We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter stop over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn at Grasmere
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Excellent hotel, excellent service, excellent food what more can one say. Third year we have had an overnight stay at this hotel and again everything just great. Decorations for Christmas made it even more homely.

The only room problem is the bathroom shower which is in dire need of replacing. Bathroom became rather flooded when using it.

The only other problem is the parking. A large road works vehicle was using two of the very few parking spaces which caused a real problem. After driving around Grasmere 3 times we eventually dropped our spouses at the hotel and went to look for a place to park away from the hotel. However later on we managed to get a space.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel looks onto the swimming pool whilst the other into Grasmere. No problems with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flyer699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for kind review.

We hope the parking will not put you off returning. We always manage to find all our guest's parking.

Kind Regards

Chris & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,671)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,361 - 1,367 of 1,671 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012

Spent the weekend at the Red Lion in Grasmere for our works Christmas party and it was an absolutely fantastic night. The setting is beautiful and there's always a view from any window. The service was fantastic, the room was lovely and I thoroughly enjoyed the food. I would recommend it for any kind of trip.

Room Tip: All 36 of our group were incredibly happy with their rooms - and we were spread around the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jake b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Jake,

Thank you for taking time out to do your review.

We are very pleased you had such a great time!

Many Thanks

Chris & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Had an excellent works Christmas party held in in stunning hotel in fabulous surroundings and fantastic food. Staff Adam and Chris very friendly and very accomodating. Would reccomend to anyone who would like a relaxing break in the Lake District.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Denise,

Thank you for your great review.

Its very rewarding to see such large groups get so much from a visit.

We hope to see you all again.

Many Thanks

Chris & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Just returned from a fabulous two night break.the double room we had on the 3rd floor was very cosy with exceptional views of the hills.the restaurant was really nice-delicious breakfasts and evening meals,with excellent service.there is a real warmth about this Hotel,from the coal effect fire in the reception,the christmas tree's and decoration's to the friendliness and professionalism of all the staff.It was a shame not to meet you Chris,but would you please pass on my thanks to Ashleigh,Meggan,your brother and Zoltan.will definately recommend and would love to return in the future.regards..Andy&Angela x

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andyw29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Andy & Angela,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much.

Very sorry I missed you while you were here.

Once again thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to your return.

Kindest Regards

Chris & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We decided to hold our works Xmas Party this year in the GrAsmere Red Lion Hotel and I would like to say the staff done us proud!! Our check in was very fast and efficient( considering there was 36 of us), everyone passed comment on how beautiful and clean the rooms are, with stunning views of the snow covered fells. Not only did the staff provide our evening entertainment they put on an extra little afternoon treat 'Ready Steady Cook' this was just like the real TV show where 2 of the hotel chefs had a cook off and we had to vote. Well Done guys the food was amazing!!! Our evening meal was 4 courses all cooked to perfection!! The evening entertainment was a disco/ karaoke in which we sang and danced till the early hours!! You cannot beat this hotel for all your Xmas party needs,the staff are absolutely amazing and couldn't do enough for us - especially Ryan with his Gangnam style dance!! Thanks to all the staff and very Merry Xmas.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denisemcguire1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Denise,

Many Thanks for taking the time to share your comments.

We are very happy that you and your party had such a great time.

On behalf of myself and the team thank you for your kind words and we look forward to providing you and your company with many more happy memories.

Kind Regards

Chris & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Just returned back from the red lion for my first Xmas party of this year - excellent food and excellent service especially from Chris and Adam.
Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and The hotel looked great with all the decorations. Will return again next year.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidiheidi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Heidi

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much.

On behalf of myself and all the staff at the Red Lion Thank you for kind words and we hop you have a wonderful Christmas & New Year!!

Kindest Regards

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel before so did not hesitate to book again. The hotel is very warm and friendly. When we checked in we were upgraded to a suite which was lovely with its own living room area, small balcony overlooking the back of the lake, jacuzzi bath and dressing gowns and slippers!! We also used the leisure facilities which was nice and relaxing. We didn't eat in the restaurant but some friends did and they were very impressed. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and hardworking and a credit to the hotel. At breakfast there was a variety of choice from cereals, croissants, continental and the full english was delicious. This was our second stay here as we really like Grasmere and wouldn't hesitate to return.

Room Tip: We have previously stayed in room 102 which is at the front of the hotel and this time we were in Cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Joanna,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

I am very pleased to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your stay so much and your comments are great.

On behalf of myself and the team we would like to wish you a very merry christmas and happy new year.

We look forward to your return.

Many Thanks

Chris & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa
0 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#12 of 14 in Grasmere
120 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#4 of 14 in Grasmere
740 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Grasmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Grasmere

Address: | Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: $108 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Grasmere 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a taste of luxury in the glorious heart of lakeland. Set deep in the heart of Wordsworth country, our privately owned Lake District Hotel, traditionally an historic inn playing host to travellers for centuries, offers you a warm, genuinely hospitable welcome that makes you feel instantly at ease and at home as soon as you step through the door. Idyllically situated right in the centre of Grasmere, with magnificent views of the hills all around, you can enjoy being part of village life one minute and the next, be miles away, with just the fresh Lakeland air and glorious open countryside for company. Here, life is beautiful. As you would expect from the long traditions, our service is friendly and attentive, the atmosphere relaxed and easy where you can enjoy a board game or two in the air-conditioned lounge area or browse the papers, while from the conservatory you can gaze at the ever-changing Lake District landscape. At our luxury Lakeland Hotel we provide you with all you could wish for - richly furnished, beautifully appointed bedrooms, an excellent choice of food, a gorgeous indoor heated pool with spa bath, steam room, sauna and fitness room. For centuries the hotel has been a haven for travellers, with tasty fare, great ales and warm hospitality. Today we pride ourselves in offering traditional food in harmony with modern cooking. Enjoy a cosy and relaxing atmosphere in the snug Lamb Inn with a pint of hand-pulled traditional beer and a tasty bar meal to satisfy even the heartiest of appetites. Dine in splendor in our 1769 Restaurant with our table d'hote dinner menu offered every evening, where the menu is depicted by the seasons and the fresh produce available. Our Chef will cater for any dietary requirements and is always happy to cook your favourite dishes (with a little notice of course). The Easedale Bar, The Glass House Conservatory and Helvellyn Lounge offer a comfortable spot to watch the world go by, enjoy a scrumptious snack at lunchtime or a spot of afternoon tea. We provide you with all you could wish for. Richly furnished, beautifully appointed rooms in which to unwind, most with sparkling spa baths to ease tired limbs after a wonderful day's walk. And friendly service to bring you a refreshment, while you drink in the Lakeland panorama. All rooms have en-suite facilities, television with satellite channels, wi-fi, CD player, ipod docking station, a welcome refreshment tray, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and trouser press. Our Club rooms feature separate comfy seating areas with television, bathrobes, slippers, complimentary bottled water and daily newspaper. The view from these rooms is of the village and the lush green fields beyond. Some of our rooms enjoy small balconies where you can sit and enjoy a relaxing drink, read a book or simply take in the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Inn at Grasmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Grasmere
Best Western Grasmere Hotel
Grasmere Best Western
Grasmere Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing