We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (706)
Filter reviews
706 results
Traveler rating
489
112
52
37
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
489
112
52
37
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvegetarian foodvegetarian hoteleasedale tarnmeat eaterscountry houselake districtdining roomfour poster bedhelm cragpeace and quietopen firehotel groundsbeautiful surroundingsred squirrelsevening mealwonderful foodnew owners
Filter
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 706 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2016

Lancrigg cannot be faulted - it's such a treat to go somewhere where all the food is vegetarian rather than a few frozen vegetarian options being stitched onto a menu consisting mainly of various forms of cooked flesh. And all the food here is fantastic - delicious and filling.
Lancrigg has what is possibly the best setting in the Lake District looking out over Easedale near Grasmere - you wake in the morning with just the sound of birds in the wood alongside the hotel, and in the distance the music of Sour Mill Ghyll waterfalls. You can walk straight from the hotel up into the hills without needing to see a road - and for us wild swimmers there's Easedale and Coledale tarns not very far away for a morning dip.
I've been coming to Lancrigg for over 30 years now - and the Rowan Tree before, a vegetarian cafe in Grasmere which Robert and Janet ran before taking over Lancrigg. I've always loved its quirky and creative flair, and the friendliness of the staff who are invariably as interesting as the history of the building.
Evenings round the roaring log fire chatting with the other guests, afternoon tea on the terrace looking out over fells, dinner in the beautiful and elegant dinging room - all are memories to be treasured.
But above all - and what will keep me coming back to Lancrigg for decades to come - is the fact that it is a hotel which makes vegetarians feel especially welcome rather than the awkward one at meal times, and where you can feel safe in the knowledge that your supper won't have a piece of some murdered animal added in by some meat eating chef assuming that the customers won't mind.
And a special extra treats - my dog was made as welcome as me.
Bravo for Lancrigg vegetarian country house hotel - paradise!

Room Tip: The ones at the front look out over the valley - lovely views
  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank DavidBurbidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2016

I have juts returned yesterday from an overnight stay with four friends which was superb. We were made to feel very welcome by the owner, Robert and all the staff. Having been shown to our rooms which were exceptionally clean and with the quirky expectations of a building of this age we were treated to tea / coffee in the very comfortable warm lounge with a lovely views out across the very extensive hotel grounds. An open fire was also lit soon after our arrival.
Dinner was delicious and a real treat to have such a wide range of vegetarian courses for myself and gluten-free choices for one of my friends. Breakfast the following morning was also delicious.
The staff throughout our stay could not have been more friendly or helpful.
An exceptional albeit too short a stay.

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gillian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2016

Located in a quiet spot just outside Grasmere. Many good walks right from the hotel. Easy to find if you follow instructions, do not rely on SatNav.
Set in large private woodland. Secluded and peaceful.
Each bedroom is unique. Choose carefully using their website photos.

It's a short, pleasant walk into Grasmere.

Bedrooms have a lived-in feel, with some shabby furniture and fittings. Do not expect everything to be brand-new, expect shabby-chic instead!

Staff are friendly and helpful. There is very little staff turnover, many have been there for some years and this is reflected in the genuine attention shown to clients.

Restaurant is excellent by every measure. Veg/vegan food only, with gluten-free options. All dishes are interesting, nutritious and tasty.
Breakfast is outstanding, with waitress service and great selection of dishes on offer. Yes, even breakfast is a-la-carte!

Relaxed atmosphere throughout the hotel.

Large lounge with log fire, many comfortable seats and great views over garden to fells beyond.

Stayed in Whittington room, large with lovely fell views. Bathroom small but adequate. Wifi has been upgraded, there was a wifi unit right by our room door and the signal was strong.
Room was very quiet. The only sound from outside was birdsong.

This hotel is a little costly but it is more than worth the extra. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose your room using their website photos and descriptions
  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jonni_B46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2016

Our first stay, it was great and I can't wait to go back. Staff were very friendly. It's so wonderful to have such a range of tasty vegan food to choose from. Great scenery, great drinks. Thank you Lancrigg.

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2016

Me and my partner stayed here at the weekend, we received a lovely welcome and our room (the wainwright, I believe) was a lovely two storey room with an amazing whirl pool bath and such a comfortable four poster bed.
The food was outstanding and it was so refreshing to be able to choose absolutely anything on the menu and to have such a variety.
The location is a little walk from the centre of Grasmere, but the scenery is beautiful and we spotted a lot of wildlife. Such a lovely place and well worth a stay!

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Fay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews