We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (706)
Filter reviews
706 results
Traveler rating
489
112
52
37
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
489
112
52
37
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvegetarian foodvegetarian hoteleasedale tarnmeat eaterscountry houselake districtdining roomfour poster bedhelm cragpeace and quietopen firehotel groundsbeautiful surroundingsred squirrelsevening mealwonderful foodnew owners
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 706 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2018

Beautiful building.

But the manager, who said he was the owner, leaves lots of questions. Our stay was like a Monty Python skit.

First, the hotel had run out of soap. No problem, you would think, just go to the store and buy some. But this hotel had other ideas - they put patchouli oil in all the soap dispensers in the rooms. Have you ever tried to rinse patchouli oil from your hands?

We needed laundry done, since we were on a rest day from the Coast to Coast. We turned the laundry in as soon as we arrived, and were promised it would be done by morning. Next morning, no laundry. Noon, no laundry. That evening, we again asked and were told it would be soon, so my wife said, "Show me the facilities, and we'll do it ourselves." We were shown the washer in the storage area behind the kitchen. As an aside, the whole area, including the kitchen, was filthy, with seeming centuries of grime. Our laundry was in a line of others waiting to be done, so we checked the dryer. It was full of sopping wet clothes - the staff did not know to use the spin cycle on the washer, and were putting dripping clothes in the dryer. No wonder it took half a day to do one load. When we checked out, there was a twenty pound charge for laundry. I told the manager we had done it ourselves, and he replied, "Yes, with my equipment and my electricity."

Meals were slap dash. We asked for more toast at breakfast. Maybe it came, two hours later, but we had given up by then.

The staffing was laughably light. One person seemed to be trying to do everything, was harried to an extreme, and nothing got done. Nothing.

We could only laugh. The other response would have been to cry.

We talked to the manager/owner, and he frankly admitted that he under-staffed because he reckoned people would feel sorry for the staff and give better reviews than if he had a full staff of incompetent people. He said that in a review-driven economy, that was a smart move.

I guess it didn't work for him this time.

My advice would be to go elsewhere, unless you are just looking for some quirky comedy relief.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Burt867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancrigg, Owner at The Lancrigg, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Burt,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I will however point out a few things:

Patchouli oil was not put in all the soap dispensers, we actually use the Patchouli range by The Bath House. It is clearly marked on the bottles.

The day that you arrived we already had a number of Coast to Coast guests who were in the queue for laundry. If I remember correctly, you and your wife were fifth in waiting. Unfortunately you were not willing to wait in the queue and decided to do your own washing. This would still incur a charge, and is not something that we would normally allow as guests are not permitted in the areas staff are working in.

You visited us at the peak of the summer which is always a very busy time, I'm sorry that there was some waiting time and that is something that we are always working on reducing. I think that you have misinterpreted the manager's sense of humour somewhat, perhaps trying to bring some humour to a busy and understaffed period. Positive over negative is his motto.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2018

I hate to use a cliche, but The Lancrigg truly is a hidden gem. The location within walking distance of Grasmere village is secluded yet at the foot of amazing walks like Easdale Tarn and Helm Crag. We spent a wonderful weekend here in a lovely sized room that had fantastic views of the fells. The rooms are very traditional in style with some furniture from the original building which is a nice touch. It's not 'upscale' if that is what you are looking for, but very clean, comfortable and typically English Lakes - no complaints. It really felt like we were getting away from it all, and that feeling is not easy to find.

The staff were all so friendly and welcoming, we couldn't have asked for more. After a trek up the fells, we had dinner at the hotel - the pea & garlic Soup was superb but the Cumbrian Black Angus Sirloin was one of the best steaks we've eaten in some time! We finished with classic lemon tart with fresh raspberries - all exactly what we needed after the long walk. The waitress explained each dish to us and made sure we were happy throughout the meal without intruding on us. This hotel was formerly a vegetarian hotel, but no longer, so vegetarians should research before visiting, so they are not disappointed. Although they do offer a fantastic selection of vegetarian options on the menu. We had a comfortable night's sleep and headed off to the fells again after a delicious and filling Cumbrian full breakfast. Although there was a bit of a delay waiting for breakfast, when it is cooked fresh, we always expect this and enjoy a good coffee or tea whilst waiting, planning the day ahead. The views sitting outside also need a mention - breathtaking on a Summer's day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and make sure you also dine at the hotel!
  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EatSleep365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2018

We recently stayed here for 2 nights during the Coast to Coast walk -- and it proved to be such a lovely oasis during our adventure. We were greeted warmly, and shown to our spacious and beautifully appointed room -- king bed, sizable closet and bathroom with tub and shower. The location is superb: it is quiet, but an easy 5-7 minute walk from the center of Grasmere . . . and the views! We were lucky to be there on a sunny day, and it was difficult not to stare slack-jawed out the front door. Tables on the front lawn provide lovely places for tea or a pint -- sublime. The staff could not have done more for us -- they were just top-notch. Breakfast was the best on our 19-day trip -- there was something about the bacon which made it superb, and the breakfast and common rooms are simply delightful: spacious, airy, beautifully decorated. I would stay here again in a heartbeat, and recommend it unreservedly.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worldexplorer0820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2018 via mobile

This is the review my children (11 and 14) have written:
“They play the same song on repeat everyday (breakfast, lunch and dinner!) in the dining room and should have a wider variety of songs. The Wi-fi is not the best but it sometimes works, the rooms are nice and some of them are 2 floors! The food in the restaurant is too posh and the place is in the middle of nowhere. “

My more balanced review (!):
Very remote, some moments of wondering if my car would fit down the lanes leading to the hotel. Absolutely lovely staff! Restaurant food nice but quite expensive and menu does not cater for youngsters at all (although they did their best to be flexible and rustled up something for my youngest). And listening to “quizas quizas quizas” over every meal on repeat does not add to the atmosphere... a Spotify playlist is not a difficult thing to come by! Breakfast was nice - the pastries were fresh and delicious. Wi-fi is patchy.
It’s a beautiful house in beautiful grounds, rooms and lovely and it does have a certain charm - but if you have youngsters it’s probably not the place for you.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2018

On arriving at the "main" road entrance to the Lancrigg you should be aware there are no signs to show it's the entrance, the only signs are to Thorney How. The hotel is reached by a very rough track, so careful if you have low profile tyres!! Hotel is set within woods and has lovely open views over towards the nearby hills. It's a lovely peaceful location. It is walkable to Grasmere, although you might find it a bit of a challenge in the dark. Hotel rooms are of a decent size and the Dickens room we stayed in had views out over the front garden to the hills. Water, tea & coffee and freeview TV in the bedroom, and an assortment of soaps in the bathroom. No hair dryer. The room had a jazuzzi bath, and although we didn't use it, the people in the next room did so very late at night and it was quite noisey. There are signs there asking people not to use them after 10.30pm. We had a meal in the restaurant on the first of our two night stay there and had pasta off a menu of about 5 or 6 choices, which was very nice with decent portions. There's also a nice little separate bar and a sitting room as well as various places to sit out in the garden.
Nice choice at breakfast time, from full english down to croisson & yoghurt
All the staff were very friendly and helpful, creating a nice atmosphere.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank Stravinsky1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews