We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely, friendly comfortable and clean, well positioned for walkers, families or those wanting a quiet, romantic break”
Review of Bridge House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bridge House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2009

Having lovely memories of a visit two years ago during a family wedding in Ulswater, we were pleased to be invited to another wedding that enabled us to stay in Grasmere.We booked this hotel following the positive reviews on trip advisor and were not disappointed. We stayed in room 2 on the ground floor, overlooking the River Rothay. This is a clean, good sized family room with a comfortable double and single bed (and also a pull out bed that we didn't use). The staff were helpful, especially in arranging a taxi to take us to the wedding, and were very pleasant.
The evening meal and breakfast menus had a good choice and the food was prepared and presented well, although the childrens evening meal was more limited.
we would definately stay here again and even the rain couldn't dampen a lovely weekend!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wanderersfarandwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
There are newer reviews for Bridge House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 220 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2009

Yes the Bridge House Hotel "Has done it again" come up trumps. Our Easter Weekend break for 3 nights Absolutely fantastic even the weather was great.
This is the second time we have stayed here and it was every bit as good as last year. We chose room no 17 on first floor, which is quite comfy with a good size bathroom. One comment would be, I didn't care for the blankets, though we were very warm I would much prefer a duvet.. - You can chose a specific room on the internet ( if it is free that is) The Hotel has that homely feel, not like many that go minamalistic and lose their charm.. The Comfy seats in the lounge /bar area is a great asset after dinner, because after a wonderful four course meal each night, thats all you want to do is relax with a drink,. There is plenty of reading matter or cards and, dominoes, if your mind can stretch to it. You could go into Grasmere village for a stroll if you still have the energy after walking all day, as the Bridgehouse in smack in the middle. This is by no means a problem for guests of the hotel as there is ample parking and beautiful grounds. In the evening when the day trippers have gone the village is a lovely tranquil place, but yet still have a few places to drop in for a drink or two.
We must congratulate the Chef for producing such fantastic food, my favourite being the venison with leeks to die for, oh how wonderful that was - I had never had venison before. Llike to see more choice of desserts please, even if we didn't always have room after the first three courses.
I wouldn't recommend the hotel to people that are looking for plenty of night life and like to party, but would to people who like charm, comfort and good food
Once again congratulations to all the staff for the hard work in making our stay such a wonderful one. Will we be back again next year YES most definately, if not before.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2009

An early-season 4-night break. This was my 'first -time' using TA recommendations and since this trip was a birthday present for my wife I wanted everything to go off well. The hotel's website is workmanlike but full of information; a big plus for me is the ability to see and choose your own room before you enquire about availability. The enquiry response was almost immediate and a phone call the next day secured the room I wanted. We had one at the back of the hotel overlooking the river (with ducks) and the hills. Room was scrupulously clean and tastfully decorated - a nice touch was two large leather armchairs for reading or watching TV. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, although it was the beginning of the season and some of the new staff were a bit raw on local knowledge. The standard rate is half-board and the 4-course dinners were very good value. The food in general was good quality and well-presented although desert choices were limited . The hotel also arranged some flowers to be dlivered on my wife's birthday, and didn't charge any extra for their trouble. Overall, a very good value experience, and one that we would both be happy to repeat and recommend. Fully justified its TA ranking.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PickyGeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2009

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank papaverblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2008

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweetnorthernrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2008

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TreeFella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2008

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Ssheilas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,495 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,218 reviews
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#12 of 14 in Grasmere
102 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge House Hotel

Address: Stock Lane, Grasmere LA22 9SN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: $118 - $555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridge House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step out of your world and into ours. Bridge House Hotel Grasmere - right in the heart of England’s Lake District National Park. Perfect for a walking holiday - park the car and take a new route every day. Fairfield Horseshoe, Helvellyn, Langdale Pikes plus many easier low-level routes available. Right on our doorstep is some of the finest scenery in the world... Come and share it with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bridge House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Grasmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing