We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hotel excellent food”
Review of The Lancrigg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lancrigg Hotel
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2013

If you aren’t a vegetarian and the name of the hotel sounds slightly off putting then I think you may be missing out and should look in more detail at what Lancrigg has to offer, bearing in mind that there are plenty of alternatives close by in the centre of Grasmere if the excellent food at Lancrigg still isn’t quite enough to satisfy.

To reach Lancrigg take the Easdale Road opposite the bookshop and follow it until you see the gate immediately after a sharp right bend. If using a sat nav you may find it wants to take you up a minor road a little before this that leads around behind the private hostel at Thorny Howe. Although this will get you there the road is slower, narrower and in its final stretch rather rough and unsurfaced.

Once through the gate you follow the winding drive through some of the 30 acres of grounds associated with the hotel to find parking immediately outside. There is a little additional parking just before the last gateway, certainly enough on each of the occasions we’ve visited.
The location of the hotel is little short of ideal. Close enough to the village for a drive hardly worth making or a short and pleasant walk a large part of which can be made on a nice track paralleling the road. It is also directly below Helm Crag, one of the best and most easily tackled ascents in the immediate area and directly accessible from paths running through the trees in the grounds. This in itself will take you up to the well know Lion and the Lamb and the ridge leading over to Gibsons Knott. For longer distance walkers it also makes a good starting point for other routes and you can follow the tops past Easdale Fell to reach the likes of Pavey Ark and Pike O’ Blisco if you’re so inclined. As if this were not enough, your room, may well overlook the hills on the other side of Easedale Beck, looking directly across the valley, a view also visible from the dining room, the lounge or the seats outside where you can relax on warm summer days; unless you wish to enjoy a game of croquet on the lawn below. Stepping across the road from the end of the drive brings you to a small footbridge over the beck on the other side of which you will find yourself on the path leading directly up to Easdale Tarn, a lovely spot for a picnic and one of the favourite local walks – how good can it get? Well if you don’t want to go so far you can relax in the grounds taking in the collection of exotic trees, including giant redwoods, to be found here. In fact if you’re looking for a Lake District hotel I would venture to suggest that Lancrigg occupies one of the best if not the best location and it certainly explains why the house was so admired by the likes of Wordsworth, Coleridge and Dickens among others.

So what of the hotel itself? We stayed in the Wordsworth Room at the front of the hotel and found it extremely comfortable. The double bed gave a great night’s sleep, the furnishing was tasteful, the en suite bathroom up to date, the place immaculately clean and the view wonderful. If I wanted to be picky I could say that a few odd patches of the wallpaper here and there could do with a little attention but this really would be picky and highlights how far you would have to go to find fault. The lounge downstairs couldn’t be more comfortable or a more pleasant place to relax with a great Lake District view outside and the dining room next door is spacious, comfortable and a very pleasant place to enjoy what I feel sure you will agree is a great meal. The food here is not only vegetarian, you will find this to be one of the most thoughtful hotels anywhere if you are vegan or have special dietary requirements such as gluten intolerance. There is genuine care here with as much wholly organic produce as possible being used. Even ordering a coke brings an organic soft drink rather than the mass produced variety we’re all familiar with. As to quality I can only comment on the meals we’ve eaten there and would have to say that having visited a vegetarian restaurant run by one well known celebrity chef we found the food at Lancrigg to be undeniably better. You don’t need to be a resident to sample it so if you find yourself in Grasmere and whether or not you are a vegetarian I would recommend you to think about trying it.

Although we haven’t sampled them it is apparently possible to obtain professional nutritional advice, obtain a variety of massages, enjoy shiatsu or reiki and on occasion even receive a cookery lesson here. There are periodic special offers available too.

The staff are friendly, professional, hard working and attentive, the owners genuinely care about what they are doing and don’t seem to see this as simply a business and you absolutely could not find a location better than this. We would not hesitate to recommend Lancrigg if you are looking for somewhere to eat or stay in the Grasmere area.

Room Tip: The view from the front of the hotel is worth choosing your room carefully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geobar01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (670)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 670 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

If you crave tranquility , enjoy beautiful unspoilt natural countryside , and love superb healthy vegetarian food served with a friendly caring smile it would be hard to beat Lancrigg Hotel in Grassmere . We found this wonderful place offers it all .

Room Tip: If the hotel is full trying staying at Kitty Crag - it offers a lovely walk through the woods fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank will s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have just spent two special nights at Lancrigg Hotel. The setting is picturesque,the staff warm and attentive.. our room was located in Kitty Crag was so quiet , warm and beautifully appointed.. meant we had a short magical walk through a wood to get to the hotel for breakfast .. which was wholesome and the eggs perfectly cooked.. During the day went for a wonderful walk around the lake all at your doorstep.. Our evening meal had plenty of choice and the food tasted fresh and alive and presented with care.. We had a perfect evening .. and after slept the best we have since we left home. Thank you and we will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonnie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stopped for two nights DBB in the Whittington room which had a lovely attic feel with superb views. The meals were superb we could not fault the stay and to be spoilt for choice as vegetarians makes a great change. We were joined for dinner by two relations who are not veggy but both enjoyed the food and highly rated it. Good sized portions and excellent range of organic beers and wines.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dane340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The best meal we had in the Lakes and in such a lovely setting near Grasmere. Service was friendly and impeccable, the food we had (thai soup, bruschetta with broad bean pate, quinoa coated tofu and chips, polenta pancakes) were all excellent and the servings were so generous. Outstanding value for money! Beer was great too (I can recommend the Cannabia lager).

Whether you are vegetarian or not you have to come here. It's excellent. We only stayed for dinner, but would love to spend a few nights here.

One thing to note is that we got terribly confused using Google Maps as a guide (which inevitably loses mobile signal when you're deep in the Lakes). We were travelling from Keswick and the map kept directing us to turn off at a small road just a mile or two north off Grasmere. It was very difficult to find as the hotel is not signposted from this direction and as we drove down the lane it got narrower and narrower. We did eventually find the hotel, but only after passing a perplexed farmer and asking for directions at a hostel. You're far better driving into Grasmere and looking for a sign from there. The road we left on was far more suited for road traffic and brought us out into Grasmere itself.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Has definately over the years become our home from home, we love everything about the lancrigg, I have stayed in loads of 5* and even 7* hotels in Vegas, but taking into account the location, food, accomodation and friendly staff, Lancrigg is simply the best. My husband and I simply love it here and would love to fit in a couple more stays if we can this year, even though we travel over 200 miles to get here. I fail to see how anyone would not be happy here, and recommend it to everyone I can. We arrive and switch off, walk with our dogs who love it too and eat! simply heaven.

Room Tip: We like most of the rooms, favourite for view Siver Howe and for not such a good view but a great fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veggietracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We only spent 4 nights at the hotel but the meals were very tasty the staff were there to help us to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. The hotel is situated in the best possible location very peaceful and was surrounded by some lovely and magical walks.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinning85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post this positive review of your stay and such feedback is greatly appreciated by myself and the staff. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and enjoyed this special place which we also believe is in the one of the best possible locations for a Lakeland holiday. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.
Rob Whittington and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.7 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,249 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,550 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,220 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#4 of 14 in Grasmere
731 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#12 of 14 in Grasmere
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lancrigg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lancrigg Hotel

Address: Easedale Road, Grasmere LA22 9QH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: $85 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lancrigg Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lancrigg is set in the totally peaceful and picturesque valley of Easedale, 800 meters walk from Grasmere. The accommodation is comfortable and relaxing and makes a truly wonderful escape from a busy world. The house has many connections with past and present writers, artists and musicians. The Lancrigg is open to non-residents with a fantastic variety of refreshments available from both the restaurant and The Poets cafe bar which opens from 8:30am for breakfast and serves a classic lunch menu from 11am till late. The restaurant is available from 6:30pm. The Lancrigg restaurant offers a fantastic a la carte menu or alternatively an 8 course tasting menu. booking is recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your The Lancrigg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancrigg Vegetarian Country Hotel
Lancrigg Vegetarian Country Grasmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing