We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Notch”

Grasmere Tea Gardens
Ranked #2 of 4 Dessert in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Grasmere Tea Gardens provides a lovely respite after a long walk up the fells, or a quick enjoyable stop over for diverse coach parties. We offer an array of homemade soups, sandwiches, paninis, chilli, and jacket potatoes, as well as home baked cakes and scones. As well as a variety of teas and coffees, we serve a selection of cold beer and wine, and yummy soft serve ice-cream. Our staff provide quick and friendly service for those on a tight schedule, or beautiful views, rain or shine, from our outdoor terrace, overlooking the Grasmere Church and famous grave site of poet William Wordsworth.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Lovley fresh food served by friendly staff, at reasonable prices in a perfect setting..........what more could you want !!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    79
    23
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely little cafe, great food and a lovely location.”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely lunch here last week, nice cafe with a heated outside seating area next to the river.
The staff were very friendly, service was quick and the food was lovely!
Well worth a visit!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ben2891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
142 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, lovely staff”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We visited the tea gardens after a wander around Grasmere, having spotted it across the river from the daffodil gardens. It was really nice and laid back, sitting in the sunshine watching the ducks on the river, and the sparrows hopping along the railings, waiting for crumbs. Great value, beautifully furnished, lovely helpful staff, very clean and well maintained.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CheshireHappybride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“As good as home after a hard days walk.”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

The moment we walked in we were greeted by friendly and helpful staff, who were very patient considering it took us an age to order. The sandwiches we took away with us on our climb and were just right for keeping us going. So good in fact that we decided to stop back in for cakes and tea and coffe on the way back and it was worth it. The slabs of cake which were presented to us were huge the kids loved them but couldn't finish them so us adults got double portions. We sat outside on the terrace and the kids loved seeing the ducks pass us by. This café is also dog friendly and the toilet facilities are good and clean. This place has a grwat atmosphere and is excellent valud for money. I look forward to returning here on holiday next year.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tea & a view”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Excelleent service, excellent staff and excellent food & drinks. Relaxing atmosphere you are not rushed away if you have finished your order. Well worth a visit

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grasmere Tea Gardens also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to Grasmere Tea Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing