We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a warming welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn at Grasmere
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“a warming welcome”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Arriving on a fine autumn evening the hotel seemed to wrap itself around you like a warm rug. The lounge & reception areas are delightful, as are all of the staff. Our room was pleasantly situated at the back of the hotel with a view of the hills, everything was in good order, clean & the bed comfortable. The breakfast was excellent as was the service. We did not have dinner in the restaurant as it was a set menu only, however, the food in the adjoining bar was first class as was the selection of beers & wines. We had our dog with us & the hotel is certainly pet friendly.
We enjoyed a swim in the indoor pool, which could do with a little renovation. All in all we had a very enjoyable stay in the centre of this charming Lakeland village & will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    488
    189
    72
    36
See reviews for
249
872
40
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
riyadh
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

On arrival. On arrival our room toilet not flushed!!!!! YUK? We made reception aware! Hot water a bit too hot! No a/c in rooms. Rooms certainly need some TLC come on best western ITs
a beautiful part of the world great place, great walking. Children and dog friendly INVEST!

Local staff need to be aware that you should not sit on the stairs on mobile phones looking "bored" Britain needs a reality check!! Having travelled the world we find this attitude appauling.

Friday night meal ordered at the local pub bar took so long to arrive it was embarrassing. When it did drive I would not recommend it. R

Room Tip: Rooms have no a/c however room 218 beautiful views. Overall basic but typical lake district hotels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tay4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was our 2nd stay here. For Grasmere it's not too expensive, especially if you can find an on-line deal. The hotel is well situated in the centre of the village. It's kept very clean, the staff are very polite and helpful and the breakfast's were excellent. We didn't have an evening meal in the hotel but from other reviews I believe the food is very good. The adjoining pub, The Lamb Inn, is run by the same hotel staff and serves a good range of pub meals and some nice local ales.
I've read some comments about the room sizes, well, we stayed in room 200 and if all you do is sleep in it and take a shower/bath then there's really no problem with the standard double size rooms. If you want large room's and king size beds, pay more!! The room was clean with useful things like hair dryers, tv, tea & coffee tray, kettle, desk/dressing table. The wifi connection in the room was good - didn't try it anywhere else in the hotel. The bathroom, whilst small, was very adequate with bath and power shower, heated towel rail, even a retractable clothes line! The only downside was that there was no shower curtain and the water went everywhere.
There is parking at the front and rear of the hotel but these spaces go very quickly so be prepared to find on street parking or use the car park next to the garden centre. We sat in the lounge at night, usually with a beer or a bottle of wine but there is also free coffee and tea on offer. The pool, sauna and gym were never busy while we were there and was a relaxing way to spend an hour or two after a days walking.
If there's any minor niggles it's that the hotel could probably do with a lick of paint here and there and that Grasmere in general isn't cheap to eat out, but that's about it.
All in all, nice hotel run by nice people and we would definitely go again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank champs12mcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I always try to be subjective with my reviews and many of the reviews below sum up our own opinions which are somewhat mixed. We loved the staff - all lovely and so helpful and friendly and a great asset. A sign at reception reads 'enter as strangers and leave as friends' which was exactly how we felt. The food was good and breakfasts adequate. The review below by Daniel H dated 18th September "Some Problems" pretty much sums up how we felt. We had 3 rooms as a party of 6 - 2 on the first floor and 1 on the third floor. Each room needed a good clean, especially the windows, and the bathrooms need some updating. The dining room carpet was badly stained and the wallpaper dirty. Basically the hotel needs some TLC. The pool was good though and for dog-lovers it's a great place for your canine friend to enjoy some 3 star luxury!

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have great views of the fells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HuwW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shildon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

friendly welcome great staff ,clean room ,nice pool sauna steam room
great location fantastic food very delicious fresh local ingredients
very nice local breakfast very good service
nothing to complain about
very nice stay .real fire,charm ,good bar staff .easy parking
will stay again
maybe need wifi but sometimes good to get away from phones and Internet

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kev56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Penshaw, null, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just been back to the Red Lion Grasmere.... Had Room 211 this time, overlooks the corner of the main street. Could not get the Internet in the room and the shower did not work very well. Had to turn on the hot tap in the bath to get hot water thru the shower and when it did come thru it only came out of the sides!!!! Could do with a new shower head..... The reason we keep coming back here is it is so Dog Friendly.... There appeared to be a lot more dogs than on our previous 2 visits and talking to other dog owners everybody was of the same opinion, their dogs loved it. We love this place.. The food is excellant, the Staff very friendly and although it is a bit dated it is very clean comfy and warm. Yes, there is a problem with Parking, maybe cos the Hotel is always full!!!! The Staff bend over backwards to find you a parking space so don't worry if you can't get in the Car Park.. Once we get a parking space we tend to leave the car. The buses stop just over the road from the Hotel and for £7.00 you can hop on
and off all day long and they come every 20 mins. Loads of places to walk the dog nearby especially the walk alongside the river adjacent to the park. The Lamb Pub alongside the hotel gets very busy at nights so you need to get in early for the food.. Can't really find anything I dislike about the place. Would defo recommend to any-one

Room Tip: The Helm Crag suite is gorgeous on the second floor .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoralDart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This was our third visit to The Red Lion and this time we took our two border collies and stayed four nights.. Once again we were impressed by the charm and helpfulness of all the staff. The restaurant is delightful and the food delicious and cooked to perfection; we were able to meet the chef to congratulate him on his skill. The dinners are even better value if booked in advance. Our room (115) was comfortable and even had two televisions! Grasmere is an ideal base for walking, either gentle walks round the lake or more serious hikes to look down into the valleys. We have already booked for next May and look forward, with the dogs, for another delightful stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willaim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,190 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#13 of 14 in Grasmere
97 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#12 of 14 in Grasmere
209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Grasmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Grasmere

Property: The Inn at Grasmere
Address: | Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#8 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Grasmere 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a taste of luxury in the glorious heart of lakeland. Set deep in the heart of Wordsworth country, our privately owned Lake District Hotel, traditionally an historic inn playing host to travellers for centuries, offers you a warm, genuinely hospitable welcome that makes you feel instantly at ease and at home as soon as you step through the door. Idyllically situated right in the centre of Grasmere, with magnificent views of the hills all around, you can enjoy being part of village life one minute and the next, be miles away, with just the fresh Lakeland air and glorious open countryside for company. Here, life is beautiful. As you would expect from the long traditions, our service is friendly and attentive, the atmosphere relaxed and easy where you can enjoy a board game or two in the air-conditioned lounge area or browse the papers, while from the conservatory you can gaze at the ever-changing Lake District landscape. At our luxury Lakeland Hotel we provide you with all you could wish for - richly furnished, beautifully appointed bedrooms, an excellent choice of food, a gorgeous indoor heated pool with spa bath, steam room, sauna and fitness room. For centuries the hotel has been a haven for travellers, with tasty fare, great ales and warm hospitality. Today we pride ourselves in offering traditional food in harmony with modern cooking. Enjoy a cosy and relaxing atmosphere in the snug Lamb Inn with a pint of hand-pulled traditional beer and a tasty bar meal to satisfy even the heartiest of appetites. Dine in splendor in our 1769 Restaurant with our table d'hote dinner menu offered every evening, where the menu is depicted by the seasons and the fresh produce available. Our Chef will cater for any dietary requirements and is always happy to cook your favourite dishes (with a little notice of course). The Easedale Bar, The Glass House Conservatory and Helvellyn Lounge offer a comfortable spot to watch the world go by, enjoy a scrumptious snack at lunchtime or a spot of afternoon tea. We provide you with all you could wish for. Richly furnished, beautifully appointed rooms in which to unwind, most with sparkling spa baths to ease tired limbs after a wonderful day's walk. And friendly service to bring you a refreshment, while you drink in the Lakeland panorama. All rooms have en-suite facilities, television with satellite channels, wi-fi, CD player, ipod docking station, a welcome refreshment tray, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and trouser press. Our Club rooms feature separate comfy seating areas with television, bathrobes, slippers, complimentary bottled water and daily newspaper. The view from these rooms is of the village and the lush green fields beyond. Some of our rooms enjoy small balconies where you can sit and enjoy a relaxing drink, read a book or simply take in the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at Grasmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Grasmere
Best Western Grasmere Hotel
Grasmere Best Western
Grasmere Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing