We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Raise View House
Nearby Hotels
$246
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Travellers Rest Inn(Grasmere)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Oak Bank Hotel(Grasmere)
$163
$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
$134
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
$110
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
$164
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lancrigg(Grasmere)
$138
$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe(Grasmere)(Great Value!)
$43
$41
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (394)
Filter reviews
394 results
Traveler rating
365
25
3
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
365
25
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barhelm craglake districthouse is beautifulgreat hostsplace to stayguest houseguest loungepacked lunchlocal producestunning viewsset us up for the dayselection of cerealsshort walkcooked breakfastwonderful breakvisiting the lakes
Filter
Updating list...
221 - 226 of 394 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This was our first stay at Raise View and will not be our last after a thoroughly enjoyable 3 night break. Karen and John made us extremely welcome and are delightful and helpful hosts. Our Wordsworth bedroom was decorated and furnished beautifully and was always warm and welcoming. The Lakeland cooked breakfast is not to be missed! The guest lounge was a welcoming place to have an aperitif or nightcap from the honesty bar. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Owner at Raise View House, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Kenneth

It was a pleasure welcoming you to Raise View House for the first time and hopefully we will have the pleasure again in the future. Karen and I really appreciate your kind words and glad you enjoyed our Wordsworth room which is always popular with our guests.
They say breakfast is the most important meal of the day and the feedback from our guests is always good but it does help when you have such a great supply chain right on your door step like Freddie Garsides sausages in Ambleside it really is a great 'banger'
The guest lounge is a focal point for our guests to meet and chat about their days walks and exploring the Lakes and the honesty bar works really well....... glad you enjoyed it.

Until your next visit.

Best wishes

John & Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We've just got back from a 2 night stay with the lovely Karen and John at Raise View. Very comfortable room, the house is beautifully furnished and decorated, great breakfasts. It's all been said before! Very handy little parking area to the side of the house.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Wordsworth room, which has a king size bed and is at the front of the house.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoSquirrels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We booked at Raise View House with very high expectations following the many excellent reviews on this site, and found all the superlatives to be justified. The location is excellent - just a short walk from the centre of Grasmere and our room had a great view which over the four days we saw in all weathers! Karen and John are perfect hosts, attentive but not pushy and the breakfasts were among the best we have had. John and Karen are a mine of local information about the area, and clearly love what they do.It is hard to sdd to the chorus of praise for this lovely place and its hosts. We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheilallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We have stayed at Karen & John's Raise View B&B for several year. We had a couple of nights again this week, along with a couple on theri 21st wedding anniversary. The bedroom, decor, furnishings, & the views continue to be excellent.The food superb. Karen & John are the perfect, friendly, helpful hosts.
And being in Grasmere in the heart of The Lakes the walking (in all weathers as it was this week) was just the medicine needed. A wonderful break.

Room Tip: All rooms have wonderful views of the Fells
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Karen and John run the beautiful Raise View House in Grasmere. From the moment you are welcomed into their home it is obvious what perfect hosts they are - nothing is too much trouble
which is always very much appreciated. They will help in any way that they can.

The atmosphere is always friendly and informal and breakfast is freshly cooked and yummy.
All rooms are tastefully furnished and a credit to John and Karen.

Raise View is located in a super location just a few minutes stroll from a number of places to eat in the evening. We would without a doubt recommend The Jumble Room and Greens for excellent food and service. It is good to be looked after by such professional and pleasant staff.

Grasmere and Raise View House is our favourite place to stay, just like home from home.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LDBreakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews