We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our second visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bridge House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bridge House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our second visit”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Very homely, comfortable, warm hotel. Food excellent - lovely home made soups and puddings. Plenty of choice, including vegetarian options. Good central position in Grasmere and good walking in the area - enjoyed the walk to Easedale Tarn - a little hilly but not too taxing. Free wi fi downstairs in the lounge. We enjoyed the Jumble Room for lunch (though only a light lunch needed after the cooked breakfasts at the hotel). Dove Cottage (Wordsworth's home) is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Room 14 was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank almalass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    61
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
42
122
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sussex England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Great hotel but dont take the attic room unless you are very fit.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VikingSussexEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We have just returned from a week’s holiday at Bridge House Hotel. This was our second time with them, and on both occasions we have had a very pleasant stay. Our room was spacious and comfortable, and always kept very clean, as is the whole of the hotel. The menu was varied, and the kitchen runs like clockwork with no long waits for anything.
The staff are pleasant and helpful, in particular the two very pleasant waitresses who served us in the restaurant. I would recommend this hotel as being very good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldswinford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed here ten years ago. It was a nice hotel with great food and service. We stayed last week. Its still a nice hotel, but the food is not great but still good and the service is not great but good.The hotel was family run and owned last time. It may be family owned now, but, its certainly not family run. Still, I suppose the labour now employed is cheap labour.

For three nights, the desert menu was the same. Seems that the hotel was nowhere near full and they had made a huge sticky toffee pudding so it was on the menu for three nights.

All that said, we had a nice stay. Maybe ten years or longer before we go again though.

Room Tip: If you have room 2,3 or 4, make sure you take earplugs if you like to sleep with the windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Humphriesout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, U.K.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

If you want good food and a relaxing place to stay in the Lake district at a reasonable cost then this hotel is for you! Situated right in the centre of Grasmere it is set within its own quite extensive grounds featuring plenty of wildlife. The rooms are very clean and the bathrooms supplied with locally produced organic shower gel and handwash products in JUMBO sizes and of outstanding quality (no pathetic little bottles or sachets).
Our stay included dinner (4 courses) as well as breakfast. You will not need much else to eat all day - the quality of the food is excellent and varied with choices, unlike many hotels where you sometimes wish you hadn't booked half board but just had the breakfast.
This is not a hotel used by coach companies (as far as we could tell) which means that the decor is in good condition and the ambience is one of staying in a country house but with no need to dress up for dinner unless you want to! Relax in front of a log fire in winter after enjoying the numerous walks in the area. Most visitors seem to come for the walking although we didn't on our first visit the year before. On our second visit we couldn't get enough of the great countryside surrounding this excellent hotel. Good value for money if you book for several nights and include dinner - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Level Contributor
129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

An impromptu trip to Grasmere and a random choice of hotel turned out to be very successful.All of the staff were very friendly and helpful.Room 3 was large with plenty of storeage space and had a really nice en-suite with many accessories.On the river side of the hotel it was very relaxing to have the sound of the river Rothay to lull you off to sleep. Breakfast was fairly standard but well presented and tasty.Evening meal was really very good,four courses with an excellent choice, plus coffee. Plenty of car parking space. Small bar with a lager and real ale on draught.

Room Tip: ask for a riverside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BettyandTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Just returned from an easter break at the Bridge House, we have stayed here many times and are never dissapointed. The rooms are lovely and spotless, the food is fresh and well cooked, the staff friendly and helpful. Cant say any more really, just excellent ,thanks so much to you all.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ianspoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.3 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,382 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
696 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#13 of 14 in Grasmere
89 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Lancrigg Hotel
The Lancrigg Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge House Hotel

Property: Bridge House Hotel
Address: Stock Lane, Grasmere LA22 9SN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridge House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step out of your world and into ours. Bridge House Hotel Grasmere - right in the heart of England’s Lake District National Park. Perfect for a walking holiday - park the car and take a new route every day. Fairfield Horseshoe, Helvellyn, Langdale Pikes plus many easier low-level routes available. Right on our doorstep is some of the finest scenery in the world... Come and share it with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Bridge House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Grasmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing