We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“honest opinion” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bridge House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bridge House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“honest opinion”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is in the center of lovely grasmere with plenty of parking for guests in lovely gardens.all the staff are all very helpful.We stayed in room 1 it was ok but too near reception.My main complaint is the shower was useless, so when you have been out walking all day no water unless you wanted to be scalded,We had evening meal on the first night it was only ok.If you are a vegetarian you are limited at breakfast.The bed was very uncomfy and only one sheet one blanket no extra ones.

Room Tip: stayed in room 1 maybe the showers are better in other rooms but what ever you pay you should have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dashers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    60
    20
    3
    2
See reviews for
42
120
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

second time around and will visit again next year hotel really homely and food really nice staff all happy to help you. lots to see and do went on boat trip up Coniston waters guide knew all about the tragic accident with Donald Campbell

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We arrived at 10.30 am to be meet by the first of several very happy people at this hotel. No problem leaving the car in the large car park at this time. When we checked in later on in the day and another very happy soul served us. We were then infomed that the evening meal was 4 courses and coffee for £15, which being in Grasmere seemed a bargain. It was, four great courses all very hot served by another very smiley member of staff, nothing is too much trouble. We stayed in room 17, which was really nice, strange quirk though in the event of a fire your room is the evacuate route and everyone enters your room for the fire escape, no problem really (unless its your wedding night and your hard of hearing). The breakfast next morning was again very good, the same staff were still smiling and very efficient. Again we were allowed to leave the car and go for a nice long walk. To all the staff we saw big thanks, its nice to see so many happy people in one place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dave66672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed only for one night over easter with friends who were staying fot 2 nights. Arrived early so went off walking before we checked in. Once checked in we found our room to be adequate with walk in shower. Bed was very comfortable. We had a lovely view too. In the evening we decided to eat in, cant believe we paid £15 for 4 courses which was amazing. The food was wonderful, hot and good size portions. Breakfast was just as good which filled us up before more walking. Would highly recommend this hotel and really hope to come back one day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ShropshireJessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed at the Bridge House on several occasions and have never yet been disappointed. The welcome is invariably friendly, the rooms are well decorated and always beautifully clean, and the meals are excellent. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and no matter how busy they are they are unfailingly polite and cheerful.

Room Tip: Use their excellent website to view the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldboot46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights over the Easter weekend at this perfect little retreat. After reading all the complimentary reviews on the website we thought it would be a nice change to stay in Grasmere as we usually stay in Ambleside when visiting the Lakes. What a wonderful find this hotel was. On arrival we were greeted by a very welcoming young lady on reception. Although we arrived an hour early we asked if it would be possible check in and come back to our room later. She was very pleasant and went out of her way to check if the room was ready and informed us we would only have to wait 5 minutes. She advised us of the breakfast times and as we were only booked on a B&B basis we asked if it would be possible to dine in the restaurant. We were delighted when she offered us a 4 course menu at a charge of £15 each. We couldn't believe what an excellent deal this was and decided to book a table for that evening. We were certainly not disappointed as the food was amazing, compliments to the chef!! The restaurant was full and the staff were extremely efficient and the service was excellent. We stayed in a lovely room in the attic (no.18) and the views were wonderful overlooking the fells and the local village church. The following day our friends joined us to do some walking and to stay for one night in the hotel. They too were offered the same deal for dining in the restaurant. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff when we asked if we could dine on the same table as our friends and they even placed us in the window of the dining room with beautiful views overlooking the gardens. Everything about our stay was perfect. The staff were extremely helpful, pleasant and very hard working. The room was cosy and the food excellent. We will definitely be returning to this hotel in the future and would have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this perfect little haven to any of our family or friends. Thank you to all the wonderful staff at the Bridge House Hotel.

Room Tip: Room 18 in the attic was lovely but the hotel is located with wonderful views from all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

I have stayed here several times and always considered it the most wonderful place to stay but now I consider it the most wonderful place to eat too. The chef, from Liverpool apparently, is very skilled and, for me, his signature dish is his take on Fish and Chips - the best I have ever tasted. The staff are always excellent - I love this hotel and can't imagine staying anywhere else whenever I visit the Lake District.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.3 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#13 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Lancrigg Hotel
The Lancrigg Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge House Hotel

Property: Bridge House Hotel
Address: Stock Lane, Grasmere LA22 9SN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridge House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step out of your world and into ours. Bridge House Hotel Grasmere - right in the heart of England’s Lake District National Park. Perfect for a walking holiday - park the car and take a new route every day. Fairfield Horseshoe, Helvellyn, Langdale Pikes plus many easier low-level routes available. Right on our doorstep is some of the finest scenery in the world... Come and share it with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Bridge House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Grasmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing