We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an excellent,well run Hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rothay Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rothay Garden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Well, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What an excellent,well run Hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Fully endorse the positive comments about this small excellent Hotel.
Well trained staff .
Good Restaurant
Great location.
Whilst no swimming pool the Hydro bath and Spa provided great relaxation after fell walking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    187
    56
    27
    11
See reviews for
43
645
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Greater Manchester
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed one night - Sunday September 15th.
Arrived slightly early as it was raining hard and we were very wet from touring the village - no problem at all. We were very warmly welcomed and all facilities were explained. Luggage carried to our room on of the "Riverside". Small balcony with chairs from which we could watch the river swelling. Wonderful tranquil setting with views over the fells. The room was very well equipped, as expected from a high quality hotel and included a high powered hair drier (very important!) plus a wide selection of beverages.
Couldn't wait to try the spa - wonderful. We were the only ones there so made the most of all facilities. Just a shame that it doesn't open until midday as we would have liked to have had a pre breakfast session.
Evening meal was superb. Coffee and petits fours in the lounge, far preferable to remaining at the table. Staff were extremely attentive at all times.
Very quiet location so we slept well (unlike our previous accommodation). Next morning, asked if we could leave the car beyond the 11 a.m. check out time. Again, no problem.
Overall, an excellent stay. Our only complaint was the service at breakfast - very slow. Had to wait over ten minutes for a pot of tea despite the large number of staff in the restaurant area.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a "special" break.

Room Tip: Very quiet on the "Riverside". Don't know about other areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellersince78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Just spent 2 days at the Rothay Garden Hotel and whereas the Lake District weather is getting 0 stars I was undecided whether to give the hotel 4 or 5 stars.
The staff were excellent, very helpful and friendly and can't fault them at all. The spa although not huge is more than adequate with a plunge pool with jacuzzi jets/beds, a sauna, aromatherapy room and infra red beds to relax on, there is no on site treatments but if given prior notice it can be arranged in the privacy of your room.
Breakfasts were lovely, consisted of cooked to order hot breakfast and help yourself cereals etc. evening meals were included in the deal and I cannot fault them, the service was first class, the quality of food was first rate and thoroughly recommended as is the wine where there is a large selection of quality wines which were very affordable.
The room we were allocated was a downstairs room with a small terrace overlooking a stream and had all the usual amenities although I was quite surprised there was no mini bar but then again room service was available at no extra charge so probably answers that question. The room itself had disabled access which on first site wasn't a problem for us being both able bodied but in hindsight I think we would have preferred a standard room/suite, the draw backs for us was that the sink in the bathroom was very low, the bathroom itself reminded me of a shower block when I was at school and bearing in mind we didn't need the disabled access I think I would have preferred a more standard bathroom which for me let the room down slightly however we still thoroughly enjoyed our stay (despite the weather).
One other drawback was that although it was advertised as free wifi, the wifi was unavailable during our stay for some reason although there was use of a computer with fast Internet access in the lobby.
The points about the bathroom and Internet access are the only reasons why I haven't given the hotel 5 stars, I do feel that the negative points of my review are doing something of an injustice to the hotel but don't let this put you off I would thoroughly recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Grasmere which is a lovely quaint village with some excellent walking right on the doorstep and my thanks go to the hotel staff for making our stay a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Countrygirl9728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Islas Baleares, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I visited Grasmere for two days to explore the area and enjoy the scenery. It is a very cute, what I would call quintessentially english village, with the Wordsworth museum, a perfect tea room complete with dainty china cups and of course, one can't miss the authentic 150 year old recipe that makes Sarah Nelson's Gingerbread. With some Kendal mint cake to keep us going and some excellent hiking tips from an informative employee at the Cotswold store, we explored the countryside surrounding Easedale Tarn. One of the highlights for us was our stay at the Rothay Gardens Hotel. We stayed in a cosy Langdale room, overlooking the bubbling brook outside. It was a warm and romantic setting as the rain poured outside. The spa was small but comfortable and relaxed our aching joints. The three course dinner we enjoyed was one of the best meals we have had. My husband had the ham hock terrine with its modern take on piccalilli and my disconstructed tuna nicoise was light and tasty. For mains we had the salmon with hollandaise and a delicate john dory in saffron cream sauce. Filling, comforting but light all at the same time. The flavours were classic yet modern. It was nice to see chefs doing something well and not trying too hard. I would highly recommend a stay at Rothay gardens. The staff are helpful and unassuming. And, with the parking being limited in the village, it is only a 2 min walk from other lovely cafes and restaurants. Take your husband/wife away fro the night. Would love to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 423Robyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Travelling from Reading to Edinburgh we found this hotel was more than ideal for our needs, shame it was only an overnight stay! Very comfortable with a real touch of class, wonderful dining and a fantastic spa area which was a real treat on our return from an energetic walk. Surrounding area offers lots of opportunity for outdoor exploration so we will be coming back. Staff all very helpful, attentive and very hard working. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the stream at the back with a small seating area which was very relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
golfingkingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Wonderful intimate small hotel with superb service and the most exquisite restaurant. We will definitely return here again. Bedroom a little small but furnishings beautiful so didn't really matter. Bathroom nicely fitted out. Hotel has a lovely staff and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Also the spa area was a nice addition to the hotel and we enjoyed using it. Breakfast was good but dinners were exceptional don't eat anywhere else is our advice!

Room Tip: All rooms of good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank golfingkingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the end of August and can't wait to go back again. This is a truly stunning hotel, a couple of minutes walk from the village. Our suite overlooked the stream at the back, it had lovely decor,a spacious bathroom and a scrumptious bed. As part of our deal with with secret escapes we had a bottle of chilled champagne waiting for us and there was also a box of beautiful handmade chocolates ( we discovered they were from the little shop in the village and bought more for presents).
The food in the restaurant was divine -everything we ate was just perfect and it was included in the deal. There was also a good choice at breakfast.
We had a chill in the spa and were lucky to have it to ourselves-nice.
I think this is definitely an adults haven and it would be wasted on children! ! as much as we love ours , it was a relaxing treat to be childfree.
The service was wonderful in fact all of the staff were very friendly and professional. We would recommend this hotel for a special weekend away for couples-beautiful.

Room Tip: We were allocated a quiet suite at the rear next to the stream- there are different standards/prices...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alliebee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.7 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
13.0 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
7.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
9.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothay Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothay Garden Hotel

Property: Rothay Garden Hotel
Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rothay Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Rothay Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothay Garden Grasmere
Hotel Rothay Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing