We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to enjoy the Lake District from.”
Review of The Lancrigg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lancrigg
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at the Llancrigg this weekend for the Great North Swim. We stayed in the lovely Silver Howe room with a great view towards Easdale. The food was good with a filling breakfast which was very satisfying.
We ate supper one night there and enjoyed it very much.
The hotel arranged a packed breakfast for our swim which was very appreciated especially the flapjack.
We were really well cared for
Looking forward to coming again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gamzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (684)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 684 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

(Dinner review)

Fantastic vegetarian and vegan food in the heart of the Lake District. My partner and I found ourselves in Grasmere one afternoon and decided to find someplace nice for dinner. Lancrigg was just what we were looking for: the menu here is creative (if a bit pricey), well-executed, beautifully presented, and of course, delicious. Any vegetarian or vegan visiting the area would be remiss in skipping this hidden gem!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plt981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here overnight. The hotel came highly recommended to us and rightly so as it is wonderful, beautiful gardens to stroll around, stunning views from the dining room and the staff on the whole were so pleasant and friendly. The food was amazing, even my partner who isn't veggie absolutely loved it! We would defiinitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a review of lunch only. We stopped here on the way back from a walk around Easedale Tarn, and had a delicious lunch on the terrace looking out on the countryside. I had Nettle and Celery soup, and a butter bean & salad sandwich. My wife had Cumbrian rarebit and a salad. We shared a chocolate brownie with ice cream and coffee. The food was excellent as was the service. £31 all in and worth every penny - recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Nitramox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

After a long day’s walk in the Lakes, the thing that one would most relish is a hot bath and a comfortable bed. At £140 per night, we expected that Lancrigg Hotel would easily meet this minimal expectation. However, we were in for a shock!!!

The hot shower – Half way through my shower, the water went cold. No phone in the room, so I had to go down to the reception to find out what was going on. I was told that if too many people use the bathrooms at the same time the hot water runs out. From the reaction of the staff I got the impression that this was not the first time that this issue had come up.

The comfortable bed – We had a four poster bed in our room, which on the first look seemed rather impressive. However, once we climbed onto it we realized that the mattress was so old and thin that we could feel the slats underneath it. It made for a very uncomfortable night’s sleep.

Overall appearance - In all the photos the hotel appears rather homely and luxurious but underneath it all there is no substance nor any real comfort. Everything – from the wardrobe to the sink in the bed room - was rather old, tried and nonfunctional.

The views – The hotel has been credited with great views and gardens. However, in the Lakes, you should find great views everywhere. The key question is what sort of view you would get when you look out of your bedroom window. The room allocated to us had a very restricted view of the backyard, which made a bright sunny day look rather depressing.

I will not go back to Lancrigg Hotel or recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Do not choose Wainwright room, as the bed room and the bath room are on different levels connected b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mosen219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Mosen219
Firstly i am sorry that you did not notice that your bathroom, as well as having the shower over the whirlpool bath, also has a separate shower with a good electric shower in it so that you could have unlimited hot water for your shower. the modern bathroom has a large whirlpool bath, sink and toilet and the upstairs bedroom above the small lounge has a sink in the room and a separate toilet as we have families in this suite. Coming so soon after a fabulous review of the Wainwright rooms I am sorry to read this very negative review and had you come to pay your bill which is still unpaid, I had noted to offer you a reduction for your disappointment. I am sorry that the suite was not luxurious enough to satisfy your expectations.. The price of £70 each in Grasmere for a one night booking over a bank Holiday weekend in a room such as this and in such a location is reasonable and I am sorry we did not see you at reception on departure to make amends. It is very rare that we hear of guests running out of water for whatever reason and we constantly monitor such things and take steps to minimise their occurrence. Our bathrooms are all modern and recent and we do use antique and vintage furniture in the rooms as we think befits an old historic house like Lancrigg and I am sorry that you did not like out hotel and that your stay was less enjoyable than hoped and that no rooms with good views were available for you.
Yours sincerely
Robert Whittington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My wife and I visited the restaurant at Lancrigg to celebrate my birthday and were absolutely bowled over by the welcome we received. As long-standing vegetarians we have got used to a choice of one or two items on a regular restaurant menu if we're lucky. So when we found the Lancrigg website and took a look at their all vegetarian menu we decided to give it a try. When we arrived the receptionist invited us to take a walk in their woods to build up an appetite before dinner, which we did. Such fabulous views and beautiful surroundings deserve to be admired so leave plenty of time before you sit down to eat! The food was superb and the service was warm and friendly. I even got a special candle on my blackberry and apple crumble to blow out on my special day! Many thanks for a really special night out. We both heartily recommend visiting Grasmere especially so that you can enjoy the Lancrigg!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The view from the hotel and the restaurant is fantastic -- extremely beautiful. The food was excellent, as was the service -- especially by the server Helena, who combines efficiency with gentle humor. Since we live in Cumbria, we do not stay in hotels here, but we often eat at restaurants, and the Lancrigg Vegetarian is one of our absolute favorites.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EggplantCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
1.2 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#6 of 14 in Grasmere
1,673 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,246 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
740 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#12 of 14 in Grasmere
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lancrigg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lancrigg

Address: Easedale Road, Grasmere LA22 9QN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: $109 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lancrigg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lancrigg is set in the totally peaceful and picturesque village of Grasmere. We are situated just 800 yards from the the very busy village centre. The accommodation is comfortable and relaxing and makes a truly wonderful escape, access to the walks are right out of our door. There are no roads beyond Lancrigg, just the tumbling fells and streams. The house has many connections with past and present writers, artists and musicians. There is a sense of peace when relaxing at Lancrigg that nobody can quite put their finger on, some suggest it may be the water that flows under the building through the Helm Crag rock. The Lancrigg is open to non-residents with a fantastic variety of refreshments available from both the restaurant and The Poets Cafe & Bar which opens from 8:30am for breakfast and serves a classic lunch menu from 11am untill late. The restaurant is available from 6:30pm. The Lancrigg restaurant offers a fantastic menu to suit all diets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Lancrigg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancrigg Vegetarian Country Hotel
Lancrigg Vegetarian Country Grasmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing