as spinach and goat's cheese, sweet pepper and onion and cheese and onion. We also prepare a small selection of sandwiches every morning as well as many delicious traybakes and sweet pastries.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quality food at bargain prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

I've been here a couple of times now, and each time the foods been really good and inexpensive. The coffees good too. It's a tiny little takeaway but manages to produce a good variety of food and drink. I don't know how they do it! There is nowhere to sit indoors, but there's plenty of room across the road on the village green, where there are lots of benches and seating areas.
Then tonight, we went to a gig in Troutbeck for which Lucias did the catering and it was just as good there. I believe all the cakes are home made too.
If ever you're in Grasmere, get to Lucias, you won't regret it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CumbrianFellwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewlu, Owner at Lucia's, responded to this review, May 10, 2015
Thank you for your kind review! Glad you enjoyed our food both in our shop and at the gig! And yes, our cakes are homemade! See you next time :)
Lucia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    25
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
377 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great lattes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

This was a great place for a latte. We had good service and a good drink. The woman working there was very friendly.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ellen4719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewlu, Owner at Lucia's, responded to this review, May 10, 2015
Thank you for your review! Glad you enjoyed your coffees - I love making coffee so it's always great to hear when they have been enjoyed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Takeaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

We called at Lucia's twice during our stay in Grasmere. Small but a good selection of ideal things to take on a walk for a treat, the sausage rolls were tasty and homemade, as well as the normal rolls etc. It was nice that it was a local young lady who the business belongs to, she was polite and friendly. The homemade products were tasty. We called on the way back from a walk for a cake, chocolate brownie and a ginger cake, both very tasty. Highly recommend to call in. It was handy that she was open early.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PARKER26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewlu, Owner at Lucia's, responded to this review, May 10, 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words! Glad to hear you enjoyed your picnic whilst out on a walk and your well deserved cakes on your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Walked past this place as they were opening and the smell of the baking drew us in. Their coffee and muffins are great for a breakfast pick me up, also really nice iced coffees (with soya milk!) great on a hot day after a long walk.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elinor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewlu, Owner at Lucia's, responded to this review, May 10, 2015
Thank you for your lovely review! Glad to hear the smell of fresh baking enticed you in and that you enjoyed your coffee, muffins and iced coffees!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic every time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Every time I come to the Lake District from Manchester I come to this place. Run by the friendliest staff their selection of cold drinks is great and I always by a Ginge crunch for the road home! Every time I come in they seem to be baking sausage rolls and it's worth waiting for them to come out the oven!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Francesca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewlu, Owner at Lucia's, responded to this review, May 10, 2015
Thank you for your kind review! I love our selection of cold drinks too - I try to provide drinks that you don't find everywhere (coke, sprite etc!) and enjoy finding new ones to try. Also glad to enjoyed the ginger crunch - it's my favourite too! See you next time you're back from Manchester :)
Lucia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucia's also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to Lucia's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing