We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grasmere Treasure!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn at Grasmere
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Four of us spent a couple of nights here just before Christmas. What a great place – highly recommended; we would certainly stay again, especially on a price deal (normal rates look a little expensive).

The hotel was full of Christmas cheer, with loads of decorations around. It was very busy – but the hotel had warned us about this well beforehand (nice touch) so we were well prepared. From the moment we walked in to the moment we left we were really impressed with the staff. A more jolly helpful bunch it would be difficult to find. Really made our stay here incredibly pleasant.

Our rooms were smallish but very comfortable and well equipped. Nice bathroom. Although we didn’t eat at in the restaurant we heard good reports and the food in the bar, which we did sample, was good. Breakfasts were more than adequate, with a good choice. Everywhere was busy but this was to be expected at the time of year – staff coped with this really well and we never felt left out. There are large and really pleasant public areas/lounges at the front of the hotel – great for afternoon tea, or a quiet getaway from the bar. We were too busy to sample the pool – but from the pictures it looks fine.

For a hotel in the middle of a small, lovely, lakes village, this is a great place for a short break or a longer stay. It’s right in the heart of Grasemere and couldn’t be better placed, although this brings with it its own problem - the hotel does not have adequate parking arrangements, so if you are going arrive early!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank severus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

Your comments are very positive and come very rewarding to the team here at the Red Lion.

We are very lucky to have such a great friendly team and its great to hear that you also thought this.

We look forward to seeing you again this year.

Many Thanks

Chris & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,232 - 1,238 of 1,550 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

Just stopped for two nights in the Red Lion in Grasmere and had a great couple of days, the only down side was our first room, it was a small uncomfortable bed and even though we turned the radiators off and opened the windows the room was very hot, and I hardly slept. When I told the reception in the morning, No hassle, a choice of a much bigger room with a larger and comfortable bed and a cooler atmosphere, we both had a better nights sleep. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ding1Bradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Guest

Many Thanks for you taking the time to post your feedback.

Its great to hear that you will be staying with us again.

On behalf of myself and team thank you.

Kind Regards

Chris
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I chose the Red Lion hotel because I stayed a few years ago. The room I stayed in was directly above the pub facing the village, we booked a double room and had two twin beds pushed together... (Really). Very tiny room and couldn't walk around he bed... We ate in the restaurant the first night.... Horrible tasteless expensive food. We ate at Tweedies every night after. Good points were the staff who were very nice, the breakfast was really nice with lots of selection.. The location is great. I would stay again if it was not so expensive... Red Lion it's time to redecorate....

Stayed: June 2012
1  Thank Britchik2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many Thanks for taking the time share your feedback. I am however a little confused why it has taken 6 months to do this?

I would need to know more details from yourself regarding your stay as we do not have any Zip & Link beds directly above our pub and these rooms only have standard double beds in them and are also very spacious rooms.

I would however like to have the chance to provide you with some answer’s regarding your stay so may I please ask you contact me direct with your real name and dates of your stay.

Many Thanks

Chris & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Cumbria always offers a certain kind of welcome, and the Red Lion achieves that and more. From the minute you walk through the door the welcome of a blazing fire and an attentive receptionist captivate you. You are made to feel utterly welcome without it ever feeling intrusive, and there is a sense of luxury that comes about not from overpriced gimmicks, but a genuine commitment to service and quality. The atmosphere is peaceful and relaxed but certainly not dead or boring. Nothing seems to much trouble, a quiet commitment to quality is everywhere, yet there is a homely feel to the place that never makes you feel anything but at ease. Value for money - yet nothing is cheap about this place; food is unpretentious yet of exceptional quality - I struggle to think of anywhere I would rather stay. This was a business trip that I could have done in a day, but I had the time to stretch it to an overnight, and it was worth it. I spend around 1/4 of the year in hotels; 2/3 of these are utterly forgettable - the Red Lion would be in my top five and would be a contender for number one slot. If I did not find some fault, this review would not be taken seriously - so yes they did overcook the sausage at breakfast slightly, and could probably invest in better quality pillows, but no-one's perfect!

Room Tip: From what I could see - the layout means all rooms have a decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Phil,

Many thanks for your outstanding review and taking time out to do this. Your comments are great and wonderful for the staff to get such great feedback.

I will certainly speak to the chef's regarding the sausages! And again on behalf on the entire team thank you for this greatly detailed review.

Kindest Regards

Chris & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

First time at the hotel and would highly recommend - The food was excellent standard - Never tasted Duck or Turkey like that anywhere. The staff are very welcoming, friendly and just couldn’t not do enough. The setting is beautiful and the Christmas decorations were a really nice touch. Would highly recommend and I will be booking to stay again in the near future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayleigh b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Kayleigh,

Thank you kindly for you great review and it's great we have impressed you enough to come again.

We wish you a very Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

We look forward to your return visit.

Many Thanks

Chris & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

My wife and i have a Groupon deal for the Red Lion and although we have been there before on two accessions (without a groupon deal) we have just had an incredible 5 course evening meal at a very very modest price with service and presentation second to none. We are in a standard twin room and although it's bathroom is quite small and the TV is small too it's more than adequate bearing in mind what we have paid. It is a very warm and comforting hotel and whoever put up the Christmas decorations deserves a special mention " Superb" highly reccomended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJA46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Atkins,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback.

We are very happy we have impressed you and look forward to a return visit.

Have a wonderful Christmas & New Year.

Many Thanks

Chris & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Having previously stayed at this hotel for a business conference I enjoyed a return trip. The staff are warm, friendly and welcoming and nothing is ever too much trouble. The food was excellent and the rooms very comfortable and warm on a freezing cold December weekend. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will certainly be returning in the New Year. Thanks for a wonderful weekend and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Room Tip: I stayed on the top floor in a suite and it was a superb room with amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear Mel,

Thank you for your excellent comments.

It is always a pleasure to be able to serve your business.

And we look forward to many more visits.

On behalf of myself and all the staff Thank You! We wish you all a very Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

Kind Regards

Chris & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,249 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#12 of 14 in Grasmere
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Grasmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Grasmere

Address: | Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#8 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: $78 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Grasmere 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a taste of luxury in the glorious heart of lakeland. Set deep in the heart of Wordsworth country, our privately owned Lake District Hotel, traditionally an historic inn playing host to travellers for centuries, offers you a warm, genuinely hospitable welcome that makes you feel instantly at ease and at home as soon as you step through the door. Idyllically situated right in the centre of Grasmere, with magnificent views of the hills all around, you can enjoy being part of village life one minute and the next, be miles away, with just the fresh Lakeland air and glorious open countryside for company. Here, life is beautiful. As you would expect from the long traditions, our service is friendly and attentive, the atmosphere relaxed and easy where you can enjoy a board game or two in the air-conditioned lounge area or browse the papers, while from the conservatory you can gaze at the ever-changing Lake District landscape. At our luxury Lakeland Hotel we provide you with all you could wish for - richly furnished, beautifully appointed bedrooms, an excellent choice of food, a gorgeous indoor heated pool with spa bath, steam room, sauna and fitness room. For centuries the hotel has been a haven for travellers, with tasty fare, great ales and warm hospitality. Today we pride ourselves in offering traditional food in harmony with modern cooking. Enjoy a cosy and relaxing atmosphere in the snug Lamb Inn with a pint of hand-pulled traditional beer and a tasty bar meal to satisfy even the heartiest of appetites. Dine in splendor in our 1769 Restaurant with our table d'hote dinner menu offered every evening, where the menu is depicted by the seasons and the fresh produce available. Our Chef will cater for any dietary requirements and is always happy to cook your favourite dishes (with a little notice of course). The Easedale Bar, The Glass House Conservatory and Helvellyn Lounge offer a comfortable spot to watch the world go by, enjoy a scrumptious snack at lunchtime or a spot of afternoon tea. We provide you with all you could wish for. Richly furnished, beautifully appointed rooms in which to unwind, most with sparkling spa baths to ease tired limbs after a wonderful day's walk. And friendly service to bring you a refreshment, while you drink in the Lakeland panorama. All rooms have en-suite facilities, television with satellite channels, wi-fi, CD player, ipod docking station, a welcome refreshment tray, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and trouser press. Our Club rooms feature separate comfy seating areas with television, bathrobes, slippers, complimentary bottled water and daily newspaper. The view from these rooms is of the village and the lush green fields beyond. Some of our rooms enjoy small balconies where you can sit and enjoy a relaxing drink, read a book or simply take in the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at Grasmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Grasmere
Best Western Grasmere Hotel
Grasmere Best Western
Grasmere Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing