We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best burger I have ever had this side of the Atlantic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Potted Out Cafe

Potted Out Cafe
Ranked #8 of 45 Restaurants in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best burger I have ever had this side of the Atlantic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

My colleague and I took a party of students to visit Dove Cottage on a cold and damp October Saturday. My friend had a very sore throat and I hadn't eaten since 6am so I was looking for something substantial while she simply wanted a coffee. We were well taken care of and the burger that I had was the most tasty I have enjoyed in the UK. The burger was handmade and cooked perfectly - not overdone - and presented in a ciabatta role with garlic. The chips were delicious too. It was a bit pricey, but totally worth it. It was obvious good at catering for all kinds of parties including kids who enjoyed the milkshakes. A decent selection of drinks as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mermaid109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    248
    70
    35
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Formby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Family meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Nine of us, including 4 children, descended on Potted Out for a meal at the end of a very wet and somewhat fraught walking day in the Lakes. We were made very welcome. Our waitress joined up 3 table so we could all sit together and served us with patience and humour, unconcerned that children (and adults) take ages to decide what they want and keep changing their minds too. The service was slick and excellent and the food was delicious. It was a great end to an interesting day.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beer in a cafe!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Nice food, I had a pizza and a Peroni and really enjoyed it. Plenty of topping, good sized pizza and a cold beer - important combination! Its also a good spot to sit and watch the world go by with a coffee if you want to. Service a bit impersonal and perfunctory so if you want to feel fussed over, probably not the pace for you.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TadaTalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pricey yet good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food, but a little pricey for a cafe. Good service and cosy with a nice atmosphere. Whole family was pleased, kids loved the milkshakes

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ewan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We popped in out of the rain for a coffee but ended up ordering lunch, which was really yummy. Maybe the portion sizes could have been a tiny bit bigger but we enjoyed the surroundings and the friendliness of the people that work there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Potted Out Cafe also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to Potted Out Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing