We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish luxury in beautiful surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rothay Garden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Stylish luxury in beautiful surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We visited the Rothay Garden for a Saturday and Sunday stay to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. We were in room 6 a Riverside suite. The room was a decent size with a huge bed. Nice modern decor. Modern shower room (no bath). Very nice toiletries. There were double doors that opened out into a small seating area and then big sliding patio doors that opened out into a small slate chipped area over looking a very pretty river with a fabulous backdrop of snow capped hills and fields. Nice bottled water and very nice chocolates were also provided. The usual tea tray with biscuits etc. there were also fluffy bathrobes and slippers to use if you chose to use the spa, which was gorgeous. A small covered walkway took you to the ultra modern and immaculately kept spa with a hydro pool, sauna, aromatherapy room and amazing heated tiled beds. Only a few people seemed to use the facility. We spent more than an hour each evening of our stay and it made it feel a very luxurious experience. We booked dinner for the first evening and it was a very high standard with four courses plus coffee and petit fours. At £40 per head this was not cheap but it was worth it for the standard of the food and presentation. My husband did sent his main course back as it was too cold to enjoy, and it was completely replaced, but there was no apology which was a bit surprising. Very extensive and comprehensive wine list. Breakfast was also very nice with an excellent choice of well cooked food. The kedgeree was lovely. The second evening we decided to eat at another hotel in Grasmere ( the Worsworth) and on balance we felt the food was better and slightly less expensive, but we were happy to be staying at the Rothay Garden.
We had a lovely stay and were blessed with glorious winter sunshine which made the Lake District experience at its best. I would stay at the RG again and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 6 a Riverside suite was very comfortable, but I think all the rooms would be very nice indeed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MumbyLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    190
    56
    27
    11
See reviews for
43
655
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I visited the hotel for a romantic break, and we got engaged at the there.

The room, one of the loft suites, was lovely. We had champagne and chocolates on arrival, which was wonderful. The room was clean and we were impressed with the double shower in the bathroom!

We had a deal from Travelzoo which included eating there for two nights. Originally we wondered whether that was a little restrictive, but after the first evening we were only too happy to eat there again! Breakfast was delicious too.

We decided to stay for a third night, and because of cancellations due to snow we were able to keep the same room. The hotel had a modern yet cosy feel.
We didn't get chance to use the spa facilities as we forgot to bring swimwear.

The staff were very nice and helpful, Hannah in particular.
We would definitely stay again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

A nice hotel, food pretty good, but the service needs vast improvement. The staff are a little wooden and the MD is rather rude. Its a case of tough luck with him. Read through the reviews, especially soar84 as that about sums it up. If your not a fussy traveller then this place is ok and probably the best Grasmere has to offer. However if you like luxury, attention to detail and a certain standard of service, then this place is not for you. Everything seems an effort from the staff and you get the feeling that if you're not happy then its just tough. Not what we're used too so we wont be returning. On the upside Grasmere is beautiful so we had a look at the other hotels around. Our preference next time will be the Daffodil Hotel & Spa. Someone below recommended the Oakbank. Cant understand why?! We popped in there and werent impressed at all!

Room Tip: You need to book a grasmere riverside view or garden view to get a decent room. The upgrades arent w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ladyluck0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have just spent a night at Rothay Garden Hotel what a pleasure. From entering the hotel to leaving the staff were excellent, they could not do enough and yet not in your face. The room was spotless and overlooked the River. The Restaurant and food was excellent from being seated and ordering food there was no waiting. We had Veal for our main course very tender the whole meal was 1st class. The Spa was very clean and relaxing. In the warmer months with the windows open would think it is magical. Thank you to all the staff for making us so welcome. We hope to be back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beeswax100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have just spent a fantastic weekend at the Rothay Garden and could not recommend it highly enough. So much so I wanted to take the time to come on here and recommend to others as all too often people only come on here to make a complaint, skewing people’s opinions of a hotel.

We arrived on a cold, snowy, Friday in January and The hotel couldn't have been more inviting. The welcome from reception was lovely with check-in lasting literally seconds; we were in our room within minutes of stepping foot in the hotel. The room - Room 17 A Grasmere Room was lovely, tastefully decorated with huge comfy bed and all the usual amenities and some personal touches which didn't go unnoticed. Only one small recommendation for the room would be coat hooks but apart from that it was perfect.

On the Friday night we chose not to eat on the hotel but went into Grasmere for a meal - this was a mistake. We fancied a pub tea in a proper pub with a real fire. After several laps of the village and not been able to find a quintessentially English pub we settled on the Lamb inn in the Red Lion. Although they have tried their best this still feels like a hotel bar rather than a pub and the food was OK if you are impressed by large portions you'll love it.

Breakfast in the morning was divine; plenty of choice, impeccable service and the views over the garden are stunning (I suspect the snow helps). After a nice long walk around the lake we used the hotel spa facilities in the afternoon. These like the rest of the hotel are top notch. When we first went in the Jacuzzi was very cold. So we notified the staff who were quick to rectify the problem and the owner himself came to find us to apologise. By about 5ish it starts to get busy in the spa so I would recommend going earlier or later.

For our dinner on Saturday we choose to stay in the hotel. A set price meal which at first seemed a little on the expensive side (compared to our hughmongus£10 burger the night before) was worth every penny. Again the service was impeccable with friendly staff, who took the time to talk without imposing. The food was some of the best I have ever tasted I particularly enjoyed the cheese board with homemade biscuits.

Sunday morning breakfast again was first class and checkout was a breeze. Yes this isn't the cheapest hotel in Grasmere but if like me you like the nicer things in life then it is defiantly worth spending that little bit more to stay here. It's the little things in life that make the difference and the staff at this hotel certainly seem to understand this.

Room Tip: There isn't a lift and a lot of stairs so if you struggle with stairs request a room on the grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nitram1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We can see why the Rothay Garden is not Tripadvisor's number 1 in Grasmere and for us it was let down in two key areas. Management and the quality control of the food. Both addressed in the final two paragraphs if you are bored reading the earlier report...................
With some long experience gained in contracting hotels for the corporate and conference market we have stayed in many and viewed even more hotels worldwide. Like many travel consumers, and now that we are retired, we like the opportunity of providing feedback which we think must be positive and it is always interesting to read the usual selection of balanced, and often unbalanced reviews.

First of all, the Loughrigg suite was in fact one of the (let's say 20) nicest rooms we have been accommodated in anywhere. It ticked all of the boxes for the quality of comfort, luxury, facilities and housekeeping. For a good quality relaxing stay in Grasmere the RG is a worthy choice because the ambience of the hotel provided us with a stylish contemporary quality feeling and we did enjoy our stay immensely.
We do in fact prefer, traditional, older quaint hotels, and in agreeing with some reviewers, yes a log fire would have been nice, the central staircase is very contemporary and there is more modern than traditional in the RG but the suite was very cosy and I have rarely been in an hotel where the kettle-connection-solution hasn't been problematical, so what! Storage was more than adequate and the bathroom was excellent. The quality of coffee, cafetiere and chocolates were all first class. The suites are really very nice indeed! But everything should be really nice because this is a premium product.

The front lounge, perhaps needs to have some coziness added. There is room for a lot more pictures on the walls, (we like artwork) while you are enjoying some very nice wines from a very good wine list.
The restaurant is a gem, and how some reveiwers had an issue with table planning is beyond us because it is light spacious with a good table and seating layout. Good views in the snow, and we bet, great in a summer evening too.
The spa too is a delightful bolthole with a relaxing aromatherapy room, sauna and a super spa bath with river and garden views; that's a result and indicative of some serious care and investment in the RG. We loved it.
All the customer facing staff were obviously well trained, courteous, professional and provided good service levels, definitely not effusive but what one would expect.

Now to our experience of the food which will have to be much better to rise up the rankings in Grasmere's Tripadvisor table. We have stayed at the the Number 1 - Oak Bank Hotel where the dinner, and indeed the breakfast leave the RG standing.

There appeared to be a quality control issue, with the meals we had. At breakfast, small things like just a couple of visibly burned black edges to the bacon as opposed to evenly browned. The first day's scrambled eggs were 3-star standard, and mushrooms left a watery residue. Breakfast presentation was generally without flair. The quality was good overall with warm croissants and nice toast selection. The fruit selection was adequate, no prunes and overall not the highest quality that we anticipated , perhaps justifying the RG's position well below the number one spot. Also the speed of food out of the kitchen was variable, but on night two, slow even when we were first to be seated in the restaurant.

Dinner was mainly very good, and in contrast to one reviewer the menu price is, we think,decent value because you have to pay around £40 to get very good quality. Having said that the lack of quality control sent out a burned rosti which should have been spotted in the kitchen but it accompanied some excellent roast lamb. So what? No it's not quite good enough and way below the Oak Bank standards which is why presumably they almost always get glowing reviews in every area.

Having had excellent lamb, two of our party subsequently ordered lamb on night two. One portion was tough, the other being of barely acceptable tenderness, admittedly not returned to the kitchen by our friend, but mentioned to the GM later, in the lounge when he enquired to our impressions of the meal..

Now under the heading of “Management” this is where it all falls apart. The mere response was that at this time of year that cut of lamb “gets a bit tough”, but more worryingly , we also got the tale that one guest ordered it three nights in a row because it was so good! So what we thought! We don't want to hear about that. And with that response the GM left us.
It would have been so easy and we anticipated that experience would have delivered a much more positive and conciliatory response. And ultimately did in fact the GM visit the kitchen and ask the chef what went wrong? There you have it :- Management and quality control.

Room Tip: Loft suites are delightful and cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mouseytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We have just had our second visit to this fantastic hotel. The staff are amongst the best we've encountered in the Lakes, the room was beautiful and the food.....oh the food is by far the best anywhere! In a nutshell, this gorgeous hotel in beautiful Grasmere with its great staff and fantastic food is simply fabulous!!! We would highly recommend a stay to anyone who enjoys perfection! Don't forget to use the spa either, it's bliss.

Room Tip: We have stayed in two rooms here and they were both gorgeous. Our latest stay was in room 20. This h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.7 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
13.0 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
7.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothay Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothay Garden Hotel

Property: Rothay Garden Hotel
Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#2 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rothay Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rothay Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothay Garden Grasmere
Hotel Rothay Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing