We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and nice service”

Traveller's Rest Grasmere
Ranked #11 of 45 Restaurants in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: This is already listed as an Inn/B&B but I want to write a review for the food only, as I just had a meal there.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food and nice service”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We'd had a bad experience eating at the Lamb Inn in Grasmere so decided to make the short walk from the village out to the Traveller's Rest and it was worth it.

My father remembers when this place was used by pack hound owners and was a very busy place. The days of the hounds have gone now, but this is still a great place. The location is a little way from the village, but not too far, and the views a lovely. Would recommend coming for a drink in the afternoon to watch the sun come down behind Helm Crag.

Food and drinks were nice, and the service was very good! Thanks.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    105
    38
    12
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Place for Lunch”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Called in for lunch whilst on holiday and was not disappointed. There were a good range of local beers which were well kept. The food was also of a good standard. The staff were pleasant and accommodating. No complaints at all and I would go back there again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brere1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best pub meal in Grasmere”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We go 2 or 3 times a year to the excellent evening poetry readings at the Wordsworth Trust in Grasmere, and, after a day of local walking, we often want supper beforehand. We've had expensive and disappointing meals in pubs and hotels in the village centre. This time we decided to try the Traveller's Rest - which is on the main road outside the village.

We didn't expect much, and were very pleasantly surprised.

One of us had fish and chips, the other vegetarian chilli with pasta: both were home-made, hearty, tasty and in well-judged quantities. We followed with a scrumptious red berry sundae. The Jennings beer was good, so was the coffee.

The interior of the pub is decorated pleasantly enough, and, despite the road right outside, it has grand views of the fells. Above all, the staff (all young people from Eastern Europe) were efficient and completely charming. Definitely the best option we've yet found in Grasmere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pleasant pub”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Popular pub in unprepossessing residential street but with views over the fells. Friendly staff, large menu which we didn't sample.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Okay at a pinch”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

The 'Hotel inspector' would tear her hair out. Called in for lunch. the eating area was gloomy and littered with out of use equipment.
Empty boxes were stacked in this area, a well worn step ladder was stored behind the counter together with other maintenance equipment. would I go back? No.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Traveller's Rest Grasmere also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to Traveller's Rest Grasmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing