We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rothay Garden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Preston
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have just spent a fantastic weekend at the Rothay Garden and could not recommend it highly enough. So much so I wanted to take the time to come on here and recommend to others as all too often people only come on here to make a complaint, skewing people’s opinions of a hotel.

We arrived on a cold, snowy, Friday in January and The hotel couldn't have been more inviting. The welcome from reception was lovely with check-in lasting literally seconds; we were in our room within minutes of stepping foot in the hotel. The room - Room 17 A Grasmere Room was lovely, tastefully decorated with huge comfy bed and all the usual amenities and some personal touches which didn't go unnoticed. Only one small recommendation for the room would be coat hooks but apart from that it was perfect.

On the Friday night we chose not to eat on the hotel but went into Grasmere for a meal - this was a mistake. We fancied a pub tea in a proper pub with a real fire. After several laps of the village and not been able to find a quintessentially English pub we settled on the Lamb inn in the Red Lion. Although they have tried their best this still feels like a hotel bar rather than a pub and the food was OK if you are impressed by large portions you'll love it.

Breakfast in the morning was divine; plenty of choice, impeccable service and the views over the garden are stunning (I suspect the snow helps). After a nice long walk around the lake we used the hotel spa facilities in the afternoon. These like the rest of the hotel are top notch. When we first went in the Jacuzzi was very cold. So we notified the staff who were quick to rectify the problem and the owner himself came to find us to apologise. By about 5ish it starts to get busy in the spa so I would recommend going earlier or later.

For our dinner on Saturday we choose to stay in the hotel. A set price meal which at first seemed a little on the expensive side (compared to our hughmongus£10 burger the night before) was worth every penny. Again the service was impeccable with friendly staff, who took the time to talk without imposing. The food was some of the best I have ever tasted I particularly enjoyed the cheese board with homemade biscuits.

Sunday morning breakfast again was first class and checkout was a breeze. Yes this isn't the cheapest hotel in Grasmere but if like me you like the nicer things in life then it is defiantly worth spending that little bit more to stay here. It's the little things in life that make the difference and the staff at this hotel certainly seem to understand this.

Room Tip: There isn't a lift and a lot of stairs so if you struggle with stairs request a room on the grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nitram1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    201
    56
    28
    12
See reviews for
44
687
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Durham England
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We can see why the Rothay Garden is not Tripadvisor's number 1 in Grasmere and for us it was let down in two key areas. Management and the quality control of the food. Both addressed in the final two paragraphs if you are bored reading the earlier report...................
With some long experience gained in contracting hotels for the corporate and conference market we have stayed in many and viewed even more hotels worldwide. Like many travel consumers, and now that we are retired, we like the opportunity of providing feedback which we think must be positive and it is always interesting to read the usual selection of balanced, and often unbalanced reviews.

First of all, the Loughrigg suite was in fact one of the (let's say 20) nicest rooms we have been accommodated in anywhere. It ticked all of the boxes for the quality of comfort, luxury, facilities and housekeeping. For a good quality relaxing stay in Grasmere the RG is a worthy choice because the ambience of the hotel provided us with a stylish contemporary quality feeling and we did enjoy our stay immensely.
We do in fact prefer, traditional, older quaint hotels, and in agreeing with some reviewers, yes a log fire would have been nice, the central staircase is very contemporary and there is more modern than traditional in the RG but the suite was very cosy and I have rarely been in an hotel where the kettle-connection-solution hasn't been problematical, so what! Storage was more than adequate and the bathroom was excellent. The quality of coffee, cafetiere and chocolates were all first class. The suites are really very nice indeed! But everything should be really nice because this is a premium product.

The front lounge, perhaps needs to have some coziness added. There is room for a lot more pictures on the walls, (we like artwork) while you are enjoying some very nice wines from a very good wine list.
The restaurant is a gem, and how some reveiwers had an issue with table planning is beyond us because it is light spacious with a good table and seating layout. Good views in the snow, and we bet, great in a summer evening too.
The spa too is a delightful bolthole with a relaxing aromatherapy room, sauna and a super spa bath with river and garden views; that's a result and indicative of some serious care and investment in the RG. We loved it.
All the customer facing staff were obviously well trained, courteous, professional and provided good service levels, definitely not effusive but what one would expect.

Now to our experience of the food which will have to be much better to rise up the rankings in Grasmere's Tripadvisor table. We have stayed at the the Number 1 - Oak Bank Hotel where the dinner, and indeed the breakfast leave the RG standing.

There appeared to be a quality control issue, with the meals we had. At breakfast, small things like just a couple of visibly burned black edges to the bacon as opposed to evenly browned. The first day's scrambled eggs were 3-star standard, and mushrooms left a watery residue. Breakfast presentation was generally without flair. The quality was good overall with warm croissants and nice toast selection. The fruit selection was adequate, no prunes and overall not the highest quality that we anticipated , perhaps justifying the RG's position well below the number one spot. Also the speed of food out of the kitchen was variable, but on night two, slow even when we were first to be seated in the restaurant.

Dinner was mainly very good, and in contrast to one reviewer the menu price is, we think,decent value because you have to pay around £40 to get very good quality. Having said that the lack of quality control sent out a burned rosti which should have been spotted in the kitchen but it accompanied some excellent roast lamb. So what? No it's not quite good enough and way below the Oak Bank standards which is why presumably they almost always get glowing reviews in every area.

Having had excellent lamb, two of our party subsequently ordered lamb on night two. One portion was tough, the other being of barely acceptable tenderness, admittedly not returned to the kitchen by our friend, but mentioned to the GM later, in the lounge when he enquired to our impressions of the meal..

Now under the heading of “Management” this is where it all falls apart. The mere response was that at this time of year that cut of lamb “gets a bit tough”, but more worryingly , we also got the tale that one guest ordered it three nights in a row because it was so good! So what we thought! We don't want to hear about that. And with that response the GM left us.
It would have been so easy and we anticipated that experience would have delivered a much more positive and conciliatory response. And ultimately did in fact the GM visit the kitchen and ask the chef what went wrong? There you have it :- Management and quality control.

Room Tip: Loft suites are delightful and cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mouseytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We have just had our second visit to this fantastic hotel. The staff are amongst the best we've encountered in the Lakes, the room was beautiful and the food.....oh the food is by far the best anywhere! In a nutshell, this gorgeous hotel in beautiful Grasmere with its great staff and fantastic food is simply fabulous!!! We would highly recommend a stay to anyone who enjoys perfection! Don't forget to use the spa either, it's bliss.

Room Tip: We have stayed in two rooms here and they were both gorgeous. Our latest stay was in room 20. This h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I booked a last minute post xmas break at the hotel with my 15 year old daughter. From the telephone booking to post -checking out the staff were very helpful and accommodating.

The hotel and spa were immaculately clean and we had a very pretty room (21) with a little balcony over looking the stream. The room was well equipped too - fluffy dressing gowns and slippers, tea, filter coffee and cafetiere, hair dryer (not usually essential for me but with a teenage girl essential).

We didn't take our evening meal in the restaurant so can't comment on the main meals. Breakfast was very tasty and filling - the fresh fruit was lovely: a variety of fresh melons and pineapple. Sounds healthy but I did finish off with bacon and maple syrup on french toast and we polished off the basket of croissant. All very nice. My daughter had the porridge and enjoyed it (so not sure about previous comments re no porridge). We were both so full that we didn't eat lunch until 2.30pm after completing a 4 mile up hill walk.

We both had a great, relaxing quiet time in beautiful surroundings and felt well looked after by the helpful staff. We look forward to returning! I've already tried to book for my daughters birthday weekend and it's fully booked :(.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smilleyhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We decided to book a two night stay to relax after the busy Christmas period and as an early birthday treat to myself and we were not disappointed. From the warm welcome by the reception staff to the delightful Grasmere river view room on the first floor to enjoying a pre dinner glass of wine in the bar/lounge. The food served in the conseratory dining area was wonderful, well presented and mouth watering flavours, it was obvious that the Chef was highly trained and aiming at visitors who would appreciate his work. Many years ago we had had the privilage to spend an evening at Michaels Nook, near Grasmere and although not quite in their league we can appreciate where this kitchen is aiming! Breakfast was also very good and all served with attention to detail and cooked to order.
We wish Chris and his team well for 2013, we feel you are heading in a very good direction and from reading other reviews here on Tripadvisor we can see that not eveyone shares the same views regarding the hotel. However, we were both very happy with our stay, the service given to us by your well trained staff and we will return for a longer stay later in the year.

Room Tip: Choose a riverside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyncrest_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Was looking forward to this break, hotel recommended by Telegraph, booked for a birthday celebration, expected top class accomodation, food and service, to be disappointed.
Reception area was okay, nothing special, false real fire in the lounge was a let down, not a great deal of seclusion or privacy offered either in the lounge or restaurant. Bedroom was ample, had nice view over the stream with small balcony. The meal was overpriced, the seating arrangements in the restaurant was unacceptable, too close together, no choice given, and staff acted like robots i.e. no way you could have a choice of where you would like to sit etc, first class as advertised was not offered. Room was noisy, was on the first floor, and overhead squeaky floorboards were annoying and offered disturbed sleep. Would not go again, nor recommend. Have complained to the Manager to get a very unhelpful response, and one that appears to give the impression that criticism is not accepted - no offer of a refund or small reduction unfortunately.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms only to avoid overhead noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank twinkle12351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just wanted to say a HUGE thank you to Chris and all his amazing staff at the Rothay Garden Hotel. We have just stayed there for their 3 day Christmas holiday and it could not have been more perfect. The hotel was warm, cosy, and so relaxing. Chris gently gathered the Christmas visitors together in the lounge on Christmas Eve and from there on it was a special and well-planned relaxed Christmas Party. Incredible food - thanks to the wonderful chefs (and I am vegetarian and my food was amazing too). Wonderful, happy, special, relaxed atmosphere thanks to the organisation of Chris and his staff. My party consisted of a 91 year old "nana", a 20 year old son and the two of us - the hotel could not have done more for any of us. Chris and his team easily catered for the wide array of ages and made us all feel happy and welcome. Also, great base for walking in the Lakes. I could go on and on about how wonderful this hotel and stay was and will certainly stay there again as soon as possible. Thanks Chris and team for the best Christmas ever.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
7.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.7 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#4 of 14 in Grasmere
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothay Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothay Garden Hotel

Property: Rothay Garden Hotel
Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#2 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rothay Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rothay Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothay Garden Grasmere
Hotel Rothay Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing