We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient location for short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
north east
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“convenient location for short stay”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed here with a Travelsupermarket deal. Found the hotel to be very well situated, very clean & staff were particularly pleasant & helpful.We stayed in Room 220 which we found to be noisy with a nearby air conditioning unit which really did spoil our first night's sleep. When we asked if it were possible to be moved the receptionist was very helpful. As people were booking out at the time she asked us to give her an hour. Well within that time she arranged for us to be moved to a quieter room where we had a good nights sleep!!Rooms are spacious, beds extremely big & comfortable.Bathroom excellent .
We ate in one of the nights & found the food to be of a high standard. Breakfasr the first day was extremely good, the second day, the choice was still immense but the self service hot table food could have been a bit hotter. There were significantly more people staying our second night so I guess that accounts for it- so.... stay mid week perhaps??
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our break .
Hubby's response was similar to mine except to say that he would prefer a more "Pubby type " environment. This is now a modern, boutique type hotel, not your usual Lake District hotel.
I really appreciated the newness& little luxuries though.

Room Tip: Room 220 noisy with nearby Airconditioning unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2travelNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    987
    436
    209
    77
    36
See reviews for
209
1,187
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Due to the really bad weather conditions i live 3 hours drive on a nice day tried to rearrange our nites stay and the customer services person was not helpful at all. They keep saying the same things over and over. And then asked me if i would like to cancell so they can resell the room at another price to let somebody down again. Very upset with all the experience with daffodil i really thought it was a 4star hotel for the good reasons but i would grade it at 1 star poor customer relations very rued too. So if u would like to experience 1star hotel daffodil is your best hotel to book.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 9stanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is a great base for a holiday in the Lakes, being right in the heart of things AND free parking. We walked up the Fells from the door of the hotel everyday. It's not a traditional cosy hotel with open fires but we loved the high standard of bathrooms and the spa was very good for relaxing sore muscles. The food was terrific, a special thanks to the chef for making up a delicious platter of freshly prepared fruit when I said I couldn't manage a pudding but would love a piece of fruit.

Room Tip: Our room had rather a quirky layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We booked this at the last minute, really, as a few day's break to celebrate a family birthday ( the Lake District won the discussion- over Paris- so glad it did!) There is nothing about this tastefully and beautifully restored/rebuilt hotel that is less than excellent. We were greeted in such a friendly manner, directed to our superb room with a view of the stunning lake and mountains ( as a birthday treat, we had been given a complimentary upgrade to the lake view room)and, immediately, settled into the warm and friendly atmosphere of this superb hotel. The room was exquisite, beautifully appointed, scrupulously clean and boasting Molten Brown toiletries; the bed was so comfortable.....and huge! Large TV, a bottle of water and very nice tea/coffee/biscuits facilities added to the ambience. Great thought has been given to the design of this hotel- it is stunning. Staff in every department ( from Manager to room attendants and cleaners) are 1st rate- efficient, extremely pleasant and, obviously, very happy in their work. It is rather like a large family than a commercial concern - and they make their guests feel so much at home, it's great! Food in the restaurant is excellent - we chose very different dishes and all of them were well-cooked and unobtrusively served piping hot. The seemingly ordinary-titled menu, we felt did not do justice to the standard that the chefs achieved, e.g.the Fish and Chips was a large piece of pure white fish in a crispy beer batter, served with gourmet chips, a little pot of mushy peas and "to die for" home-made caper-filled tartare sauce. Think you can afford to boast a bit more, chef! The desserts were incredible and the cheese and biscuits enough to "share". You will gather that we were so, so delighted with our stay.......and I haven't even mentioned the Spa which is Hollywood standard! Again, staff are very efficient and the treatments are excellent. This place is perfection - on the edge of one of the most beautiful lakes in Britain, a hotel and spa second to none with everything one could need for a splendid experience. You MUST go........ I'm about to book again!

Room Tip: Nothing to do with the room, but worth a mention.........Do take swimming gear -the spa area does no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuppenny42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Beautiful hotel, fantastic location, good food, excellent service. This was the start to our honeymoon, well worth the extra £100.00 for a lake view. Perfect.

Dealings with the hotel after, a big let down. The hotel swiped my credit card on booking in for the full room price, I completed the payment in full on day of departure. Two days later went to pay for our next hotel to find I had no credit. It transpires they had charged full cost plus were holding £298.00. This was not the issue, dealings with staff was disappointing, to say the least. I stated that I was in a hotel unable to pay and was informed I could only speak to reception, call terminated. Twenty minutes later, after the phone rang out, I made contact and spoke to the same person who took a message, forty minutes later reception contacted back (all this time I was in reception of the later hotel, trying to sort funds out. Eventually was called by the head of reception, unsympathetic and dismissive, who had sorted the issue, would I return, unsure.

Room Tip: Room 306 had two windows with a double aspect view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devina11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Just back from our second trip to the Daffodil Hotel and we can't wait to return again.

Our room (a lake view room) was not only luxurious and spacious but was also the perfect place to come back to after a long day at the lakes.

We dined in the hotel restaurant on both evenings and the food was great - we would especially recommend the goats cheese to start followed by the steak. There was also a good choice of both continental and full english breakfast on offer.

The staff were absolutely fantastic and were helpful wherever possible.

The spa is brilliant with a sauna, steam room and thermal pool with massage jets. We have not been for a treatment however are sure it would be first class.

We would definitely recommend staying at this hotel - it has something for everyone regardless of age.

Room Tip: We have stayed in both a valley view and lake view room and both are excellent - although it is nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTwoScots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Had Sunday lunch in the dining room and it was brilliant. Good food well cooked. Excallent attentive service but not over the top. Coffe in the lounge afterwards was very relaxing and the views are stunning. Maybe get to stay over another time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhotoG127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
6.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
8.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,362 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
843 reviews
17.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
18.0 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daffodil Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daffodil Hotel & Spa

Property: The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9PR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daffodil Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Grasmere Water, The Daffodil Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of the Lake District. Surrounded by stunning Lakeland scenery, The Daffodil is the Lake District's newest luxury hotel. The hotel reopened in July 2012 after a major redevelopment which has resulted in 78 new bedrooms including 14 luxury Suites, a Spa with thermal suite, extensive function rooms and a lake facing restaurant serving fantastic British food with a contemporary twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your The Daffodil Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing