We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (273)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveler rating
132
87
34
12
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
132
87
34
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster bed overlooking the river sister hotel evening meal ground floor room tired and in need lake district other hotels nice stay ample parking three nights lovely hotel rooms are large full english lovely grounds stayed one night leave the car
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 273 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2019

First time we have stayed here and I would return for a second visit.The grounds and buildings require some work but the stay was very comfortable and we enjoyed the weekend immensely.
After a brief conversation with the manager we discovered the hotel is now part of The Inn in Grasmere and some improvements were already underway.
Great location,comfortable rooms,river runs below window and a decent breakfast. Whats not to like.!

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2019

Lovely position but hotel being refurbished so couldn't, have evening meal.Lovely downstairs room overlooking river.En suite very poor. As I have arthritis couldn't climb into high bath for shower.Very comfy bed and super breakfast.Think rather overpriced however

Room tip: Not suitable if need walk in shower
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank margaret708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2019 via mobile

Spent a lovely Mother's Day weekend, at Bridge House. We have visited it a fair few times now and were pleased to hear that it is undergoing a sympathetic refurbishment.A bonus was that we were upgraded to a riverside room, with a lovely newly refurbished bathroom.Workmen were present but it didn't affect our stay and I'm sure the hotel will be beautiful, when the work is complete. We must give a special mention to Lucie who is so gracious, warm and friendly and a credit to the hotel chain. Give that girl a rise!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank jivebunny63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2019

Just had a lovely 3 night break here, as the title says it needs some care and attention, but this seems to be hapening, our room was nice, wonderful bed and river view out of the window. The decoraters were in so the bar was closing at 8pm each night and no food apart from breakfast was avaiable. Not sure if this was because of the work or the hotel policy. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. We could use the swimming pool and Gym of the sister hotel which was great and close by, it was also a great place to eat and enjoy the evenings too.

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank duul2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2019

Very clean, well maintained, lovely helpful staff and fab breakfast. We stayed one night with our dog and felt very at home as it was very comfortable and homely, great decor. They have a sister hotel a couple of hundred yards down the road that has a pool we used and also had our evening meal where they allowed dogs in ( great food )

Room tip: Accessible ground floor rooms , light sleepers maybe kept awake by the sound of the river?
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank confused67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews