We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weird but great”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Faeryland

Faeryland
Ranked #12 of 20 things to do in Grasmere
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: World famous tea and coffee garden with romantic rowing boats for hire on the shore of gentle Grasmere.
South Shields UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Weird but great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Odd cups and saucers like your Gran owned, a mismatch of teapots, seats on the lake shore, ducks around your feet and a swan that tried to mug me for my scone.
This place is not to be missed in rain or shine

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keefbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    54
    18
    6
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“An excellent brew, a loo and a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

The weather was warm, dry and sunny. We had walked over from Chapelstile and were just ready for a brew, a loo and a view. What an excellent brew, a very welcome loo and a fabulous view! The cream scones were delicious. Lots of wildlife in and around the tea garden, including a Redstart. So good we even called in again a few days later.
Having seen the endless crocodliles of walkers throughout Grasmere, I was not surprised to find that an isolated cafe in a beauty spot like this would need to limit the free use of its facilities. The photos would be just as good if taken a few yards outside the small tea garden and the one and only loo would soon be overwhelmed. So if you want a pee, then buy a tea!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Niall C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Penshaw, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Hardly a Fairyland place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

It is a fair walk from Grasmere, along a very busy road. Did not appear to be very " Fairy " like. there is a Gypsy Caravan situated there but no Gypsy to tell your fortune. Service was a bit slow, but I suppose on a warm day it would be a nice spot to sit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank CoralDart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tea, cake and rowing on the lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We visited Grassmere and stopped here for a drink and cake by the lake. Only seating outside, so go on a sunny day, lovely sitting and watching the boats. We hired a boat for an hour and had great fun rowing around Grassmere Lake - would recommend a visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A beautiful place but no welcome”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

This unfortunately named place is a beautiful tea garden and boat hire place on the banks of Grasmere.

The rowing boats are well looked after and reasonably priced and the staff are friendly and helpful. The tea room offers cakes and a selection of teas but oddly only one savoury option and again, staff are helpful and prices are reasonable. I took my two children four an hour's rowing on the lake for £15 while my wife sat drinking tea and reading her book.

As mentioned in previous reviews however, this is not a place where one can feel very welcome.You are greeted with a sign asking you to place an order before taking any photos and the first thing you see at the service window is a sifn saying "We do not serve tap water". Numerous similar signs are in place reminding us that this a business and not a public park. This is understandable to a degree and the proprieters have the right to run their business as they wish. However, there is always a bit of give and take when running small businesses and good will can turn out to be a precious commodity in lean times.

This won't put me off returning to this beautiful place but not because I will feel that my return will be welcomed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
11 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Faeryland also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to Faeryland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing