We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake District Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn at Grasmere
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We went here with a KGB deal but so glad we did! What a gem of a hotel. The staff were very professional but friendly and the hotel was very welcoming. The rooms we had (there were three couples in our group) were all very small but perfectly adequate. I would have been disappointed to have paid full price for this room though.

The lounge is so, so comfortable and drinks, snacks and lunches are served in there. You can sit and chat on the lovely soft sofas with a drink, snack or hot chocolate day or evening.

We didn't try out the pool or sauna but our friends did and loved it.

I would happily recommend this hotel for a break in the Lakes.

The hotel is in the centre of Grassmere and handy for other towns in the area.

Room Tip: Ask to have one of the rooms in the photos on their website!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyraP54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your very kind review, your comments are great and very rewarding for the team.

Its great to hear you will be returning.

Kindest Regards

Chris & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,179 - 1,185 of 1,516 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2013

Just come back from a weekend at The Red Lion.Can honestly say probably the best value for money anywhere.We have stayed in lots of hotels,high and low priced,but none compare to the friendly warm feeling of The Red Lion. Rooms are adaquiate.Everything you need.Food gets better every time we go.New chef's providing food as good as we have had in may more expensive restaurants.But above all the staff are fantastic.Restaurant staff realy do excell(as do reception and bar staff) Well done to all See you all again later in the year Mr and Mrs Stobbs

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Guest

A massive thank you on behalf of myself and the entire team!

Your comments are great and very much appreciated. We have an excellent team of talented chef's and it's great to hear you noticed this.

We look forward to a return visit.

Kind Regards

Chris & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We arrived just after three on the 28Th of January and could,nt find anywhere to park we reported to reception and they went straight outside to check bearing in mind it was pouring with rain, we were told of a space and parked no problem, when we went up to our room it was ideal,the bed was huge, i am over six feet tall and was very comfortable, when we went down to the lamb inn it was a nice surprise to see it had been fully refurbished since our last stay, we had our evening meal there and all was spot on, the next morning we went for breakfast and were well looked after once again, this is the third time we have been here and it gets better each time , all the staff are very helpful and nothing is a problem we are looking forward to our next stay

Room Tip: try to get room on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Dear John,

Many thanks for your kind review. I am very pleased you asked the question regarding the parking as many guests just see the front spaces and don’t realize that we have all down the other side of the hotel for parking too.

We are committed to our refurbishment program and the ground floor will be completed in the coming months, so hopefully you will also appreciate the new refurbishment.

Once again on behalf of myself and the entire team thank you for your great feedback and we look forward to seeing you again this year.

Kindest Regards


Chris & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Booked room months ago for my birthday. Expected a nice updated bedroom as in the pics but got a small, small room with the tiniest bathroom I have ever seen. The reception staff dont read emails properly. I sent them roughly 8 emails and signed them MRS KEMP but got the replies to MR KEMP every time. Email replies were short and sweet, not much customer care and some didnt even answer. I had enquired in the first email about the cost of bringing our dog and got a reply to that one. I then sent one to let them know that we wouldnt be bringing the dog. No reply......and of course when we went to pay our bill it included £20 for the dog??!! I stated we hadnt asked for a dog room and hadnt brought a dog? Just got a blank look and no apology. Just did us a new invoice. To top it all off couldnt have a bath as water wasnt hot enough for one. Enquired but was told it was because most guests were running the water at same time??? Asked a young girl in Lamb Inn why fire wasnt lit and she said there were no logs because of the snow. When we sat near it we realised it was electric! Oh dear..... / Food was excellent and bar staff lovely. Such a shame my birthday was ruined as it is a nice hotel. Staff really need to pay attention to emails. Wondering about the £14 parking? There were no spaces on hotel car park since they took barrier down and all and sundry parked there so we ended up paying two overnight charges on public carpark. Talk about add insult to injury.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patricia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We have stayed here many times but will not be returning. We booked this trip several months ago using a special offer e-mailed to us by the hotel in lieu of Christmas presents to each other
We arrived in the pouring rain at 2.30 on Jan 28th to find no car parking although people had parked in two bays. Staff advised us we would have to park in the public car park some distance away at our own expense and were unable to locate the selfish parkers to make them move over. We did not get a space for two nights. We could not park on our last trip in September until one of the staff moved her car so this is not a new problem
This creates problems for us as we need to leave our dogs in the car while we are in the dining room. Staff will bring breakfast into the conservatory so we can eat with them present but we prefer not to do this
On our first night the hotel was fully booked through Group- on offers although one of the lounges was closed as it had been flooded and the staff clearly could not cope with the room cleaning as linen in black plastic bags was all over the corridors on the second floor until after 6pm.
The spa bath in our room was known to be out of order and the heated towel rail had been disconnected-not good enough!
We decided we would not spend anything in the hotel in protest so cannot comment on the food except breakfast which was good as usual. However we did find some nice places in the village so will look elsewhere for our next trip

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beerhunter11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am very sorry to hear you won't be returning to the hotel and had pretty much everything wrong with your stay.

We do manage to get all our guests parked and also accept special requests to reserve parking near the front entrance for issues such as you had with your dogs. We also allow our guests to use the conservatory when wanted to have breakfast or other meals with there dog's.

Kindest Regards

Chris & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Can't understand all the negative reviews on here!! This is the 3rd time we have stayed here and everything was as good if not better than last time. Our room was quiet, clean and comfortable and the food in the restaurant and bar first class. Staff are really friendly and nothing is too much trouble. We also had the snow and it was a lovely weekend break.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SW99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your great feedback. This is much appreiated and is very rewarding for the team.

We look forward to your return and behalf of the entire team thank you kindly for your kind words.

Please contact me direct for your next booking.

Kind Regards

Chris and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Just returned from our second visit to THE RED LION. Both visits have been in January to celebrate my birthday. The lounge had been flooded when we arrived but the staff soon had it dried out and running again. On our first visit we were in the Ruskin Suite which was an enormous suite at the top of the hotel. We were delighted. This time we were in 216. We had booked a Club Double. Well, the carpet wanted a good clean especially round the edges. The bed was not made well and the sheets were not tucked in. The bed itself looked lovely but sleeping on it was a different matter. It was very old and uncomfortable. We got no sleep the first night. The second night we slept on top which was slightly better (We nearly left after the first night). It was so disappointing after our first visit.
We had no complaints at all with restaurant or reception staff. All of them were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The meals were excellent and well presented. We may return if we could get a better bed. We have a Best Western gold card but this didn't help.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Dear Dorothy,

Many Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback.

Looking at your comments. We very sorry regarding the flood this was obviously out of our control due to the terrible weather that hit us over that weekend. We did get this all sorted promptly and have now made the decision to refurbish all of our lounge areas and conservatory. This work will be completed in the coming months.

With regards to your room 216 this room has the same bed in as Ruskin and were both bought just last year. Your comments have been noted and we will look at replacing this bed. All our regular guests tend to request certain rooms. This is not a problem and we are very happy to accommodate any requests.

Many thanks for your positive comments regarding the staff this is much appreciated and always comes very rewarding to our team.

I do hope to see you again in the future.

Kindest Regards


Chris & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,229 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#12 of 14 in Grasmere
106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#13 of 14 in Grasmere
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Grasmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Grasmere

Address: | Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#8 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: $103 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Grasmere 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a taste of luxury in the glorious heart of lakeland. Set deep in the heart of Wordsworth country, our privately owned Lake District Hotel, traditionally an historic inn playing host to travellers for centuries, offers you a warm, genuinely hospitable welcome that makes you feel instantly at ease and at home as soon as you step through the door. Idyllically situated right in the centre of Grasmere, with magnificent views of the hills all around, you can enjoy being part of village life one minute and the next, be miles away, with just the fresh Lakeland air and glorious open countryside for company. Here, life is beautiful. As you would expect from the long traditions, our service is friendly and attentive, the atmosphere relaxed and easy where you can enjoy a board game or two in the air-conditioned lounge area or browse the papers, while from the conservatory you can gaze at the ever-changing Lake District landscape. At our luxury Lakeland Hotel we provide you with all you could wish for - richly furnished, beautifully appointed bedrooms, an excellent choice of food, a gorgeous indoor heated pool with spa bath, steam room, sauna and fitness room. For centuries the hotel has been a haven for travellers, with tasty fare, great ales and warm hospitality. Today we pride ourselves in offering traditional food in harmony with modern cooking. Enjoy a cosy and relaxing atmosphere in the snug Lamb Inn with a pint of hand-pulled traditional beer and a tasty bar meal to satisfy even the heartiest of appetites. Dine in splendor in our 1769 Restaurant with our table d'hote dinner menu offered every evening, where the menu is depicted by the seasons and the fresh produce available. Our Chef will cater for any dietary requirements and is always happy to cook your favourite dishes (with a little notice of course). The Easedale Bar, The Glass House Conservatory and Helvellyn Lounge offer a comfortable spot to watch the world go by, enjoy a scrumptious snack at lunchtime or a spot of afternoon tea. We provide you with all you could wish for. Richly furnished, beautifully appointed rooms in which to unwind, most with sparkling spa baths to ease tired limbs after a wonderful day's walk. And friendly service to bring you a refreshment, while you drink in the Lakeland panorama. All rooms have en-suite facilities, television with satellite channels, wi-fi, CD player, ipod docking station, a welcome refreshment tray, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and trouser press. Our Club rooms feature separate comfy seating areas with television, bathrobes, slippers, complimentary bottled water and daily newspaper. The view from these rooms is of the village and the lush green fields beyond. Some of our rooms enjoy small balconies where you can sit and enjoy a relaxing drink, read a book or simply take in the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at Grasmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Grasmere
Best Western Grasmere Hotel
Grasmere Red Lion
Grasmere Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing