We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place”
Review of Raise View House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Raise View House
Ranked #4 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I spent 4 nights in this wonderful bed and breakfast and really didn't want to leave. Felt welcome and at home the second I was greeted at the door by John.
Beautiful room with amazing views (especially after the snow) and a great breakfast that set me up for the day.
I have stayed in many bed and breakfasts but this is the best by far.
Thank you John and Karen for a most memorable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Owner at Raise View House, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Karen

It was our pleasure and what a generous and kind review. We always try and make our guests feel at home and we are so very lucky to have such lovely guests who make our job so much easier.
A litle snow fall always makes the scenery look even more amazing.

Hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes

John & Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 377 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2013

There's not really much to add to the reviews here except to say you really should believe the hype. John and Karen are perfect hosts and we very much enjoyed our first visit to the Lakes and to Raiseview house (which was recommended by a colleague at work). You'll get a fabulous breakfast and given some great ideas for things to do during your stay. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable and the village centre is a short walk away (with some great places to eat etc). I'd definitely recommend Raiseview and we'll be back I'm sure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penfoldio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Owner at Raise View House, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Penfoldio

Thank you for your kind words. We are always happy to help with suggestions on walks, places to eat especially first time visitors to the Lakes.
We are lucky in the village to have so many excellent places to eat all within walking distance so no need to use the car.
We really do appreciate your lovely comments with regard to how comfortable you found Raise View and how much you enjoyed our breakfasts.
Hope it's not the last time you will visit Grasmere.

Best wishes

John & Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Another milestone birthday at Raise View, my husband celebrated his 60th birthday with our close
friends and family which was a fantastic weekend, so we had to spend his 70th here too. John and Karen welcomed us with a bottle of champagne and made our stay one to remember. We were in
Helm Crag with a fabulous view of the fells. John, s breakfast was delicious and Karen made us very welcome in her beautiful home. Thanks to both of you. We look forward to our next visit in
January.

Room Tip: All rooms are a very high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LancashireRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Owner at Raise View House, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Lancashire Ranger

Thank you for deciding to stay at Raise View House to celebrate Alan's 70th Birthday. It only seems like the other day that you came to stay with your family and friends for Alan's 60th.
The bottle of Fizz was our pleasure and glad you enjoyed our breakfasts.

Helm Crag is such a very popular room and everyone comments on how wonderful the view is.

It was great ot see you again in January and we hope you don't leave it too long before you come and visit us again.

Best wishes

John & Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at raise view for three nights in the rothay room and had a great time.John and Karen are welcoming and friendly hosts and their b+b is in a fantastic location ,just a five minute stroll in to the village.rothay room was so cosy and a welcome retreat after a long day on the fells and the view from the room is fantastic. Overall a great stay cheers for everything ,
Ian and Anne

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Makbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Owner at Raise View House, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Ian & Ann

Thanks once again for staying with us. We really do appreciate it when guests return we are very lucky to have such wonderful repeat business.
Nothing is to far away in Grasmere and lots of guests say how much they enjoy the stroll into the village for something to eat or an evening walk.
All the views from the house are fantastic but the views from the back bedrooms up to Helm Crag and Far Easedale are rather special.
Hope to see you both again soon.
Best wishes
JJohn & Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Ideal place to stay just outside the centre of the village, décor and furnishings lovely. John and Karen made the 3 of us very welcome and accommodated my mobility needs.
Breakfast good mix of local produce well cooked.
Really good recommendations for evening meal and help booking table for our large group. Would recommend anybody to stay here, particularly good for couples and as my friend Debbie said - we were 3 walkers who enjoyed returning to comfortable accommodation. Good views across the hills from my bed!!
Thanks again for a great stay

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back with a view of the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Owner at Raise View House, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Lynda K

It was our pleasure having you and your friends stay with us and thank you for such a kind and considerate review.
It was a pity that you could not get out walking but pleased you found Raise View comfortable and relaxing.
We were more than happy to suggest places to eat it's never easy when there is a large group.

Many thanks once again.

John & Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

A beautiful place with amazing views and friendly, helpful hosts. The rooms are lovely and comfortable and tastefully furbished. The recommendations for local pubs and restaurants are very accurate. Breakfast was amazing and filled us up until tea time! I would definitely recommend a stay at Raise View House.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cath K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Owner at Raise View House, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Cath

It was so nice to have meet you and thank you once again for staying at Raise View House and also for your very kind review.
We are always happy to suggest places to eat and drink and are lucky that Grasmere has such excellent places for our guests to choose from.
Glad you also enjoyed our breakfast lots of guests say the same thing in as much as it keeps them going all day.

Hope to see you again.

Best wishes

John & Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

In over 20 yrs of visiting the Lake District we haven't found anywhere to beat the comfort and hospitality of Raise View. John & Karen are warm, welcoming and perfect hosts (v. helpful & chatty about the area). Staying in the Helm Crag room was simply lovely - beautiful decor, the most comfy bed and the view was picture perfect! The breakfasts were beautifully cooked, porridge scummy and the pack lunches a welcome convenience for walking. What was also nice is that the other guests too seemed very much at home, it seems quite a few return again and again - always a good sign! Combine this with its location in Grasmere it really is a fantastic place to stay. We hope to return in Feb we liked it so much.

Room Tip: Choose a room over looking Helm Crag - perfect way to start the day opening the curtains to this vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen_Adam2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Owner at Raise View House, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Adam & Helen

What very kind words it was such a pleasure having you stay with us and we also enjoyed your company as well.
Helm Crag is a very popular room and does enjoy the most magnificent view. Thank you also for your comments about our breakfast porridge is very popular especially in the Autumn and Winter months.
We are extremely fortunate to have lots of returning guests which always makes for a nice atmosphere in the dining room.
Looking forward very much to welocming you back to Raise View House in February.

Thank you once again for taking the trouble to write such a generous and warm review

Best wishes

John & Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.2 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
732 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#6 of 14 in Grasmere
1,580 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dale Lodge Hotel
Dale Lodge Hotel
#11 of 14 in Grasmere
522 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Grand at Grasmere
Grand at Grasmere
#2 of 14 in Grasmere
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raise View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raise View House

Address: White Bridge, Grasmere LA22 9RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range: $165 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raise View House is situated at the northern end of Grasmere, yet just five minutes' walk from the village centre. We enjoy uninterrupted views of the Easedale fells, including the famed Lion & the Lamb. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Raise View House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raise View House Hotel Grasmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing