We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, real lived in country house feel”
Review of The Lancrigg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lancrigg Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Otley, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location, real lived in country house feel”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had our second visit to Lancrigg, this time staying for 2 nights in Silver Howe. It was as good as remembered, a great place to stay in the Lakes especially for vegeterians (I'm not, but really enjoyed the food). The outlook from Silver Howe is great, the room comfortable, the bathroom has a few quirks (I like another reviewers comment that the bath will be a future collectable). So that's why not 5 stars: Lancrigg is a great experience but it does have a few quirks. They are part of the lived in country house feel, but at the price if fell they mean it misses that 5th star. Will we be back ? Absolutely.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    104
    45
    31
    13
See reviews for
86
449
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Arranged a weekend here as a post christmas treat/getaway for my partner - wow! The staff are excellent - nothing was too much trouble for them and they were so friendly, they made us feel very welcome. The food was delicious, hotel was very comfortable and the surroundings were amazing. Absolutely brilliant, Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank changelessangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a lovely hotel in absolutely beautiful surroundings with delicious vegetarian/vegan food. We have recently returned from yet another visit here - a wonderful few days. Over the years Lancrigg has become one of our favourite places. A relaxed atmosphere, spectacular walks and scenery, welcoming staff and owners make for a truly magical experience. Have even been lucky enough to go at Christmas when everything was covered in snow and the lakes were frozen over - it really was a winter wonderland. Already booked our next visit hoping to catch the spring daffodils this time. We enjoy it every time we go, the seasons make every visit different, but one thing never changes - we always leave feeling completely relaxed, well looked after and very well fed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gandis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

the peace, tranquility, charm and friendly atmosphere makes lancrigg feel like a second home whilst on vacation in the lake district.
the wildlife that can be seen throughout the day is hard to see in everyday life and creates an extremely enchanting encounter with nature.
if you want to recharge your batteries this is the place to come, and we will certainly be doing so again in the near future

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AHopwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Lovely hotel with character in idyllic setting - the only sound was the singing of the birds. So comfortable and warm, even on the coldest of days; spotlessly clean room with all facilities. Staff so pleasant and helpful in every way. Although not vegetarians, we found the food delicious - beautifully prepared and presented. Whether for a single meal or a longer stay we would recommend Lancrigg to anyone - and we certainly hope to be back before too long

Room Tip: Rooms with king-size beds available; also 'spa' baths
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 302Dorothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

A winter treat of exquisite landscapes, cold walks, and irresistibly delicious food. Nothing quite beats walking through Lancrigg woods before breakfast and after dinner. Staying here is a unique experience; the views from the hotel and from Kitty Crag are simply spectacular; during our short stay we saw an owl, a badger, a heron and red deer - not to mention more common wildlife both in the gardens, the Lancrigg woods and on the fells. (No red squirrels sadly.).
The food was delicious and plentiful - the crème brûlée was so perfect that I chose it on both nights we were there.
Just lovely.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alma83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We needed a relaxing break for a special occasion, where we didn't have to think about feeding ourselves- we are veggie and vegan. Well Lancrigg was exactly what we needed. A relaxing stroll into Grasmere for a beer or a more strenuous hike onto the Fells- both achieved with leaving the car in the car park. Brilliant breakfast in the stately dining room set us up for each day. Then we could relax knowing our evening meal was taken care of. The dark chocolate mousse!!! After the meal- 4 poster bed after a wee dram. Luxurious decadence is how it felt to us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALASTAIR F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.7 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,202 reviews
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,178 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#4 of 14 in Grasmere
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
843 reviews
7.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lancrigg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lancrigg Hotel

Property: The Lancrigg Hotel
Address: Easedale Road, Grasmere LA22 9QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lancrigg Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lancrigg is set in the totally peaceful and picturesque valley of Easedale,800 meters walk from Grasmere. The accommodation is comfortable and relaxing and makes a truly wonderful escape from a busy world. The house has many connections with past and present writers, artists and musicians. The Lancrigg is open to non-residents with a fantastic variety of refreshments available from both the restaurant and The Poets cafe bar which serves a classic bar menu from 11am till late. The restaurant is available from 12pm to 11pm (last food orders 8:30pm), booking is recommended. The Lancrigg restaurant offers up a 4 or a 5 course al a carte menu or alternatively an 8 course tasting menu. In order to preserve The vegetarian history at Lancrigg we have a full vegetarian menu offering both ala carte and tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Lancrigg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancrigg Vegetarian Country Hotel
Lancrigg Vegetarian Country Grasmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing