We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Breakfast!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed in The Daffodil Hotel last weekend as a treat to get away from it all. Our room was overlooking the road with a side view of the Lake, the room was very nice with a massive comfy bed and a very modern bathroom, on a negative side the heating was realy noisy and the wardrobes looked nice but were not very practical.We used the Spa which was fantastic and very relaxing. Breakfast was the best part, delicious and plenty of choice, although I do think that for the money we paid for 2 nights toast should be served to your table.
We forgot to book for dinner on the Saturday night but decided to see if they could squeeze the 2 of us in unfortunately we were informed that they could but we would have to wait 50 mins! If there had been a nice bar area to sit in we would have waited but as there are only 5 bar stools round the bar (we had a drink the previous night) we decided to pass. Overall we had a lovely weekend and would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helensmith135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,870)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,376 - 1,382 of 1,870 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

After our amazing wedding in Bonnie Scotland my new husband and I decided to arrange a last minute minimoon to the gorgeous village of Grasmere. After using our trusted friend Trip Advisor we chose The Daffodil Hotel. A quick call to the hotel resulted in a bit of a deal and yes it may not be cheapest option for a stay but we were impressed by their interest in the fact we had just got married and the little extras they gave us. This included an upgrade to a senior suite, extra monies towards an evening meal and a little bit of bubbly in the room.
On arrival to the hotel we booked in for the 2 day stay. Quick and friendly check in, plenty of parking and yes the hotel is modern but it is decorated to a high standard.
Now the room. We had a lakeside view and boy it was breathtaking. The room is huge, the bed is huge and the bathroom is obscenely huge. Appreciated the lovely card that had been written for us congratulating us on our marriage. After drinking the champers we went down for lunch. This was really good. Can recommend the sandwiches and fries ( plenty even for a hearty appetite) and very reasonably priced. We had a lovely 3 course meal in the restaurant although we did have a long wait for the main course and had to remind the staff and to be honest we weren't the only diners who complained( which is the only reason this hotel did not get 5 blobs).
Breakfast is one of the best we have had with fantastic quality and choice accompanied by attentive and friendly staff.
I slept like a baby in the bed. I don't know what mattresses they use but may need to find out as they were fantastic.
We can recommend this hotel if you are looking for a romantic getaway and don't mind pushing the boat out a bit. Well worth it. We will be back for our first anniversary I hope

Room Tip: It really is worth upgrading to a senior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stillo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed in a superior room with an oblique view of the lake. We were very happy that it was so peaceful and quiet.The bed was huge and very comfortable and the bathroom was luxurious as you would expect for the price we paid. The room itself was very banal though and not very different to a premier inn room.The rest of the hotel was strange - trying to be modern but not really pulling it off. The public areas were just soulless and lifeless with no atmosphere.We couldn't work out how a hotel with such a fabulous location could manage to fail to use the views to its advantage. In the sitting room the curtains were fixed in the middle of the windows so that you couldn't push them to either side and get a decent panorama of the lake.Poor design and poor planning.
In spite of the above we had a great stay. The food in the restaurant was very good, the staff were very pleasant and welcoming although the service in the restaurant was a little haphazard. Breakfast had everything you need and was calm and relaxed.
We will certainly return to this area as it really is beautiful - the autumn colours were stunning in spite of the atrocious weather! We will probably seek out a traditional country house though. I wouldn't rule out returning to the Daffodil if I could get a cheaper rate. It wasn't worth what we paid.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AltrinchamJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here this weekend. It wasn't too difficult to find especially since the a66 was shut, it was pitch black, torrential rain and we still managed to find it!we stayed in a beautiful superior room which had everything we needed. The hotel was very clean and the staff were all so friendly! The thermal pool was a luxury too. The staff in the restaurant were wonderful (especially the man who I presume was the manager of the restaurant) he made us feel very welcome and made the whole experience very memorable! I would definitely go back again as a treat.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allyballyswally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

You will not find log fires and squashy sofas here- the decor is totally soulless . Very form and function, and lacking any atmosphere. The 'lounge' is like an airport waiting room, as is the entrance hall. We were completely disappointed. We live in a very 'Philip Stark' house ourselves, so we like modern, but this was Not at all luxurious. For such an expensive Hotel I was quite shocked at the polystyrene ceiling tiles in the corridors, it gave the feeling of being in a hospital or school rather than a Hotel. Made worse by the walls being painted a rather bilious shade of brown!. On a positive note- the beds were comfy and the spa was good. The staff were pleasant, and professional. If you are on a business trip- this would be perfect- but be warned -if you are wanting a luxury stay in a 5* country house hotel - this is definitely Not for you! We were desperately disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hazel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay in the Daffodil Hotel. Despite atrocious weather we had a fabulous time. The hotel is immaculate in the public areas and in the bedrooms. We has a large comfortable room with all of the amenities you would expect in a four star hotel. We had dinner in the restaurant on the first night of our stay which was first class with a varied choice of dishes. The breakfast was excellent and the staff worked hard to ensure a high standard of service. We used the spa every day and it was a welcome retreat after a very wet walk to Easedale Tarn!
Highly recommended - we will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We got a good deal through (I won't tell you in case everyone goes there and spoils it!) and wow -it was fantastic! The rooms are lovely (make sure you don't concentrate on the carpet pattern too much if you've had an extra shandy!) the meal (in with the deal) on the first night was very disappointing. I complained and the situation was dealt with so I don't feel the need to tell you about it because on the second night we had a fabulous meal. The spa is magnificent ! When you walk in and see it you think it is just a small pool ................but then the hydro starts - there are jets to massage you're shoulders; a wee whirlpool come jacuzzi ; beds built into the pool where you can have a therapeutic massage and the usual jets around the outside. It has the biggest steam room I've ever been in and a more than adequate sauna. Fab - wish I was there now! :))

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
6.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
17.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
8.5 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
1.5 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,436 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#6 of 14 in Grasmere
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daffodil Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daffodil Hotel & Spa

Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9PR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Price Range: $158 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daffodil Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Grasmere Water, The Daffodil Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of the Lake District. Surrounded by stunning Lakeland scenery, The Daffodil is the Lake District's newest luxury hotel. The hotel reopened in July 2012 after a major redevelopment which has resulted in 78 new bedrooms including 14 luxury Suites, a Spa with thermal suite, extensive function rooms and a lake facing restaurant serving fantastic British food with a contemporary twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Daffodil Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing