We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for solo travellers or for groups” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thorney How

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thorney How
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for solo travellers or for groups”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our group had booked out the whole hostel for a birthday party weekend.I arrived a day early to spend more time enjoying the Lakes. Everyone at Thorney How made me feel very welcome.I chose to order a cooked meal in the evening.The food was simple but very tasty and plenty of it. Veggies straight from the garden. Excellent beer on tap too.Rooms were clean,warm and nicely decorated. Our group arrived the next day and was looked after brilliantly despite the very different needs of our group members. I am working out when I might get a chance to go back for a longer visit. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and sleep in a bunk bed rather than the camp barn-better value for money and beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moriarty999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    37
    11
    5
    6
See reviews for
23
30
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

- An overall pleasant stay at Thorney How
-Had a much more homey feel that the YHA hostel down the road.
- Was also a lot quieter than the YHA (which usually has large school groups)
- Taylor gave me awesome advice about hiking in the area and where to camp.
- everybody was really friendly and really easy to get along with,.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We booked this hostel for the Coast to Coast because it was one of the few places we could stay with our dog. It was the only place that demanded payment in advance of 100% which was non-refundable. This was unfortunate, as when we arrived, we saw that the kennel we had booked for our dog wasn't going to work out. It was in an isolated spot in the garden, with no insulation and little bedding. On a clear late September night, we knew it was going to be too cold for our 10 year old Jack Russell. If your dog is used to sleeping outside, or larger, it would probably be okay.

We approached the owners and explained that we weren't happy to have our dog in the kennel. We asked if we could pitch our tent on their grounds, but were told that they don't have a licence for this. We said we would have to move on and asked whether part of our £47 could be refunded, but this was declined.

As we were leaving the owner came out (I said I would post this experience to Trip Advisor) and I thought he might have had a change of heart. He asked us if we knew where we were going to stay (it was getting dark at this point) and said that there was a bunk barn somewhere, or that it was legal to camp above 1000 feet!

I said we would sort something out and we walked a mile out of town, found a quiet field of bracken, put our tent up in the dark and were gone before anyone knew we were there.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ahallatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

A lovely friendly independent hostel in a great spot in the heart of the Lake District. Taylor was really helpful in helping arrange our group's stay, organised a tasty BBQ for our arrival and settled us into comfortable rooms.

The bar was well stocked, (less well by the end of the night!), a hearty breakfast set us up for the day and over the weekend everything from Windermere Lake, Grasmere village, Ambleside and great walks into the hills were just on our doorstep.

Great clean facilities, with the only negative being the lack of male showers, however I am assured this is already being addressed.

Thoroughly recommended! Knocks the socks off the YHA!

Room Tip: Selection of room sizes to accommodate different sized groups, dorm options and even more basic bunk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
digitaylor, Owner at Thorney How, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hi David G

We're always very pleased to hear that guests and their fellow group members have enjoyed their stay. Thank you so much for taking the time to prepare and post your kind comments.

Upgrading the facilities of this 80 year old hostel is something that we are taking very seriously. With it's grade 2 listing the property itself is over 350 years old in places. This all contributes to the character of Thorney How and whilst modern facilities are important we must take care as we change things.

We hope that guests will appreciate this both now and in the future.

Kind regards

Taylor & Carolyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here as a stop off on a 10 hour journey from NW Scotland to London. It was a clean and simple set up, perfect for hiking groups with facilities set up for that. Normally we would go for a cheaper Premiere Inn on the motor way but wanted to be in the Lake District proper for a nicer rest point.

In all it was good but my lower rating is because at £99 the set up was very spartan and maybe should have been a bit lower cost.

That said, we had a room for 4 and we were a family. For a hiker sharing that would be much less .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
digitaylor, Owner at Thorney How, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Hi Jamie N

Thank you for the positive comments in your review.

We're not clear why you take issue with the price you paid. Your booking was for a single Saturday night on a very busy August weekend. You made the booking quite late so the private room and price options available were limited.

A small amount of research shows that our prices are comparable with other hostels in the area. We checked Premier Inn pricing for an August Saturday night in Lancaster next to the motorway where a family room with breakfast is the same price. Premier Inn's nearer the Lake District were more expensive.

The choice was and is yours to make and we hope that you will choose us again in the future.

Kind regards

Taylor & Carolyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

If you are looking for great hostel style place to stay at in the Lakes District then this is great. Excellent and clean facilities. Rooms are dorm style, but if like us you are planning on spending the day out and about exploring the lakes then this is perfect. Had a great stay and would definitely recommend. Just a short drive from Ambleside and Windermere.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JYoung008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
digitaylor, Owner at Thorney How, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Hi JYoung008

Many thanks for your positive comments, we're very glad that your group enjoyed your stay.

Hopefully we will see you again some time,

Taylor & Carolyn, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

A hostel may similar to YHA. Locate in the central of lake distract, but no public transport you have to walk at least 1 mile to bus stop. basic room no wash basin inside room, wooden bed frame give noise when you move body on the bed. you have to walk through canteen to male wash/toilet room, only 1 male and 1 female wash room in main hall. We are told kitchen and wash/toilet will closed after 10.30 morning. We booked room with a brilliant special offer on lateroom, but was told no special offer when arrived, so do check before you book. cheap continental breakfast even no toast, full english breakfast cost over £6pp. hostel is clean and warm with lots of travel book/guide.

Room Tip: A hostel may similar to YHA. Locate in the central of lake distract, but no public transport you hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rockwei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
digitaylor, Owner at Thorney How, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hi rockwei

It's a disappointment to us that you felt there was an issue with your accommodation. This was not communicated by you to us at any stage during your stay, yet we enquired with you regularly that everything was to your satisfaction.

The offer advertised via LateRooms was not included by you at the time of your online booking with LateRooms. I double checked the details of this with LateRooms staff prior to your visit. I suggest that you take this up with them as we can only honour offers that are fully transacted at the time of booking.

Several of the other details you mention are incorrect but there is no space here to comment properly.

Kind regards

Taylor & Carolyn, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.1 mi away
The Lancrigg Hotel
The Lancrigg Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorney How? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorney How

Property: Thorney How
Address: Thorney How | Off Easedale Road, Grasmere LA22 9QW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thorney How 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated under Helm Crag in Grasmere, Thorney How offers independent, family run licensed guest accommodation. With flexible room types choose from B&B with some ensuites, double, twin and family rooms or Bunkhouse type rooms. The property provides up to 42 comfortable beds , these are mostly bunk style beds arranged across 2 buildings situated in 2 1/4 acres of stunning natural grounds, and over 350 years of heritage. With the backdrop of magnificent fells, adjacent to the Coast to Coast path, local Grasmere village amenities and lake, the tranquil location provides the perfect place from which to explore everything Lakeland has to offer. Bike hire and car charging points also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Thorney How reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing