We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ear Defenders Required in the Outside Eating Area @ The Potting Shed Cafe”

The Potting Shed Cafe
Ranked #16 of 45 Restaurants in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, Healthy
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Ear Defenders Required in the Outside Eating Area @ The Potting Shed Cafe”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

On our recent afternoon visit ( 29th August 2013 ) we sat outside to enjoy the fine weather at the same time to consume our tea's & food, only to be beset by a Garden Centre Member of Staff using a deafening Petrol powered Grass Strimmer just 5 meters away from our seating & table. These ignorant actions showed a total disregard for Customer Comfort, Safety and Wellbeing, the Operative himself on the other hand being fully protected with Safety Headwear to protect from 100 db plus noise. As no protection is offered to Customers and together with the unfriendly attitude of Serving Staff, we will dine elsewhere in future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alanpolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    75
    32
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
152 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great service, good food”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is a clean, well attended restaurant right in the heart of Grasmere. It's well worth a stop, easy to find, shopping right there.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank raberdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rude customers and Manager”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This place claims to be dog friendly, however when my very well behaved dogs were being hand fed small pieces of dry dog food under the table a customer at the next table told me I should not feed them. In the Lakes many places give dogs biscuits because it is so dog friendly. When I told the customer I wasn't doing anything wrong and it was nothing to do with her she got the manager who supported her. However another member of staff told my friend at the counter there is no problem feeding dogs in the cafe (its not like we had wet dog food in a bowl). We left and found a real dog friendly cafe, better menu and better service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LancsJooles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
192 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“coffee and cake”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

lovely slice of lemon cake - coffee was good but cup seemed a litle small. Lovely outdoor seating area - however I must agree with others about the brusque service and lack of smiles :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MidlandsMoaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Cold or Hot Stopover...”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great views from the outside seating area. Close to local attractions and a nice break to sip cold beer or hot drinks en route to those tiring walks.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pranab B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Potting Shed Cafe also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to The Potting Shed Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing