We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Inn at Grasmere
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oak Bank Hotel(Grasmere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grasmere Hotel(Grasmere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Forest Side(Grasmere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,700)
Filter reviews
1,700 results
Traveler rating
824
552
203
82
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
824
552
203
82
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred lionclub roomcourtyard restaurantparking is limitedleisure facilitieslake districtgin and tonicpool and jacuzzilovely hotellambthird floorsmall balconylounge areaevening mealsister hotelnight breakshort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,359 - 1,364 of 1,700 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We went here with a KGB deal but so glad we did! What a gem of a hotel. The staff were very professional but friendly and the hotel was very welcoming. The rooms we had (there were three couples in our group) were all very small but perfectly adequate. I would have been disappointed to have paid full price for this room though.

The lounge is so, so comfortable and drinks, snacks and lunches are served in there. You can sit and chat on the lovely soft sofas with a drink, snack or hot chocolate day or evening.

We didn't try out the pool or sauna but our friends did and loved it.

I would happily recommend this hotel for a break in the Lakes.

The hotel is in the centre of Grassmere and handy for other towns in the area.

Room Tip: Ask to have one of the rooms in the photos on their website!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyraP54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your very kind review, your comments are great and very rewarding for the team.

Its great to hear you will be returning.

Kindest Regards

Chris & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Just come back from a weekend at The Red Lion.Can honestly say probably the best value for money anywhere.We have stayed in lots of hotels,high and low priced,but none compare to the friendly warm feeling of The Red Lion. Rooms are adaquiate.Everything you need.Food gets better every time we go.New chef's providing food as good as we have had in may more expensive restaurants.But above all the staff are fantastic.Restaurant staff realy do excell(as do reception and bar staff) Well done to all See you all again later in the year Mr and Mrs Stobbs

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Guest

A massive thank you on behalf of myself and the entire team!

Your comments are great and very much appreciated. We have an excellent team of talented chef's and it's great to hear you noticed this.

We look forward to a return visit.

Kind Regards

Chris & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We arrived just after three on the 28Th of January and could,nt find anywhere to park we reported to reception and they went straight outside to check bearing in mind it was pouring with rain, we were told of a space and parked no problem, when we went up to our room it was ideal,the bed was huge, i am over six feet tall and was very comfortable, when we went down to the lamb inn it was a nice surprise to see it had been fully refurbished since our last stay, we had our evening meal there and all was spot on, the next morning we went for breakfast and were well looked after once again, this is the third time we have been here and it gets better each time , all the staff are very helpful and nothing is a problem we are looking forward to our next stay

Room Tip: try to get room on first floor
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Dear John,

Many thanks for your kind review. I am very pleased you asked the question regarding the parking as many guests just see the front spaces and don’t realize that we have all down the other side of the hotel for parking too.

We are committed to our refurbishment program and the ground floor will be completed in the coming months, so hopefully you will also appreciate the new refurbishment.

Once again on behalf of myself and the entire team thank you for your great feedback and we look forward to seeing you again this year.

Kindest Regards


Chris & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Booked room months ago for my birthday. Expected a nice updated bedroom as in the pics but got a small, small room with the tiniest bathroom I have ever seen. The reception staff dont read emails properly. I sent them roughly 8 emails and signed them MRS KEMP but got the replies to MR KEMP every time. Email replies were short and sweet, not much customer care and some didnt even answer. I had enquired in the first email about the cost of bringing our dog and got a reply to that one. I then sent one to let them know that we wouldnt be bringing the dog. No reply......and of course when we went to pay our bill it included £20 for the dog??!! I stated we hadnt asked for a dog room and hadnt brought a dog? Just got a blank look and no apology. Just did us a new invoice. To top it all off couldnt have a bath as water wasnt hot enough for one. Enquired but was told it was because most guests were running the water at same time??? Asked a young girl in Lamb Inn why fire wasnt lit and she said there were no logs because of the snow. When we sat near it we realised it was electric! Oh dear..... / Food was excellent and bar staff lovely. Such a shame my birthday was ruined as it is a nice hotel. Staff really need to pay attention to emails. Wondering about the £14 parking? There were no spaces on hotel car park since they took barrier down and all and sundry parked there so we ended up paying two overnight charges on public carpark. Talk about add insult to injury.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patricia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We have stayed here many times but will not be returning. We booked this trip several months ago using a special offer e-mailed to us by the hotel in lieu of Christmas presents to each other
We arrived in the pouring rain at 2.30 on Jan 28th to find no car parking although people had parked in two bays. Staff advised us we would have to park in the public car park some distance away at our own expense and were unable to locate the selfish parkers to make them move over. We did not get a space for two nights. We could not park on our last trip in September until one of the staff moved her car so this is not a new problem
This creates problems for us as we need to leave our dogs in the car while we are in the dining room. Staff will bring breakfast into the conservatory so we can eat with them present but we prefer not to do this
On our first night the hotel was fully booked through Group- on offers although one of the lounges was closed as it had been flooded and the staff clearly could not cope with the room cleaning as linen in black plastic bags was all over the corridors on the second floor until after 6pm.
The spa bath in our room was known to be out of order and the heated towel rail had been disconnected-not good enough!
We decided we would not spend anything in the hotel in protest so cannot comment on the food except breakfast which was good as usual. However we did find some nice places in the village so will look elsewhere for our next trip

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beerhunter11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am very sorry to hear you won't be returning to the hotel and had pretty much everything wrong with your stay.

We do manage to get all our guests parked and also accept special requests to reserve parking near the front entrance for issues such as you had with your dogs. We also allow our guests to use the conservatory when wanted to have breakfast or other meals with there dog's.

Kindest Regards

Chris & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews