We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New but bland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed for one night in a room without a view. Oh, but the view of a scruffy 2 storey building (Staff accommodation?), air conditioning units and bins was not great! We assummed staff were using the building opposite and the windows directly overlooked our room, so we drew the dark curtains so no one could see us. This plunged the room into a cave-like atmosphere. The lighting in the room is all eco bulbs - gloom, gloom, gloom. No table or floor lamps to add some brightness. Thin net curtains are badly needed here. The room and bathroom are modern and tastefully done. The dinner menu did not excite, so we ate out. Breakfast in the morning was very busy, but the staff were very slow (tea and coffee arrived after we had eaten our food) and there were too many uncleared tables all around us. Poor training, no sign of anyone in charge, and staff unable to prioritise the tasks. When checking out I mentioned the awful view and was told that this building was due to be knocked down and was not being used. It would have been nice to have been informed of this on checking in. The reception and dining room both look unfinished as others have mentioned. We paid a low price for the awful room and the bed was great, large and so comfortable. It was OK for one night as we were passing through, but not a destination hotel yet.

Room Tip: Don't pick the room without a view - unless you are arriving late and leaving early. The A/C uni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gardenweed99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,863)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,808 - 1,814 of 1,864 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed for one night in the Molton Brown Suite. Greeting was a bit lacklustre. Had a couple of issues at first but they were quickly sorted out by management who went above and beyond to rectify - which was a nice surprise and really impacted on my opinion of the hotel.
Room was beautiful and bed was incredibly comfortable. Great steak in restaurant (although the burger also looked delicious) and spa was fab too. MB room had great spa/shower cubicle with lovely MB products.
Hotel is excellently situated with great views of the lake and you can easily walk into Grasmere.
All in all a great place to stay but for me it was the service (managment) that really stood out and made our stay a lovely one. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Molton Brown room was great for a treat but we didn't really use the living room. The spa cubicl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILOVEHOLSUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed for our 5th wedding anniversary. The hotel has been done out to a high standard. My husband would complain there were no sky sports, I however, would not. Lovely hotel and staff. The views of the lake are fantastic.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shellymcfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Room excellent, luxurious comfortable rooms, spotlessly clean. However, the service in the breakfast dining room every morning was terrible and the staff really let the hotel down. Tables were not cleared until after customers left which meant that if you were not an early bird you could end up in the bar area next to the toilets! Everyday we had slow service, forgotten to return with coffee, sitting near the toilets while 2 tables with lake view were full of dirty dishes. It was not understaffed.. the staff were just really slow, daydreaming or pretending to look busy. It is such a shame because the rooms, location, plush linens and beds and brand new bathrooms would otherwise be a 10/10. To the owners... your father had a dream and you followed his wishes. Please change your staff policy and set some standards for your waiting staff and you will have a first class hotel that your father would have been very proud of. Dont let a few lazy or poorly trained staff ruin your hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with exterior view. Even if you don't get a view of the lake you may get a wonde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KF300036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This hotel is in a beautiful location and looks very impressive from the outside.
The reception area is huge but soulless. We were initially ignored by the receptionist who continued to talk to a colleague whilst we waited to check in.
We arrived at 6.30 pm and were told that we could not book a table for dinner until 9.00 pm. We had already prepaid for our evening meal and felt that the dining room should be a little more flexible given that it is basically just a grill. We decided to go elsewhere to eat and to be fair we were given an appropriate refund.
We booked a suite with views across the lake, the view was more of a patio and a rather tatty area which will no doubt be improved once the landscaping has been completed .
The decor was clearly minimalist but had the feel of an Ikea showroom with no touches of comfort.
Although our bedroom was huge the wardrobe was tiny and just about big enough for a one or two night stay. We had to move the ironing board and iron to hang our clothes up.
The bed and seats were very comfortable but the seats could have done with some extra cushions. The bathroom was well laid out but the shower cubicle design meant that the floor became awash after using the shower. Some tissues and glasses in the bathroom would have been useful.
I felt that the Daffodil is the sort of hotel I would be sent to if attending a conference and lacks the character and ambience I expect from a hotel in The Lake District.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shaun55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just stayed here for two nights last week and this is a fabulous hotel. Location provides some fantastic views of the lake and a very short walk into grasmere. With being in the lakes there are numerous beautiful walks all over the place but I would recommend going to grasmere and then leaving towards red bank, taking the footpath down to the lake and then following the path past rydal cave to rydal hall where they serve wonderful cakes in the coffee shop and then back to grasmere by the "coffin route" about 6 miles in total.
Anyway, back to the hotel. Very modern and very clean with some fantastic views from a lot of the rooms, although not having a view really bothers me as I like to be out walking anyway. Good sized sitting room in the hotel for coffee and drinks again with wonderful views. Dining room is spacious and very pleasant, nice atmosphere and get down for dinner or breakfast early if you want a window seat! A lot of the grounds are still being landscaped but I knew that before I got there and it didn't detract from my stay, in fact it was interesting to see what was being done and will get me back next year to see how it shapes. Breakfast was spot on and the quality and selection of food on offer was fantastic.
We had dinner here on the second night and have to say that the chef here really knows his stuff. Quality of my steak was first class and I like my steak very rare. It was cooked perfectly and is possibly the best steak I've had. Good sized portions and quality on all 3 courses we had. My one piece of feedback would be that I felt that the dining room needs a top class restaurant manager to do the hotel and chef proud. Having worked in the industry for a number of years, whilst the waiting staff did a reasonable job it needed an experienced figurehead to orchestrate everything and really deliver to be one of the best hotels in the lakes. We had a bit of a wait in the bar before going for dinner as we were forgotten about and only when I prompted them did I get shown to the table, and whilst the service was far from being poor it wouldn't take a lot to deliver aa rosette and michelin star class service, as the food is already there.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank danpne69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The most luxurious hotel we have ever stayed in, ultra, ultra modern, clean lines, fabulous art on the walls (study the ones en route to the dining room, so very clever!)
Everything was excellent, from the room to the food, Good luck in the future, you certainly deserve it.

Room Tip: Obviously rooms with a Lake View are a bonus but even though our room didn't have much of a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bombingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
6.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
17.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
8.5 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,249 reviews
9.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
502 reviews
1.5 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daffodil Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daffodil Hotel & Spa

Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9PR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Price Range: $158 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daffodil Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Grasmere Water, The Daffodil Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of the Lake District. Surrounded by stunning Lakeland scenery, The Daffodil is the Lake District's newest luxury hotel. The hotel reopened in July 2012 after a major redevelopment which has resulted in 78 new bedrooms including 14 luxury Suites, a Spa with thermal suite, extensive function rooms and a lake facing restaurant serving fantastic British food with a contemporary twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Daffodil Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing