We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great site, friendly staff, clean rooms... coming again!”
Review of Thorney How

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thorney How
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great site, friendly staff, clean rooms... coming again!”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

As a regular camper in LAngdale we havent really done the hostel thing before... but we will again thanks to Thorney How! The location is excellently placed for a variety of walks from the relatively easy family walk up to Easedale Tarn through to being reasonably close to Helvelyn!

The rooms in the bunk house were great - clean and with great showers. The camping barn was more basic and smelt a bit funny but we were assured this was a new carpet so happy to forgive this.

Staff were friendly and offered meals and breakfast that we didnt get the chance to take them up on but will do next time. Was really happy that they offered meals at the last minute despite there being loads of us.

Also really happy that the rooms werent under lock and key at 11 o'clock exactly (I hate that!)

Also thought it great that they had electric car charging and electric bike hire facilities!

Generally a great place for young and older groups (we were a mixed age stag party) and I see it being great for families too.

Was very cheap too!

We'll be back!


One thing - dont turn up in loads of cars! We did and if there had been one more car we would have really struggled!

Room Tip: The bunk barn is that little bit more up market
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tibolticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
digitaylor, Owner at Thorney How, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hi Tibolticus

We really appreciate your kind comments and I'm glad that your group had such a good time whilst staying with us.

Both the bunkhouse and the camping barn are newly opened and we have been anxious that they will come up to guest expectations. Its seems we have done just that.

Thank you so much for taking the time to prepare and post your kind comments. It always gives the team at Thorney How pleasure to provide a good service for guests and to see the rewards of our hard work.

Best wishes

Taylor & Carolyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    40
    11
    7
    8
See reviews for
25
33
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We've just had a good stay at Thorney Howe, the main building is very clean and well kept and our shared room was fine. kitchen for self catering was clean and well equipped.
The location is great and and those new to lake land will no doubt be enchanted by the secluded spot.
On the down side, there is still only 2 showers (1 for men 1 for women) in the whole building which is totally unacceptable in such a large and otherwise well spec'd place....Ironic given that there are charge points outside for electric cars! Will there be a larger lounge too given the numbers catered for?
We'd recommended a stay and it's a good place for abit of hostel "comfort" !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
digitaylor, Owner at Thorney How, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hi Simon R
Thank you for your positive review and kind comments, we're so glad that you enjoyed yourselves whilst staying with us here at Thorney How. The main house shower facilities are overdue an upgrade we're very conscious of that. We have now improved the offer elsewhere with 3 new showers in the bunkhouse and will be making further changes to the main house later this year.
Due to Grade 2 listing and national park planning regulations our small snug lounge will have to stay as it is. For many people this is just perfect anyway. We will be looking to improve the reception area instead.
Kind regards
Taylor & Carolyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby Lonsdale
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

It's years since I've stayed in a hostel and I wasn't much looking forward to this trip but I have to admit, I was most impressed. The owners were very friendly and helpful (despite us returning on day 2 with copious amounts of wet goretex coats and hiking boots etc). The whole place was spotlessly clean, the breakfasts set us up well for a day in the fells and the evening meal was substantial and very tasty. Excellent beer and wine available too ... Always a bonus! The self-catering facilities were great for those wanting to use them and the drying room was a real blessing!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLMfellwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
digitaylor, Owner at Thorney How, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hi JLMfellwalker
Excellent we're so pleased that you had a great time.
Thank you so much for taking the time to prepare and post your kind comments. It always gives the team at Thorney How pleasure to provide a good service for guests and to see the rewards of our hard work.

Best wishes

Taylor & Carolyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby Lonsdale, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here as a base for our hillwalking training and it couldn't be faulted. Relaxed and informal, family run, very friendly and helpful. We stayed on a weekend when the weather was appalling...deep snow and high winds, even our wet gear did not phase the owners, we used their excellent drying facilities extensively...! Food was good and wholesome after a day on the fells, breakfast each day excellent. The evenings were filled with the international football for those interested and a great screening of Skyfall the next. Excellent local real ale and red wine too..!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qprbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
digitaylor, Owner at Thorney How, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi qprbrian

That's great that you enjoyed yourselves and our film screenings prove to continue to be a popular addition. During the summer our film screenings will pop up mainly at weekends and with some midweek screenings. We generally announce these via our website and through Facebook / Twitter. Please follow us or like us for future updates on our progress.

Thank you so much for taking the time to prepare and post your kind comments. It always gives the team at Thorney How pleasure to provide a good service for guests and to see the rewards of our hard work.

Best wishes

Taylor & Carolyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Helpful staff and the phone call prior to our stay due to the inclement weather was greatly appreciated. Football and film on the big screen washed down with good local beer. The breakfast was just right and we bunked up with two goods lads from Liverpool. Owners have plans for the hostel and some more showers will be a welcome addition. All in, I really enjoyed our stay. I've marked the rooms as average as the room was what I would expect of a hostel and as bed and breakfast was £23/£24 then I wouldn't class it as budget. Would definitely return, though and I class these as minor quibbles.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
digitaylor, Owner at Thorney How, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Danny W

Thank you so much for taking the time to prepare and post your kind comments. It always gives the team at Thorney How pleasure to provide a good service for guests and to see the rewards of our hard work.

Our newly refurbished bunkhouse bed spaces and camping barn will be available from next weekend. Each bringing additional showers into use along with our new biomass heating system.

In response to you minor quibble, our aim is to offer distinctive and affordable food, drink and accommodation packaged in a unique and attractive destination. This is delivered with personable customer service and a sustainable approach to all aspects of our business. We feel our pricing is very comparative with other provision in the locale, your bed price on this occasion was £18 per night and you chose to have our Full English breakfast as an additional option.

We're very glad to hear we were otherwise 'just right' and we also look forwards to seeing you again!

Best wishes Taylor and Carolyn, Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We visited the Thorney How Independent Hostel to see a film orgnaised by the Wordsworth Trust (Bright Star - about Keats) - we were not staying there.

The staff were really freindly and helpful and seem very committed to making this a super place to stay and visit. Much work is ongoing tot he rear of the property to provide yet mroe facilities and accomodation.

I am a wheelchair user and htough they had no special facilities, people were really helpful in helping me in and told me thery wer having an accesible entrace organised along with some form of accessible accomodation. I would definitely go back when this has happened - what a location and suh nice people!

Excellent

Room Tip: If you are a wheelchair user please do let them know (I dont hink they have any accessible rooms and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CliffLeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
digitaylor, Owner at Thorney How, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear CliffLeach

Thank you so much for taking the time to prepare and post your kind comments. It always gives the team at Thorney How pleasure to provide a good service for guests and to see the rewards of our hard work.

As you know our building work is nearly completed, some areas of the property are consequently not as neat as we would like, but nearly there. Our film nights continue to be popular, we're so glad you enjoyed this particular one.

To keep up to date with both our film offers and progress on our disabled access you can subscribe to our Newsletter or read our blog updates via our website.

Best wishes Taylor and Carolyn, Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very friendly, welcoming and helpful staff. Stunning, quiet location and great facilities, whilst not all that far from Grasmere and accessible. Very highly recommended. The communication prior to arrival and information received was also very informative.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perkins89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
digitaylor, Owner at Thorney How, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Perkins89

Thank you so much for taking the time to prepare and post your kind comments. It always gives the team at Thorney How pleasure to provide a good service for guests and to see the rewards of our hard work.

We know how important good communications are and are always very happy to respond to queries. It's great to have such positive feedback from you in this aspect.

For information we've just launched a Newsletter to keep our customers up to date with all that's happening at Thorney How. You can subscribe directly via our website.

Best wishes Taylor and Carolyn, Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,450 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,167 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Lancrigg Hotel
The Lancrigg Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
645 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorney How? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorney How

Property: Thorney How
Address: Thorney How | Off Easedale Road, Grasmere LA22 9QW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thorney How 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Proud to be part of the Lake District World Heritage Site, we are centrally located in Grasmere. Thorney How offers independent, family run licensed guest accommodation. With flexible room types choose from en-suite B&B rooms with double, twin and family rooms or Bunkhouse type rooms with access to shared facilities. The property provides up to 42 comfortable beds , these are mostly bunk style beds arranged across 2 buildings situated in 2 1/4 acres of stunning natural grounds, and over 350 years of heritage. With the backdrop of magnificent fells, adjacent to the Coast to Coast path, local Grasmere village amenities and lake, the tranquil location provides the perfect place from which to explore everything Lakeland has to offer. Bike hire and car charging points also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thorney How reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing