We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A totally-inflexable Lady Manager spoils the day...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rothay Garden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A totally-inflexable Lady Manager spoils the day...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel is generally fine. OK location, quiet. And we got a room facing the river at the back, so that was good. Unfortunately, the lady manager spoilt my vacation. On the second day and at our first breakfast at the hotel, she insisted that I sit at the same place that I had dinner the day before. I wanted to sit somewhere nearer to the windows and her response is "that cannot be done". She insisted that guests have to sit at the same table during the entire stay in the hotel! I told her that I am not willing to. There was absolutely no initiative on her end. She is efficient, but not effective. She should be re-trained to accomodate guests requests. On the other hand, the male restaurant manager was much more accomodating. Perhaps she should learn from him.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SIN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    190
    56
    27
    11
See reviews for
43
655
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

After many years away from Grasmere we were happily pleased to find that the village has not lost its charm since the first time we visited in 1976. We really enjoyed our short stay at the Rothay Garden hotel, clean modern rooms, excellent food and helpful, friendly staff. The weather was not too kind but the spa really made up for lack of warmth outside.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggiemac61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We first stayed at the Rothay Garden in 2009 before the addition of the spa. We had a lovely Grasmere room which was very spacious and overlooked the river but what really stood out then was the restaurant and the food. Based on our experience then, we went back again in late April . This time we had a Langdale room overlooking the lovely garden with a small balcony - not quite as large as the Grasmere room but again very comfortable and well equipped. We're not really into spa's but I did try it out while I was there and found the combination of the spa with the lovely views over the fells delightful. But once more the restaurant stood out - the views from the restaurant over the garden are lovely and the food is excellent. There are plenty of choices for breakfast, with nice touches such as the basket of pastries on the table. But the highlight is dining in the restaurant in the evening , the food is excellent and there's a comprehensive wine list, including excellent and affordable house wines . The staff are very pleasant and attentive and the restaurant has a lovely relaxed ambiance , exuding quality without being stuffy. The Rothay Garden is a high quality hotel in a lovely spot on the edge of Grasmere village which I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Another trip to an amazing hotel, we have enjoyed every minute. We love to enjoy an early breakfast in the hotel then venture out walking all the time thinking about returning to the fantastic spa....heaven.

Evening meals incredible, staff very helpful, what more do you need on holiday.

Room Tip: Phone the hotel before booking so that you know exactly where you will be situated within the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband booked this hotel as a surprise for my birthday, and we were so very pleasantly surprised. The hotel is situated in a perfect position, just right for exploring the village, and further walks if need be. We booked one of the cheaper rooms, without a balcony, but to be fair the room was excellent and we wouldnt have used a balcony anyway, The room was spotless, and the bed extremely comfortable. The shower in the bathroom is to die for, just what a shower should be. We chose to eat out in the village instead of the hotel, just for the village atmosphere, We ended up having a drink in the Lamb Inn, and then walking up the hill to the White Swan, where we had a very nice meal, reasonably cheap and better than sitting in the hotel all night, Breakfast was amazing, plenty of choice and freshly cooked to order, I would definately return to this hotel without a doubt, and if you are off to Grasmere for a trip away, you cant go wrong with staying here

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesleyherbertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

This was the second time we have been to Grasmere and by far the best due to the gorgeous hotel and spa. The staff were all very attentive and pleasant and made our stay all the better,nothing was to much trouble. The food was out of this world,would definitely recommend the banana Mille feuille. We will definitely be returning next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in the stone Arthur suite which is a loft suite which was nice and warm and quiet,but with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

The Hotel
This is a very beautiful hotel set in the lovely village of Grasmere. Getting into the village on foot is a two minute walk. The staff are friendly and the gardens and views surrounding the hotel are fabulous. It’s a very quiet hotel so if you want to go somewhere to relax that’s a bit more decadent that the average hotel then the Rothay Garden Hotel will definitely suit.
However, before I say anything else about this hotel let me just advise that you ring the hotel direct before you book with a third party. It’s not that the hotel will charge less if you book direct but you cannot guarantee that the room you’ve booked through a third party website will be the room you actually get.

The Room
This is where it gets a bit more complicated and why my warning is there above. We had ordered a Fell Loft Suite through Booking.com because I am sensitive to noise and wanted to be up and away from any staff/kitchen/footfall noise and also from anyone moving about above me at non sociable hours. However, when we checked in we found we had been allocated the Rothay Suite which resides on the ground floor. We did query it but found that there were no other rooms they could have given us for two nights.
The room itself was lovely. It was a larger than average room with a lovely bathroom and a small walk-in-wardrobe area. The shower was extremely powerful and, in my husband’s eyes, “Just how a shower should be!” There was a seating area inside the room by the patio doors and a table and chairs outside to sit on that face the garden and spa.
The biggest drawbacks with the room are that you are on the ground floor right by the entrance to the spa so if you sit by your patio windows then you will likely be staring at the bare legs and feet of the various people using the spa less than 5 metres away. Also, with no windows or a/c and only a set of patio doors (you’re on the ground floor remember) to open for ventilation, this poses a bit of a security risk and I’m not sure how soundly you would sleep knowing you had a ground floor door open to the garden all night.
The door was also broken on the room but I’m sure that this will be fixed by the time anyone reading this will be planning on staying there. You probably won’t have these issues with the other rooms.

The Spa
This is quite a small spa that offers a small hydrotherapy pool, sauna, aromatherapy room, 2 jet showers and 4 lounger beds to sit on. It’s nice enough but I don’t think I would choose the hotel on the strength of its spa.

The Food
This is definitely where the hotel shines. The food is simply fabulous. The breakfast is varied and caters for everyone’s taste. The Three Peaks coffee they serve is really lovely and the conservatory you sit in that overlooks the garden is very pleasant indeed.
However, it’s the dinner that was the highlight for me. It’s a set fee for the dinner at £39 a head, which to some might sound expensive but you need to sample what’s on offer before you make a judgement. All the produce is locally sourced and so the menu changes each day dependent upon what is available and in season. I had the Silver Hake which was cooked to perfection. The fact that you get three courses plus the little extras like the pre-entree and the little cakes and fondants you get with coffee at the end all make for a fabulous dining experience. We had gone to the Drunken Duck the night before which was great but I definitely preferred the hotel meal.

Altogether a really lovely place to stay and the manager was very helpful in resolving our issues about the wrong room. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Premier suites have no windows to open so might not be good in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynseylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.7 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
13.0 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
7.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothay Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothay Garden Hotel

Property: Rothay Garden Hotel
Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#2 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rothay Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rothay Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothay Garden Grasmere
Hotel Rothay Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing