We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay in the Lakes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Daffodil Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Gateshead
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in the Lakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay in the Daffodil Hotel & Spa and it was just wonderful. We were upgraded to a valley view room, it was very spacious, spotlessly clean and very modern. The bathroom was a good size with a separate shower and Molton Brown goodies which were lovely! We ate at the hotel on our second night and the food was delicious and very reasonably priced, as was the wine. Breakfast was excellent, everything you could possibly want and more. The thermal pool was great and the spa looked excellent, it was fully booked though so I couldn't try any treatments. The staff were very friendly and attentive, nothing was a bother. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatomcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    905
    392
    180
    63
    31
See reviews for
179
1,065
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Carron, Fakirk United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

This the best flower in the lake district, on the outskirts of Grasmere this hotel is a large bloom in the bouquet of the lake district. The rooms are large and modern the hotel has been renovated to the highest quality the beds are so comfy that it is hard to leave them to go out to the wonderful lakes. The hotel sits on the banks of Grasmere and the walks in the area are so good but after the long walks the spa in the hotel with its thermal pool is the best relaxation you can have. The food is very good and the staff in the bar and resturant are really good. This is one of he best hotels we have a short British break in can't wait to got back again. Keep up the good work!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at The Daffodil for a romantic weekend away later than we expected at 8.30 on a Friday evening. Our welcome was professional but there was nothing 'welcoming' about it. We were then told that we could only eat on the Saturday evening before 6.30 or after 9.30pm due to a large party; definitely not feeling welcome by this point. We then asked about dining that evening only to be told she would call us in our room if she could book us in.

The room itself was cold when we arrived as there is no heating without the key card and there was nothing special about it. We booked a lake view room and although it has a lake view the rest of it was very basic. Granted it had a big bed and all the essentals you need, but no home comforts or luxury. Very much like a premier inn only at least 3x the price.

The reception then called to say they could fit us in for dinner at 9.30. We wandered down to the bar for a pre-dinner drink and found a two-thirds empty restaurant and a soulless bar lacking any atmosphere. Even so we could only get a table at 9.30. Largely the food was mediocre at best and overpriced for what you were served. The initial table we were offered was in the midde of an empty restaurant and we asked to sit elsewhere as a result. The restaurant was more akin to a breakfast room or airport lounge and lacked any personality at all.

This is definitely the type of hotel I would expect in a city centre and not a weekend in the lakes. No cosy sitting rooms or open fires in sight and not what I would expect in the lakes. The owners have taken minimalism to an extreme and created a cold, soulless, very overpriced hotel. Would definitely not stay here again!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sjp995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have just spent two very enjoyable nights at the hotel. We had a lovely large corner room so had a lake view and a fell view. The bed was huge. The bathroom was interesting. There were automatic lights on the hand basin tap! They went on when the tap was on but it got confused and often stayed on all the time. The food was very good - quite simple but well put together and delicious. The bar was a non starter - basic kitchen type chairs and tables. The lounge was also a bit disappointing. The thermal pool was great.Lovely setting and the staff were very pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

My hubby treated me to a night away here in January this year. And the hotel was so beautiful. I love the lakes anytime of the year and this particular weekend saw the lakes covered in snow. The daffodil is a large slice of glamour and chic in this amazing natural setting. We had a junior suite and two huge picture windows looking over the lake and hills beyond. The pool and spa facilities were spotless and the staff very attentive. We ate in the restaurant and the food was really good for the price.
I have stayed in hotels around the world and must admit I prefer a larger hotel to a b&b personally but the staff were friendly and went out of the way to accommodate requests making you feel like you were in a small boutique hotel.
An amazing stay which left me revitalised by the hotel and its surroundings. Can't wait to go again (hint to hubby!)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We have just got back from the Daffodil Hotel. We stayed on the 12th and 13th of March 2013 for my 60th birthday, room 101 overlooking the patio and Lake.
First impressions of entering the hotels reception area was one of wow this nice and contempory and being met by the receptionist with a very nice hello and welcome.

We soon found the room as all the rooms are very well signed. The room was one of the largest rooms we have found in a hotel, and the bed definitely the largest we have ever seen. The bedroom was very clean, the large seating area and Bathroom immaculatly presented.

We had booked dinner at the hotel for both nights and we were not to be disapointed. The menu has a good enough choice for a short break or maybe longer.

Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice from cereals and full traditional breakfast. Further choices could also be made to order through the waiters.

Staff in the dining room were also very friendly.

The only fault I could find was when two of the cleaning staff walked through the dining room whilst we were at breakfast on the second morning with buckets of very strong disinfectant which immediately killed off the smell of the bacon.

The only fault I could find was at breakfast on the second morning when two of the cleaning staff walked through the middle of the dining room with buckets of disinfectant which overpowered the lovely smell of the bacon.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just back from celebrating my husband's 40th birthday at the Daffodil Hotel, and I can't praise it highly enough. When Sarah (bookings manager) found out it was Simon's birthday she very kindly upgraded us to a Junior Suite - a beautiful room with 3 huge windows overlooking the lake. The decor of the room was light, bright and airy - both the bedroom and bathroom were spotlessly clean. Little touches like good coffee in the room were an added bonus too. We'd booked on a dinner, bed & breakfast basis - and the allowance for our meals (£60 per night) was very generous and more than covered our meals. Food was delicious - well cooked, tasty local ingredients and not too "fancy" - just exactly what we wanted. Breakfast was delicious - and good to see locally-sourced ingredients here too. To top it all though... the spa is just amazing!! The thermal pool (the size of a swimming pool with the heat and bubbles of a jacuzzi) is wonderful - we went in the morning and it was so quiet that we had it all to ourselves. It was a little bit busier in the afternoons but always limited to a maximum of 20 people so never crowded. Friendly, helpful staff, good food, amazing spa, lovely room... basically, we just can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghEvieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
8.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
6.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
12.3 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,550 reviews
1.5 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daffodil Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daffodil Hotel & Spa

Property: The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9PR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daffodil Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Grasmere Water, The Daffodil Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of the Lake District. Surrounded by stunning Lakeland scenery, The Daffodil is the Lake District's newest luxury hotel. The hotel reopened in July 2012 after a major redevelopment which has resulted in 78 new bedrooms including 14 luxury Suites, a Spa with thermal suite, extensive function rooms and a lake facing restaurant serving fantastic British food with a contemporary twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Daffodil Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing