We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, lacked atmosphere.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rothay Garden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2014

My husband and I have recently returned from a 2 night break for our first wedding anniversary. The staff were friendly, we had a lovely garden room suite apart from the most uncomfortable pillows which had been mentioned in a previous review, and the food was delicious.
The hotel is very modern but just lacked atmosphere. The first night we felt We had to eat our meal in silence as the dining room is very open and echoey and it was very quite, although there were plenty of couples dining. There was a little back ground music but it was very low so you could hardly hear it.
Breakfast, the choice and quality of food was excellent but again, very quite dining room, no background music and we felt we had to eat in silence.
The lounge area again needed music just to give a more warm and welcoming atmosphere.
All in all we had a lovely 2 night stay, but the hotel just lacked a warmth and inviting ambience.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank diamondprincess_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (868)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 868 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2014

Quality hotel, quality service and perfectly located in the beautiful village of Grasmere. Food, staff, facilities and service were all first class and we will return in the future. Excellent location for exploring the central lakes.

Room Tip: Would recommend the riverside suites that we stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Our second stay here for my wife and me under the name of Record.
Room.
Got allocated a very average room this time. We asked for a move and were given a balcony room but unfortunately the door to the balcony was jammed and could not be opened. Very hot and claustrophobic night. Told if we wanted a another balcony room would have to pay a supplement of £30 pp.
The next morning a new receptionist gave us another balcony room without a quibble when we complained about our bad nights sleep. No surcharge was mentioned.
Food
The food was of an excellent quality throughout. This was the highlight of the holiday.
Sauna and Spa area.
Very good and clean.
Welcome
Very poor and frosty at reception particularly front of house lady.
She laughed when we reported for checking at 9am, even though we stated we did not need our room and were only leaving our car in their car park. Welcome to the Rothay garden hotel would have been nice!!
Service
The rest of the staff were kind and attentive at all times.
Wi Fi
Non existent. They have had issues and during our stay an IT service person was attending to it.
Summary
Front of house rather spoilt our experience but on the whole they have got most things right.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank tarikrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed here for a 2 night break and could not fault the hotel in any way. The attention to detail was amazing. We had a Riverside suite, which, while not my idea of a suite, was a comfortable large room. The food was excellent, and beautifully presented. The staff were all very helpful. The location was good for a walk into Grasmere, and sufficiently out of the village to be quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SjS48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

My friends and I stayed from 12th to 15th May.The rooms were gorgeous,my two friends were lucky enough to have rooms overlooking the garden and river.Food was lovely especially the wide choice of food at breakfast.We booked treatments from Katie who was an amazing therapist and the spa was a great feature.The staff are very polite and efficient however we were particularly impressed by the manager Elliot,who was friendly,professional and charming,a credit to the hotel.I am already planning another visit!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gregorysgirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Me husband and I have just stayed here for our anniversary. Although it was quite expensive it was certainly worth it. All the staff from the receptionists to the maids were very helpful, friendly and gave a five star service. We stayed in the stone arthur suit at the top of the hotel, the room was a really good size, light and airy with a huge bed which was extremely comfy, a big bath behind the bed and a good size shower in the bathroom. The food was faultless and absolutely delicious, top ingredients cooked to perfection with plenty of choice, complements to the chef! The spa was beautiful too with gorgous views of the river and hills or the gardens to relax and look at. The only thing I will say against the hotel is something another reviewer picked up on, in the restaurant the music was extremely quiet, I could just about make it out, I dont like really loud music when eating but making it a little louder wouldve made it less awkward and the same for the bar area. All in all though a fantastic hotel and highly recommended!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank kellylumley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We had a ground floor room with doors onto a small connecting terrace area adjacent to the Rothay river. Room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The large ensuite had a good shower but no bath. There is a separate spa which we didn't use. Staff were all very polite and helpful. Breakfast was excellent with a good range to chose from with views over the gardens. You may want to reserve a table by the window. We also had a room service meal which was also excellent although pricy. We were doing the coast to coast and the hotel has a drying room which was good for drying clothes and boots. A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Red_Kangar00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.7 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
7.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#6 of 14 in Grasmere
1,580 reviews
9.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,423 reviews
9.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothay Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothay Garden Hotel

Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#2 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: $147 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rothay Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Rothay Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothay Garden Grasmere
Hotel Rothay Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing