We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location but bit of a rabbit warren”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn at Grasmere
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Central location but bit of a rabbit warren”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Central location with high standard of food. The bar restaurant was full when we came down but as residents the staff set up tables promptly for us in the residents lounge. Lovely food. Used the swimming pool but quite difficult to find initially and changing facilities/ spa at a different level. Our room was supposed to be twin bedded but set up as a double and we changed ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    474
    179
    69
    35
See reviews for
242
846
39
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ascot
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

A one nights stay as a leg of the Coast 2 Coast - a event which gives you the opportunity to compare and contrast many inns and hotels in a short period. Room was OK. It was clean but the bathroom was the tiniest I have ever seen - just walking into it required several steps backwards and forwards around the sink and toilet. Climbing in and out of the bath to have a shower needed a yoga class. I ate in the adjoining pub and the meal was excellent - steak and chips cooked to perfection. A reasonable selection of ales. The communal rooms are a cross between a library and a museum. They were also almost empty. It's World Cup time and neither the bar or the lounge was showing the football. When I asked I was directed to another bar across the road - odd ! Breakfast the next morning was poor - the toast was warmed bread, the beans dried, the fried egg's yolk was broken - this could not have been cooked by the same person who prepared my steak the night before !

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank HungryTravellerAscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

his hotel has almost everything, superb setting in the centre of a perfect English Village. The food is of a very high standard, whether you are eating in the restuarant or in the very popular Bar you will not be disappointed. It is an old Hotel so part of the charm of the place is wandering around the floors and passageways,

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We had a superior room [Silver How] and as you walk in the room it looks good but there is a large hole in the sofa, the bed is just a double and the balcony is filthy.

Comments:

1-Returned to room at 16.30 and still not cleaned on one day. They then carried out a quick bed and towel change and left. There was no evidence of the carpet being cleaned throughout our stay. There was no apology from the staff.
2-The balcony is a bitumen mess with the two metal chairs stuck in the floor. Also a beer bottle and cigarette butts from a previous guest remained throughout our 4 night stay.
3-The bed was relatively small.
4-You had to close the window early morning and late evening as an external drainage pipe made too much noise whilst the remainder of the hotel had showers etc.
5-The breakfast/evening food were good but portions were small so not good for big eaters.
6-The staff were very friendly generally so big plus there.
7-Ladders/pots of paint and hoovers left on show in corridors left a low quality feel.
8-We would suggest if booking to be specific on rooms as from viewing other reviews it appears some, such as the Ruskin room, may have left us feeling better re our stay.

It is disappointing to write this review as despite the problems we still enjoyed our holiday. It seems that because the Lake District is so beautiful it is assumed that people will put up with sub-standard, expensive accommodation. We are fairly well travelled over the world and we would expect first class service because that is what we pay for - unfortunately in this case we didn't receive that.

Room Tip: Avoid Silver how as it does not appear refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RowePCCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We recently stayed at the Best Western Red Lion in Grasmere, what a disappointment, our first room overlooked someone else's balcony, so when the balcony was used for smoking purposes all the smoke came into our room, when I asked if we could change rooms because of that problem, at first I was told that some rooms do overlook other balconies and I couldn't change, but eventually after insisting that I would be quite ill with the smoke our room was changed. At breakfast the next morning 2 tables asked nicely if the music could be turned down, both times 2 different waiters said "They would try but they can't guarantee it will be". It of course wasn't turned down at all. After breakfast I asked the receptionist if the music could be turned down and she readily did it, I then asked her if the waiters had requested it be turned down and she said "No". So the waiters didn't try at all. Apart from that, the rooms were tired, in some places the carpets needed changing. The beds were uncomfortable, the food awful, the service shabby, twice when ordering coffee we got dirty cups. Not worth a penny

Room Tip: Do your research properly before choosing somewhere to stay at Grasmere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NettyPig3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We have now stayed twice in Grasmere and both times we stayed in thee Red Lion Hotel. Very relaxing and cosy atmosphere and we both found it very difficult to fault.
We will definately stay there again and hopefully it's not in the too distant future.
Breakfast and Bar Meals were very good and the staff were welcoming and friendly.
Would recommend this hotel and the lakeland village of Grasmere to anyone.
John and Theresa Aberdeen

Room Tip: Any room is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

My partner and I have visited the Red lion many time, so decided to take my parents for the first time. Had a fantastic stay. They put us in rooms next to each other, service has improved, had a great stay thank you. You have gained two new visitors. Keep it up now you have a new owner.

Room Tip: Top floor. Excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.0 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#13 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Grasmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Grasmere

Property: The Inn at Grasmere
Address: | Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#8 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Grasmere 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a taste of luxury in the glorious heart of lakeland. Set deep in the heart of Wordsworth country, our privately owned Lake District Hotel, traditionally an historic inn playing host to travellers for centuries, offers you a warm, genuinely hospitable welcome that makes you feel instantly at ease and at home as soon as you step through the door. Idyllically situated right in the centre of Grasmere, with magnificent views of the hills all around, you can enjoy being part of village life one minute and the next, be miles away, with just the fresh Lakeland air and glorious open countryside for company. Here, life is beautiful. As you would expect from the long traditions, our service is friendly and attentive, the atmosphere relaxed and easy where you can enjoy a board game or two in the air-conditioned lounge area or browse the papers, while from the conservatory you can gaze at the ever-changing Lake District landscape. At our luxury Lakeland Hotel we provide you with all you could wish for - richly furnished, beautifully appointed bedrooms, an excellent choice of food, a gorgeous indoor heated pool with spa bath, steam room, sauna and fitness room. For centuries the hotel has been a haven for travellers, with tasty fare, great ales and warm hospitality. Today we pride ourselves in offering traditional food in harmony with modern cooking. Enjoy a cosy and relaxing atmosphere in the snug Lamb Inn with a pint of hand-pulled traditional beer and a tasty bar meal to satisfy even the heartiest of appetites. Dine in splendor in our 1769 Restaurant with our table d'hote dinner menu offered every evening, where the menu is depicted by the seasons and the fresh produce available. Our Chef will cater for any dietary requirements and is always happy to cook your favourite dishes (with a little notice of course). The Easedale Bar, The Glass House Conservatory and Helvellyn Lounge offer a comfortable spot to watch the world go by, enjoy a scrumptious snack at lunchtime or a spot of afternoon tea. We provide you with all you could wish for. Richly furnished, beautifully appointed rooms in which to unwind, most with sparkling spa baths to ease tired limbs after a wonderful day's walk. And friendly service to bring you a refreshment, while you drink in the Lakeland panorama. All rooms have en-suite facilities, television with satellite channels, wi-fi, CD player, ipod docking station, a welcome refreshment tray, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and trouser press. Our Club rooms feature separate comfy seating areas with television, bathrobes, slippers, complimentary bottled water and daily newspaper. The view from these rooms is of the village and the lush green fields beyond. Some of our rooms enjoy small balconies where you can sit and enjoy a relaxing drink, read a book or simply take in the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at Grasmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Grasmere
Best Western Grasmere Hotel
Grasmere Best Western
Grasmere Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing