We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a get away”
Review of Thorney How

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thorney How
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 26, 2013

If you are looking for great hostel style place to stay at in the Lakes District then this is great. Excellent and clean facilities. Rooms are dorm style, but if like us you are planning on spending the day out and about exploring the lakes then this is perfect. Had a great stay and would definitely recommend. Just a short drive from Ambleside and Windermere.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank JYoung008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
digitaylor, Owner at Thorney How, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Hi JYoung008

Many thanks for your positive comments, we're very glad that your group enjoyed your stay.

Hopefully we will see you again some time,

Taylor & Carolyn, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 194 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

A hostel may similar to YHA. Locate in the central of lake distract, but no public transport you have to walk at least 1 mile to bus stop. basic room no wash basin inside room, wooden bed frame give noise when you move body on the bed. you have to walk through canteen to male wash/toilet room, only 1 male and 1 female wash room in main hall. We are told kitchen and wash/toilet will closed after 10.30 morning. We booked room with a brilliant special offer on lateroom, but was told no special offer when arrived, so do check before you book. cheap continental breakfast even no toast, full english breakfast cost over £6pp. hostel is clean and warm with lots of travel book/guide.

Room Tip: A hostel may similar to YHA. Locate in the central of lake distract, but no public transport you hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockwei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
digitaylor, Owner at Thorney How, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Hi rockwei

It's a disappointment to us that you felt there was an issue with your accommodation. This was not communicated by you to us at any stage during your stay, yet we enquired with you regularly that everything was to your satisfaction.

The offer advertised via LateRooms was not included by you at the time of your online booking with LateRooms. I double checked the details of this with LateRooms staff prior to your visit. I suggest that you take this up with them as we can only honour offers that are fully transacted at the time of booking.

Several of the other details you mention are incorrect but there is no space here to comment properly.

Kind regards

Taylor & Carolyn, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

18 of us descended on Thorney How on a sunny July afternoon for a weekend away and all 18 of us would stay again!

Accommodation - The bunk house, which sleeps 16, is very modern and has excellent facilities. 5 of us slept in the camping barn, and is what you'd expect if you booked a barn, just a floor space with mattresses laid down - and whilst we were jealous of those in the bunkhouse (and the amazing wet room showers!) we slept just fine.

Food - The full English breakfast is just the right amount needed for a day's walking, a number of our group made this comment! The BBQ that the hostel provides is also excellent - good meat, and a good selection of salad's etc. (if anything we could have eaten more!)

Bar - it's great having a bar on site which stocks real ale and beer on tap, with a good selection of other drink in bottles as well. We did a pub quiz on the first night, and plenty of space for something like that. (it is a shame that you cannot take your own alcohol, purely because that would help keep the cost down, but it is great having a bar on site!)

Location - Perfect if you are wanting a weekend of walking, relaxing, pubs, and nice food. Windermere is 25 mins away which is great if you're wanting a more lively place in the evenings, (£30 each way in a taxi) and there are plenty of places to drive to if you're wanting to do activities such as canoeing, raft building, and other water sports. (We went to Keswick marina which is 20 mins away)

Overall - A great place to stay, and great value for money. The view's from the hostel is worth the cost alone!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregscho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
digitaylor, Owner at Thorney How, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Hi Gregscho

Thank you so much for taking the time to prepare and post your kind comments. It always gives the team at Thorney How pleasure to provide a good service for guests and to see the rewards of our hard work.

Note for other travellers, if you're thinking about using taxi services book ahead and allow plenty of time for taxi vehicles to travel to Grasmere. We are not an urban location and the private taxi services have to cover a large area.

We hope to see you and your friends again some time.

Best wishes
Taylor & Carolyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I stayed at Thorney How for two nights in July with a group of friends for my 40th birthday and we had an amazing time there. The hostel is really nice and it's in an absolutely stunning location just outside Grasmere. The owners are helpful and friendly and advised us on a great walk up Easedale Tarn which even included a swim stop - much needed on a hot day! They also arranged a barbecue for our group, most of whom were veggie and although I was worried the veggies might not be provided for, the food was amazing - haloumi kebabs, corn on the cob, lots of salads. I can recommend the puddings too - we had a choice of rhubarb creme brulee or strawberry meringues. Also worth topping up to a 'Full English' breakfast. All in all Thorney How made my birthday weekend really special.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottishbird73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
digitaylor, Owner at Thorney How, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Hi Scottishbird73

We understand that it's so important to get a celebration weekend away with good friends just right. We're so glad that we delivered and helped to make your weekend so special. The rhubarb creme brulee and fresh strawberry meringues both made with fruit from the garden are certainly summer favourites this year!

Thank you for all your kind words.
We hope to see you and your friends again some time.

Best wishes
Taylor & Carolyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I was a little apprehensive about staying in a hostel - it was a new experience for me but I have to say I needn't have worried - it was really good! We stayed one night as part of our C2C walk.

Taylor and Caroline are fantastic hosts - we had an amazing lamb, mint and pea pie for tea which, with pud, was really good value at £12. Breakfast was good as well and set us off well for the walking ahead. There is a kitchen where you can make your own tea and coffee and a well stocked bar - we had some lovely wine in the evening (with the pie!).

The shared facilities were all spotlessly clean (toilets and shower is upstairs).

The one downside would be that the bunk beds are squeaky which coupled with the fact that I am a light sleeper was a bit of pain. I noticed that there are ear plugs available in reception!

We had an issue with the accommodation booking - but this was not the hostel's fault. Sherpa Van, who booked the room, told us that there would be a double room with en-suite facilities. There are none of this room type available at Thorney How - so look out if it is a definite requirement for you. In my view you should give it a go anyway! it is expensive for a hostel but you need to bear in mind that Grasmere prices are all very high.

There is a footpath directly down to the hostel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirstie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
digitaylor, Owner at Thorney How, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Hi Kirstie K

We're so please that we exceeded your expectations. Squeaky beds issue noted, thanks.

Thank you so much for taking the time to prepare and post your kind comments. It always gives the team at Thorney How pleasure to provide a good service for guests and to see the rewards of our hard work.

We hope to see you again some time.

Best wishes
Taylor & Carolyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed here as part of a 3 peaks weekend with the lads. We shared a large room, which was basic and had squeaky bunk beds, but we had expected that so no problem. Had a small on-site restaurant which made up sandwiches at lunch time and a few hot meals in the evening, which went down well after walking up Scafell, along with the beers they serve. Well kitted out for walkers with drying rooms for boots and clothes, also wifi if anyone needs that!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
digitaylor, Owner at Thorney How, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Hi Matthew P

Thank you so much for taking the time to prepare and post your kind comments. It always gives the team at Thorney How pleasure to provide a good service for guests and to see the rewards of our hard work.

We hope to see you again some time.

Best wishes
Taylor & Carolyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I brought a group of university students and faculty to the Lake District for a Brit. Lit. class (Romantics) in May, and had originally booked rooms at the YHA in Amblesided. But when the YHA remodeling fell behind schedule I was forced to find alternative accommodations at the last minute. I hadn't selected Thorney How intially, because some of the reviews had indicated a lack of adequate shower facilities, but we were all happy to have ended up where we did. New showers have been added since last year, and we all found them quite adequate, and as other reviewers have mentioned, the location is stunning, Taylor and Caroline are superb hosts, and the breakfasts and optional dinners are excellent (as are the drinks). Taylor was very accommodating in handling the transfer of payment from the YHA and in many other ways. To close, I would echo the recommendation of the Easedale Tarn hike--and Helm Crag as well.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
digitaylor, Owner at Thorney How, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Hi Alan B

We're very glad that as your second choice accommodation we more than fulfilled your expectations.

Thank you so much for taking the time to prepare and post your kind comments. It always gives the team at Thorney How pleasure to provide a good service for guests and to see the rewards of our hard work.

We hope to see you again some time.

Best wishes
Taylor & Carolyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.7 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,258 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#6 of 14 in Grasmere
1,581 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
868 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,224 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#4 of 14 in Grasmere
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorney How? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorney How

Address: Thorney How | Off Easedale Road, Grasmere LA22 9QW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Grasmere
Price Range: $77 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thorney How 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Proud to be part of the Lake District World Heritage Site, we are centrally located in Grasmere. Thorney How offers independent, family run licensed guest accommodation. With flexible room types choose from en-suite B&B rooms with double, twin and family rooms or Bunkhouse type rooms with access to shared facilities. The property provides up to 42 comfortable beds , these are mostly bunk style beds arranged across 2 buildings situated in 2 1/4 acres of stunning natural grounds, and over 350 years of heritage. With the backdrop of magnificent fells, adjacent to the Coast to Coast path, local Grasmere village amenities and lake, the tranquil location provides the perfect place from which to explore everything Lakeland has to offer. Bike hire and car charging points also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Thorney How reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing