We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2012

we bought 2 nights bed and breakfast for £126.00 from KGB. what and absolute bargine. when we arrived i asked if it would be possable to have a room upgrade with a view of the valley. No problem. the view was amazing, the room was amazing, the bed was huge. Bathroom had bath and seperate shower. Molton brow products are complementray The staff very friendly. breakfast was also excellent. the spa was not open but we was made aware of this and it did not spoil our stay.I would highly recommend this hotel and would return. stunning location opposite dove cottage, wordsworth musium

Room Tip: dont be afraid to ask for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauline h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,935)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,919 - 1,925 of 1,935 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

This exceptional family hotel has just opened and is outstanding+ in a number of aspects. It is in a fantastic location. Grasmere is full of character and history. The hotel. is extremely safe with a huge car park. The staff team put the customer first and nothing is too much trouble for them. The modern rooms are spacious, new and have fantastic huge beds and bathrooms. Excellent shower!! The attention to detail ensures your room has everything you need and you will love the five star luxury and quality.....even the biscuits are incredible!
The breakfast was amazing and the food in this hotel is superb.Totally recommend.
An excellent hotel to stay in and I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Go for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Inspectorken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The location on the lake is incredible and the Hotel has the X factor. The Hotel has recently opened and is built and refurbished to a very high specification, the rooms are luxurious, the food in the restaurant was excellent and the staff were welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

What a wonderful hotel with the most beautiful views of Gramere lake. This very clean and comfortable hotel is so amazing with its newly refurbished and beautiful mix of modern and traditional interior design. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I must also say the rooms are first class and big as are the beds. Very large and very comfortable. The whole experience was a pleasure for us and 1st class as we would expect from a hotel of this stature. We are thinking about a wedding at this venue now!! and judging by the wonderful scenery and its position and 5 star interior it will be a great place to have it.

Room Tip: "Any room" is absolutely wonderful in this hotel with views of the lake and the valley...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul_sawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Just back from a 2 night stay in this brand new hotel in Gramere. It's clear a lot of money has been spent on this place and it shows through in the quality of everything you experience. I stayed in a spectacular room with views stretching across the lake.

The bar, the restaurant, the bedrooms, the spa area and the service from the staff was all immaculate.

The garden isn't finished yet but that didnt really matter given the hotels amazing location - literally fronting on to the lake it's an incredibly picturesque part of the world.

I'm looking forward to going back for more peaceful rest and relaxation and would wholeheartedly recommend this place without any hesitation. It's simply stunning.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COYKingstonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed at the Daffodil last night with friends, had an excellent dinner served by courteous staff and stayed in a fantastic modern spacious room with stunning views overlooking the lake, then woke to a hearty breakfast. Truly a five star experience. Can't wait to go back to try out the spa! Check out the wall art !!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Daffodil on its opening weekend for our friends wedding day. The hotel sits on the shore of the idyllic Grasmere and is a 5 minute walk from the popular tourist village of Grasmere. It is also within a 10-20 minute drive to Ambleside, Windermere and Keswick!

We had time for a look around the hotel and all the rooms are so beautiful, ours had a huge bay window with spectacular views across the lake. The bathroom was very spacious and beautifully finished. The swimming pool and spa looked amazing but unfortunately we didn't have time to use them.

The staff were friendly, happy and helpful and the food for the wedding was very tasty. We have already booked to visit again, my wife can't wait to use the beauty rooms and spa and I'm looking forward to eating in the new restaurant! We wish this new hotel all the best.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 230, one of the largest ones. There are suites available too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank SimonRobinson86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
6.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#6 of 14 in Grasmere
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,451 reviews
7 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,771 reviews
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daffodil Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daffodil Hotel & Spa

Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9PR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Price Range: $172 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daffodil Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Grasmere Water, The Daffodil Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of the Lake District. Surrounded by stunning Lakeland scenery, The Daffodil is the Lake District's newest luxury hotel. The hotel reopened in July 2012 after a major redevelopment which has resulted in 78 new bedrooms including 14 luxury Suites, a Spa with thermal suite, extensive function rooms and a lake facing restaurant serving fantastic British food with a contemporary twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Daffodil Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing