We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty food and warm welcome”
Review of The Lancrigg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lancrigg Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty food and warm welcome”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I'm not a vegetarian but really enjoyed the variety of flavours and interesting combinations of food in the breakfasts as well as the dinners. We stayed 3 nights and planned to eat just once in the hotel, but the food and the friendly service made us want to eat there every night of our stay. We had the Azalea room which has a separate sitting area and comfy enough chairs to relax in for the rest of the evening. There's also a private outdoor space with a couple of chairs and table for room service breakfast with a classic lake district view - but sadly, in late October, it wasn't warm enough to enjoy it. It's not cheap, but when I can afford it again, I'll definitely be returning.

Room Tip: If you want comfort and space and are likely to spend time chilling out in the room, then it's w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryLizR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear MaryLiz R
Thankyou for taking the time to write this greta review and we are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed so much about the food, your room and your stay. It is especially rewarding to hear that you enjoyed the food so much that you chose to et with us every night too! I hope that you have suscribed to our newsletter for special offers and so on as then you may find you may be able to snap a deal - but be quick as the Azalea is one of the most popular rooms! the rooms at Kitty Crag are also definitely worth looking at as they are also really quite special and at a reduced price to compensate for guests not being in the main hotel.
All the best
Rob Whittington and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    102
    44
    29
    13
See reviews for
83
443
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Everything about my stay was just gorgeous! The room (Nightingale) was small, but perfectly formed. The food was astonishingly good. The grounds are perfect for wandering around kicking up the golden autumn leaves. The staff were perfect; caring, friendly yet unobtrusive. It goes without say that the setting is wonderful and even the weather turned out good!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karentoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Karentoday
It is great to read your super review of Lancrigg and to to read about your enjoyable stay. Thank you very much for taking the time to post it and we hopw we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Lancrigg in the near future.
Best Wishes
Rob Whittington and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

It was like starring in your own pride and prejudice episode ! All the deco was so in keeping with era and you expected to see Wordsworth strolling by as you looked out on to the most magnificent view of the lakes complete with waterfall !My daughters room was exquisite , she did not want to leave and Ii was able to have a spectacular walk before breakfast just wandering out through the gardens and up into the hills. Do hope to return before too long.

Room Tip: Franklin was a lovely cosy room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Sue C
Thank you for this lovely evocative review which says so much of what guests love about Lancrigg. Myself and all the staff love it here too and it is apprecialted when people take the time to write the good things we hear daily in our work.
We hope you will return to Lancrigg again soon and if you have the same room you wil now find a sparkling new bathroom with a whirlpool bath to enjoy after your walks!
All the best
Rob Whittington and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel has been a very special place to our family and we want to recommend it to all those who love The Lakes,good food,homely relaxed atmosphere and welcoming friendly staff. Robert and Janet have created a unique and inclusive atmosphere and one which you will want to experience again .We celebrated our silver wedding there and they put on a lovely meal for all our relatives and gave us space and time to be together.Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Chris M
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review and thank you too for coming back to Lancrigg to celebrate your Silver Wedding with your relatives. We love catering for special occasions and it is really nice for all of us here at Lancrigg o see such a review.
We look forward to your next visit.
Best Wishes
Rob Whittington and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
146 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

From the rave reviews we were expecting to be wowed but we weren't. Yes, the general atmosphere and the setting is absolutely great. But our room (Whittington) was not good. The low diagonal beams gave a both nasty knocks on more than one occasion, and the room was clean but generally shabby - and not 'shabby chic'. The bathroom was minute and the over-bath shower was pathetic.

Having said that, the wide and interesting choices at breakfast were great, and the quality of the food for dinner was good, although the menu choices were rather old-hat - it was home-cooking level rather than fine dining.

The very long and very pot-holed driveway up from the road is also rather taxing on a low-slung car....even worse when you meet another vehicle and there is no room to pass.

Finally I was rather surpised that when we checked out after three days and paid, the woman on reception just dealt with the credit card and rushed off. Not even a 'hope you enjoyed your stay' - in general staff were helpful and polite but not as friendly as I would have expected.

Room Tip: Avoid Whittington at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heatheruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Hi
I'm sorry we didn't natch all your expectations but thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts and for posting the photos - what a great shot of the view from your room! The Whittington is spacious although it does have some low beams and the bathroom, recently renewed is small due to the nature of this old historic house. Many do like this room which has other attributes, not least it's quietness, and we do our best to offer an all round good experience as a three star hotel in a listed lakeland property in an exceptional location. Should you return, and I hope that you will, please speak to us so we can help you choose a room more to your loking. I am sorry to hear that the receptionist appeared to rush off during your departure and I apologise for this unusual occurrence. Although many appreciate our menus and someone has even recently rated us a a hatted restaurant. we take all comments on board - we have always favoured a home cooking approach using fresh ingredients. and although over the many years that we have been doing so, this has generally been met with appreciation we are always looking to achieve 100% satisfaction and will continue to do so. Thank you again for your time in writing this
with best wishes
Janet Whittingotn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband and I had a three night stay at Lancrigg recently with our three dogs. We have stayed on three previous occasions but this was our first visit in five years so we were really looking forward to revisiting. Our experience in previous years was that the food was a gastronomic delight. Each night there was a different menu to choose from and every mouthful a pleasure to eat. Dishes were imaginative and delicious and back then the dinner included a soup course which was a lovely addition. This time we were disappointed to see the same menu every night and were unimpressed by the choices which were lacking in imagination and flavour. Furthermore the soup course is no longer included which is a real shame. I'm so sorry to have to say this but my husband and I were astonished at the downturn in choice and quality of the food. I am a keen cook and the quality of the food did not match the meals I make every day at home … this is a stark contrast to our experience in previous visits to the Lancrigg when the food far exceeded my own culinary capabilities.
The food aside the location of Lancrigg is incredible and the staff extremely friendly and polite. The Easdale room is ideal for dogs as it is located on the ground floor so the disruption that three dogs might otherwise cause to other guests is avoided. The toiletries in the bathroom were lovely made by a local company and not tested on animals. We absolutely love the location of the Lancrigg and the charm of the hotel and its beautiful grounds takes some beating but something has gone wrong with the food here and for that reason the appeal has been lost for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenRowberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I'm glad you enjoyed so many aspects. I'm sorry to hear that you did not like my menus as much as previously but to be fair we have never offered a different menu every night - (apart from 30 years ago when we had a set menu with no choices as was the fashion then in country house hotels!). Five years ago as now we just have a changing soup and a main course menu addition on busy nights oand we also try to offer an extra dish when there are people enjoying a longer stay. We no longer offer the soup course as part of the meal as many did not want to have this/ However the soup of the day is still on offer every night if guests wish to order it in addtiton to the 3 course meal with coffee which s currently a reasonable £20 for residents. I have always tried to offer the best of home style cooking incorporating a variety of world food themes - I recall that last time you came I had a more 'Paciific Rm' themed menu and some liked this more than others just as with our present menus- we will continue to try and satisfy all expectations and tastes and thank you again for your thoughts.which are always taken on board and acted on as best we can.
With best wishes
Janet Whittington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Taken care of by employees who seem to feel like they own the place and the experience -- fabulous veg food and the prettiest location indeed :)
The walks around the property are well worth it, and each room in the property has its own quaint charm. The sit out in the ground floor is much pretty.

Room Tip: The website gives every room's details :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank singersuchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
It is great to hear that you had such a lovely time here at Lancrigg and myself and all the team really appreciate you taking the time to write this positive review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the menus and the hotel including the extensive and beautiful grounds and especially that you thought our staff special too. We always try to have staff who genuinely enjoy helping make guests stays really enjoyable and we too enjoy working with such great staff/. We know it means a lot to read on these public review sites that they have been appreciated - so thank you!
All the best
Janet Whittington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lancrigg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lancrigg Hotel

Property: The Lancrigg Hotel
Address: Easedale Road, Grasmere LA22 9QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lancrigg Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lancrigg Hotel is set in the totally peaceful and picturesque valley of Easedale, 1/2 mile from Grasmere. The accommodation is comfortable and relaxing and makes a wonderful escape from a busy world. The house has many connections with past and present writers, artists and musicians. The Lancrigg is open to residents and non-residents with a fantastic variety of refreshments available and a lunch menu served from 12pm until 4:30pm. The restaurant is available from 6pm to 9pm, booking is reccomended. The Lancrigg is currently a vegetarian Hotel (vegan option available), however we are currently undergoing renovation to offer a flexitarian menu(still vegetarian but with fish and meat available) and a fully stocked bar will be following soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your The Lancrigg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancrigg Vegetarian Country Hotel
Lancrigg Vegetarian Country Grasmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing