We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,861)
Filter reviews
1,861 results
Traveler rating
907
596
222
91
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
907
596
222
91
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews red lion club room courtyard restaurant parking is limited leisure facilities gin and tonic lake district lovely hotel pool and jacuzzi third floor lamb small balcony dog friendly hotel evening meal lounge area sister hotel short break
Filter
Updating list...
1,550 - 1,555 of 1,861 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Spent the weekend at the Red Lion in Grasmere for our works Christmas party and it was an absolutely fantastic night. The setting is beautiful and there's always a view from any window. The service was fantastic, the room was lovely and I thoroughly enjoyed the food. I would recommend it for any kind of trip.

Room tip: All 36 of our group were incredibly happy with their rooms - and we were spread around the hotel.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jake b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Jake,

Thank you for taking time out to do your review.

We are very pleased you had such a great time!

Many Thanks

Chris & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Had an excellent works Christmas party held in in stunning hotel in fabulous surroundings and fantastic food. Staff Adam and Chris very friendly and very accomodating. Would reccomend to anyone who would like a relaxing break in the Lake District.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Denise,

Thank you for your great review.

Its very rewarding to see such large groups get so much from a visit.

We hope to see you all again.

Many Thanks

Chris & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Just returned from a fabulous two night break.the double room we had on the 3rd floor was very cosy with exceptional views of the hills.the restaurant was really nice-delicious breakfasts and evening meals,with excellent service.there is a real warmth about this Hotel,from the coal effect fire in the reception,the christmas tree's and decoration's to the friendliness and professionalism of all the staff.It was a shame not to meet you Chris,but would you please pass on my thanks to Ashleigh,Meggan,your brother and Zoltan.will definately recommend and would love to return in the future.regards..Andy&Angela x

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andyw29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Andy & Angela,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much.

Very sorry I missed you while you were here.

Once again thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to your return.

Kindest Regards

Chris & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We decided to hold our works Xmas Party this year in the GrAsmere Red Lion Hotel and I would like to say the staff done us proud!! Our check in was very fast and efficient( considering there was 36 of us), everyone passed comment on how beautiful and clean the rooms are, with stunning views of the snow covered fells. Not only did the staff provide our evening entertainment they put on an extra little afternoon treat 'Ready Steady Cook' this was just like the real TV show where 2 of the hotel chefs had a cook off and we had to vote. Well Done guys the food was amazing!!! Our evening meal was 4 courses all cooked to perfection!! The evening entertainment was a disco/ karaoke in which we sang and danced till the early hours!! You cannot beat this hotel for all your Xmas party needs,the staff are absolutely amazing and couldn't do enough for us - especially Ryan with his Gangnam style dance!! Thanks to all the staff and very Merry Xmas.

Date of stay: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denisemcguire1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Denise,

Many Thanks for taking the time to share your comments.

We are very happy that you and your party had such a great time.

On behalf of myself and the team thank you for your kind words and we look forward to providing you and your company with many more happy memories.

Kind Regards

Chris & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Just returned back from the red lion for my first Xmas party of this year - excellent food and excellent service especially from Chris and Adam.
Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and The hotel looked great with all the decorations. Will return again next year.

Date of stay: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidiheidi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Heidi

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much.

On behalf of myself and all the staff at the Red Lion Thank you for kind words and we hop you have a wonderful Christmas & New Year!!

Kindest Regards

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews