We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,136)
Filter reviews
2,136 results
Traveler rating
1,200
514
265
105
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,200
514
265
105
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa lake view roomafternoon teasenior suitesteam roommolton brown toiletrieslake districtsitting roombuffet stylebeautiful hotelseparate showerhuge beddove cottagereception arearestaurant managersconesbirthday treathigh standard
Filter
Updating list...
647 - 652 of 2,136 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2017

My fiancee and I visited the Daffodil in December 2016 for 2 nights to chill out before a particularly hectic Christmas for us. We opted to book a lake view suite (room 327) and were very impressed with the room. We don't often book suites as we don't often need a lot of space, but wanted to treat ourselves (and have somewhere to retreat to given the typical December weather in the lakes!).

We loved the amount of space in the room and the attention to detail (Molton Brown toiletries for example) which makes the Daffodil feel really premium. Not long after we'd checked in we were getting changed and heading down to the spa - which is fantastic. Even if you're not booking a treatment, the pool area is very relaxing and the jets around various stations in the pool make it a lot more interesting than your typical pool or jacuzzi. The steam room and sauna are great and on the whole, it's a fantastic place to relax on an afternoon before dinner or to wake you up first thing on a morning.

The hotel itself is in a terrific location as Grasmere is just a 5 minute walk. We opted to head to Ambleside one evening (3 miles away) and walked into Grasmere the next. We also did a few walks straight from the hotel and it was refreshing to be able to park up and not worry about having to drive anywhere or get parked. The location was perfect for us.

I couldn't complete a review without mentioning the fantastic staff. Everyone we met at the Daffodil was professional, polite and friendly. In a hotel, you can't really ask for any more. From the moment I made the booking to the moment we left, the staff were attentive, enthusiastic and committed to make sure we enjoyed our stay.

We can't recommend the Daffodil enough and will be making another reservation soon (potentially for our mini-moon).

Thank you for a great experience.

Room Tip: Opt for a lake view room - you'll not regret it.
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank AJThirlwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2017

This is our favourite hotel for a short break. The rooms are modern and stylish, the views are superb of the fells or the lake, and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. The spa and hydrotherapy pool give you somewhere to be pampered even if the weather outside doesn't way to play nicely (always a risk in the Lake District). Access to the pool, sauna and steam room is free, there are also treatments available at extra cost - we had the Rassoul mud wrap which was fab! Look out for special spa offers out of high season. You can also book into the spa as a day guest - a group of ladies spent the morning in the spa and then had afternoon tea.

The food at the Daffodil is really excellent, and very good value. If you want to push the boat out, try the tasting menu, which we had on one evening and which was truly superb. Another day we had the afternoon tea - with a bit of notice, the chef can arrange replacements for anything you can't eat (for my partner he replaced the elements which contained dried fruit in the Christmas version of afternoon tea which they were serving when we went). Apparently they do a diabetic-friendly version as well. Note: make sure you are hungry, and don't expect to eat more than a snack in the evening!

The Daffodil was closed for some months following the disastrous floods of December 2015, but it's even better after the refit - the foyer and downstairs bar is very swish indeed! Altogether a very classy establishment.

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheMapSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2017 via mobile

We had our wedding at the daffodil on 7th Jan and wanted to write a review to reflect the hotel and service we received. All staff were attentive and so friendly and couldn't do enough for us and our family. Our room was large and spacious, with a balcony looking out to the lake which was lovely. We sat and watched sunrise on Sunday and it was so peaceful around the lake. The bed was massive, and so comfortable. The bathroom was nice with a large bath and separate shower, and everywhere was spotlessly clean.
The food was lovely at both our evening meal and breakfast. We visited the spa area, and it was so nice the day after to have some peace and quiet in the lovely jacuzzi pool and sauna / steam. The area was clean, modern and really relaxing.
I can't complement this hotel and the staff enough, all of our family intend to return to stay again and all said how impressed they were. We are already looking to book another stay on our own at some point during spring or summer and I think this will now be our favourite place for weekend breaks. Also- make sure you visit the village which is 5 mins walk if that, and get some fresh gingerbread!!

Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
3  Thank SuzieB84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2017

Tried for a 4 days to try and make an Afternoon reservation. Rang repeatedly, left a voicemail for them to get back to be to get a reservation, used the booking form online and didn't have a response from either no response from either!!
Finally got through and spoke to some one to find the date was fully booked.
Disappointing!

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank staceyag25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2017 via mobile

Just spent a very enjoyable two nights at the Daffodil on a BBD basis. The ambience throughout is light, spacious, modern and minimalist, yet with plenty of character thanks to the colourful swirly carpets and interesting and quirky artwork everywhere. We had booked a valley view room, not thinking it worth the extra for a lake view given the weather and time of year, and were pleased to see, once the fog had lifted, that we had a view of the lake anyway! The bed was comfy and huge, the bathroom had a large bath and very good separate shower, and the Molton Brown toiletries were an added touch of luxury.
We thought the food quality at both dinner and breakfast extremely good, although we were surprised to be told that four main course options were unavailable on the second night - not really acceptable. While we found the staff and service throughout generally very good, we were amused at dinner on the second night when one of one of the waiters was offhand to the point of throwing down our plates so that they literally rattled on landing! We really enjoyed the spa facilities including thermal pool with massage jets, huge steam room and sauna, all spotlessly clean as were the changing rooms. All in all would highly recommend this hotel for a weekend getaway.

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews