We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”

The Grasmere Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 45 Restaurants in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lancashire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Amazing, service, ambiance, quality of food with lots of great and fresh ingredients. An amazing evening faultless and cannot wait to fine here again when we return to Grasmere. A real amazing hidden gem. Would love to stay next time. Thank you very much for delivering attentive service and a few little touches too.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseC378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    16
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Warrington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Very high quality food, but at reasonable prices. We also stayed in the hotel and it is very welcoming and spotlessly clean.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CP-Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Christmas Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We booked Christmas Day lunch at The Grasmere Hotel after struggling to get into any our our usual choices but Thank God we did! This hotel is excellent, from the moment we walked in we loved it, the decor, the ambience, the service and the roaring fire had us relaxing in minutes. The delicious canapes served with our pre dinner drinks gave us a clue to the standard of the food we were expecting and we were not disappointed! The meal was absolutely superb, served in the intimate dining room. My partner has declared it the best christmas lunch he has ever had and the chef and his assistants were called out to be given a well deserved round of applause. Afterwards we were invited to join in the quiz and despite being the only non residents were made to feel very welcome and really enjoyed the evening. Rob and Anton have got everything just right and we will definitely be returning! The Grasmere Hotel will never again be a second choice, it will now be first on our list!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“1st class food, excellent value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Had our evening meal here the 1st night we stayed at this hotel (though it is open to non residents). They serve a 4 course meal and have a few different options to choose from. The food was of a very high standard and very reasonable. Would advise to book.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank debbieq217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
286 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

We don't tend to eat in Hotels, but as this was so highly rated we gave it a try and were very glad we did. The food is indeed excellent, everything we had was 'spot on' in terms of freshness, cooking , presentation and flavour. There are 4 courses with 4 choices for each course (except soup or sorbet) and it is fantastic value at £50 for 2 people. Its not knock your socks off cuisine - but its not pretending to be. Delicious canapés as well !
The service was a pleasure, I assume from the proprietor, who was friendly and efficient.
Loved the building and the décor - comfortable and traditional. Its on our list for a return visit - and maybe a stay as well. This is what Lake District Hotels should be like ( and not a mention of the word 'boutique' !)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank grayfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grasmere Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to The Grasmere Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing